Boot OSX on a NVMe Card

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by foxfoobar, Apr 15, 2016.

  1. atonaldenim, Jun 12, 2018
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2018

    atonaldenim macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2018
    #201
    Thanks but I think I'm too paranoid to hack my own firmware. The OP's non-destructive disk based methods seem safer, but I'm just curious about what maintenance would be required with the foxfoobar or Next Loader methods over the long run.

    The Fusion Drive approach is attractive as it uses core OS features only, would be understood by future OS updaters, less maintenance required by me. Unattractive as it's more risky like a RAID 0, if either drive fails the whole Fusion drive is dead. Also can't completely control if data lives on the faster or slower drive.

    Can't find much good information on minimum Fusion drive partition sizes online, might just have to tinker around with it. What I'd like is the inverse of what Fusion Drive is designed for - a small HDD partition combined with a large SSD. To force most of the drive's data to live on the fast SSD.

    Just thinking out loud... ideally I could make a small partition on the HDD and a small partition on the SSD, make that a Fusion Drive for booting, OS and apps. Those are things that would be nice if they ran fast generally, but performance is not mission critical. Then have the remainder of the SSD partitioned as a pure SSD where I could keep video editing projects and scratch files, stuff that needs to be fast always. And the remainder of the HDD partitioned for longer term media / data storage that doesn't need the speed.

    Also would put recovery partitions on the HDD in case something goes south with the NVMe drive.
     
  2. Japi macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    #202
    Actually I would be also interested how the OS updates work with foxfoobar's method? Because I tried to update High Sierra from 10.13.4 to 10.13.5, the update install started to run, but it just rebooted and it didnt update the OS. I have Mac Pro 5,1 and I'm using foxfoobar's method (M.2 SSD + USB stick).

    Do I have to basically clone the M.2 SSD to a SATA SSD and run the OS update there (and then clone the SATA SSD to M.2 SSD back)? (If I dont want to try the firmware hack mentioned already) Or has anybody succesfully updated their OS with the foxfoobar's method?
     
  3. MIKX, Jun 15, 2018
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2018

    MIKX macrumors 6502a

    MIKX

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Location:
    Japan
    #203
    FoxFooBar + Anyone

    ===========================================

    I HAD Sierra 10.12.6 booting & running in a Fusion setup with my 960 EVO . . .

    It appears that in flashing my cMP 4,1>5,1 for NVMe booting that the 960 EVO's UUID has changed. In my former fusion setup .. at Option Key at bootup I could see BOTH the "NVMeBoot" USB stick .. AND the 960 EVO 10.12.6 install. Selecting the 960 resulted in a 10.12.6 bootup into the 960 via the NVMe USB 3. drive's redirection.

    ===============================================

    Can anyone tell me which is the correct UUID I should select to be copied into my USB 3.0's "NVMeBoot's "config.plist.

    =========================================================

    NOTE : I have CCC cloned 10.12.6 to the 960 EVO and it is recognized by 10.12.6 installed on a spinner HDD ). I used the same cloning in the former working setup.

    ==========================================================

    Should I use the UUID in the EFI . .. or the UUID in the 960 EVO ?

    Example :The UUID's shown are from System Information/ NVMe Express

    UUID-2.jpg
     
  4. expede macrumors regular

    expede

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2018
    Location:
    Sweden
    #204
    Hi, MIKX!

    Mine looks like this?

    [​IMG]



    This is strange! I have only one UUID not two.

    /Per



     
  5. MIKX macrumors 6502a

    MIKX

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Location:
    Japan
    #205
    Hi Per,

    Probably something to do with your 960 being formatted to APFS ?
     
  6. ellaosx macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2018
    #206
    It will always be the uuid of the desired partition you want to boot
     
  7. expede macrumors regular

    expede

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2018
    Location:
    Sweden
    #207
    Do I get an extra Universally Unique IDentifier (UUID) when I change from HFS+ to APFS?

    /Per
     
  8. JedNZ macrumors 6502

    JedNZ

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2015
    Location:
    Deep South
    #208
    I think APFS creates extra partitions (a virtual one for snapshots etc) so I imagine it creates new UUIDs for each partition.
     
  9. MIKX, Jun 16, 2018
    Last edited: Jun 16, 2018

    MIKX macrumors 6502a

    MIKX

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Location:
    Japan
    #209
    FoxFooBar wrote

    =============================================================

    After a horrible week struggling to get my Samsung M.2 960 NVMe 256Gb EFI booting without success despite a lot of help from members of the NVMe Efi boot thread. I gave up and decided to stay with booting via USB stick + M.2 960 Fusion. The problem is that the 960 was not booting up.


    Problem :

    I had no idea that UUID's change !
    I followed FoxFooBar's guide religiously ( had it working well prior to this attempt ).
    I mistakenly assumed that the 960's UUID in my first attempt would be the same . . . .
    Somehow through the many bootROM re-flashes with the XDE driver, my 960's UUID changed TWICE !

    ========================================================
    Solution :

    This Terminal command gave me the "current" UUID for the "Sierra partition" on the 960 EVO.

    IMPORTANT
    : Use the UUID for the partition that eg: Sierra is installed to on the M.2 SSD
    Don't use the "EFI UUID".

    Terminal command :

    Mikes-Mac-Pro:~ mikesmith$ diskutil info /Volumes/960EVO |grep UUID

    Note : My drive is "960EVO" put in your own drive name ( not drive number ).

    (1) Volume UUID: B23D0BEE-1187-339F-9E7F-8ECB4E2974Ap
    ( 2 ) Disk / Partition UUID: D0FC898C-E776-7353-A9D6-0B275FBE90F0

    (No. ( 2 )
    ) is the correct UUID for my M.2 960 EVO in the fusion setup.

