eSIM + Dual SIM Q&A

Discussion in 'iOS 12' started by DeanLubaki, Oct 27, 2018.

Tags:
Thread Status:
The first post in this thread is a WikiPost, and can be edited by anyone with the appropriate permissions.
  1. George Knighton macrumors 65816

    George Knighton

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    #501
    I'm not absolutely sure, but more and more evidence is turning up, like the FAQ extraction posted above.
     
  2. DeanLubaki thread starter macrumors 6502

    DeanLubaki

    Joined:
    May 29, 2014
    Location:
    Toronto | Montréal | Québec
    #502
    It only says they have tested 5 numbers.
    If someone has a space AT&T eSIM card, send it my way so I can test haha! (I currently have one SIM and three eSIM profiles)
     
  3. neilrg macrumors newbie

    neilrg

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2018
    Location:
    Manila
    #503
    Globe says you can store up to 10 eSIM profiles.

    upload_2018-12-29_23-23-12.png
     
  4. TraceyS/FL macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Location:
    North Central Florida
    #504
    T-Mobile US, has anyone got their EID activated since the app release?

    The store manager and I completely struck out with customer service. Badly. I’m actually sure their are note saying NO. Never do this lol

    But I’m just curious....
     
  5. MandevilleMike, Dec 29, 2018
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2018

    MandevilleMike macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2014
    #505
    Both sims are Verizon.

    One oddity. When not on WiFi and on Primary Line, if someone calls the 2nd phone number is wont go to the 2nd line voicemail. However the if I’m on the 2nd line and someone calls the first line it will go to voicemail.
     
  6. M.Rizk macrumors 6502

    M.Rizk

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    #506
    By not going to voice mail you mean you get another call (on hold) or you mean the phone declines the call without forwarding to voice mail?

    If it declines the call without forwarding to voice mail, check the forwarding rules on that line with your carrier.
     
  7. MandevilleMike macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2014
    #507
    I don’t get notified a call is coming in on the 2nd line. I’ve read that before. But my second voicemail never picks up.
     
  8. racostaf macrumors member

    racostaf

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2015
    Location:
    Colombia
    #508
    Just yesterday I ask to change my e sim because change my phone. It hade activated before and was only By chat in Facebook. In 1 min done!
     
  9. sguser macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    #509
    I got my post-paid SIM converted to eSIM via in-app chat. First the rep gave me the stock reply that eSIM for post-paid plans is still in testing. I told him that many people have done it already. So she went ahead and converted my plan to eSIM.
     
  10. lzbones macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    #510
    The versions among China/HK/Macro are different. China version lacks of FaceTime audio.

    And I’m wondering if it is possible to exchange for local versions if I pay a certain amount of “exchange fees” at an apple store?
     
  11. M.Rizk macrumors 6502

    M.Rizk

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    #511
    I think the only way to change it is to get Apple Care+ on it from your country, and break it beyond repair... but why. That’s a waste of resources and of an Apple Care+ claim.
     
  12. M.Rizk macrumors 6502

    M.Rizk

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    #512
    An extremely annoying 12.1.2 bug is happening on my device right now.

    When I answer a call on my primary SIM, normally the secondary SIM disconnects as there is no VoLTE. Ok fine, that’s how Dual Standby works.

    What is not normal is that in the past hour when I answer a call it will connect (SIM two drops coverage) and then in a min or two SIM2 regains coverage and SIM1 drops causing the call to drop!

    I have restarted my phone now and hopefully it gets fixed.
     
  13. DeanLubaki thread starter macrumors 6502

    DeanLubaki

    Joined:
    May 29, 2014
    Location:
    Toronto | Montréal | Québec
    #513
    Nope, that won’t work.
    Apple will always replace your phone with the same model. Some busy Apple Store even carry international replacement stock for that reason.
    For example, the Apple Eaton Centre in Toronto carries the CDMA/US model (not sold in Canada) for visitors who break it.
     
  14. M.Rizk macrumors 6502

    M.Rizk

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    #514
    What if they don’t carry it? They deny