    ==========================================================

    I live and learn.

    I would really like to be able to boot from the M.2 NVMe 960 EVO but I'm missing some important step in the process and just cannot afford the time to perfect my skills at the moment.

    I also feel strongly that a truly comprehensive, step by step guide for those who are not Terminal experts is essential if we want to prove that the DXE injection is reliable.
    Moreover. there is the risk of bricking my cMP to consider.

    Having said that I take my hat off to dosdude1, Gilles and the other talented and courageous members for giving our 4,1>5,1 cMP''s a wonderful, life extending upgrade.

    FoxFooBar too of course !

    This Fusion 960 EVO setup leaves my internal Sandisk SATA 2.5" for dead.
     
  10. expede macrumors regular

    expede

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2018
    Location:
    Sweden
    #210
    Hi!

    Some motivation picture of my cMP 5.1 booting on NVMe. Sorry they are big. Do not klick on them.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Just because I love my old cMP 5.1

    /Per
     
  11. Socket macrumors regular

    Socket

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    #211
    Hi,
    these operations are mandatory at EVERY future OSX upgrade? Or it's one time job?
     
  12. Pressure macrumors 68040

    Pressure

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Location:
    Denmark
    #212
    Whenever you update the firmware.
     
  13. Socket macrumors regular

    Socket

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    #213
    Another question: after this procedure, I could boot directly into High Sierra with a 960 EVO without boot screen? Or I have to press Command at start and to choice the disk?
    Because I have a non-apple graphic card, so I haven't a boot screen visibile
    Thanks for answers
     
  14. expede, Jul 15, 2018
    Last edited: Jul 15, 2018

    expede macrumors regular

    expede

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2018
    Location:
    Sweden
    #214
    Hi!

    There has been some rumoer that you will need a EFI Graphic card while doing this ”flashing” thing. You will need to disable the SIP within the recovery mode. (csrutil disable-command). This to be able to flash your Boot-rom. So to be absolutely sure, I would recommend you to put a EFI-card in.
    But afterwards there should not be any problem booting directly onto the NVMe-blade. You select your blade in preference and let the OS boot directly onto the blade. And so...! No bootscreen selection at startup.

    /Per
     
  15. misanthrophy macrumors regular

    misanthrophy

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2018
    #215
    Hi,

    I successfully flashed my EFI on my Mac Pro to natively boot from a NVMe SSD.

    Thanks to all the people involved into thag process.

    But now I am hungry for more. Would it be possible to use the Amfeltec 4 slot PCIe card with 4x1TB SSD in a Raid0 to maximize the performance?

    Or in general is there a way to boot from a SSD Raid?

    Thanks in advance!
     
  16. crjackson2134 macrumors 68040

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #216
    Yes you can do that. The card is designed for it. I don't do RAID anymore, but as I understand it, you need to set up as HPFS+, then clone your current system drive over to it. You can do it other ways, but this is the easiest and fastest AFAIK.
     
  17. Skogsguden macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2018
    #217
    How did you do that?
     
  18. misanthrophy macrumors regular

    misanthrophy

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2018
    #218
    Yea, have read that in another thread. I was just not sure if it works with NVMe cards too, as this method with booting from them on cMP's is not so old, but using SSD's in Raid it is.
    --- Post Merged, Aug 17, 2018 ---
    With this method:

    https://docs.google.com/document/d/1WNkM9LuGPq1sArO9EedWBHYq14NU7m-mDBLAWWJipyM/mobilebasic
     
  19. Kriss Parker macrumors newbie

    Kriss Parker

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2018
    #219
    Hi misanthropy, following the link you provided, Chrome blocked the dl of the 2 files (ROMTool and DXEInject) and then when forced the dl I received a warning from avast that the 2 files are infected ... have you noticed the same problem? Screenshot 2018-08-24 00.30.00.jpg
     
  20. handheldgames macrumors 65816

    handheldgames

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Location:
    Pacific NW, USA
    #220
    The files are not infected. Sounds like you have an issue with your mac.
     
  21. Kriss Parker macrumors newbie

    Kriss Parker

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2018
    #221
    Hi handheldgames, thanks for your quick reply ... I'm new to this, so can you explain to me why Chrome manages these two files as a threat? and then avast is doing the same? I'm confused...:(
     
  22. handheldgames macrumors 65816

    handheldgames

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Location:
    Pacific NW, USA
    #222
    Interesting... The block of download from dosdude1's site in chrome is new from the doc. Perhaps it's because the tools are for hacking roms from MacOS. The files are also blocked from his site:

    http://dosdude1.com/apps/

    The files still download from safari. I'm not sure what's going on...
     
  23. crjackson2134, Aug 23, 2018
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2018

    crjackson2134 macrumors 68040

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #223
    Yes it’s because it’s seen as a file to modify the firmware and wrongly assumed to be Malware. Bitdefender was marking it as Malware and removing it from my machine until I reported it. It hasn’t done that here anymore after definition updates.

    After a few definition updates, it’s doinf it again :(
     
  24. wingyiulam macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2018
    #224
    It works well, but I am having an issue connecting the iMessage and FaceTime. they both work if I boot normally, An error occurred during authentication will pop up while re-routing from USB 2.

     
  25. handheldgames macrumors 65816

    handheldgames

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Location:
    Pacific NW, USA
    #225
    Hmmmmm. Bitdefender? Honestly, since dumping windows as my daily operating system of choice in 2008, I've been running 10 years without slowing my machine down with antivirus/malware software.

    What has Bitdefender caught / saved your mac from?
     

Share This Page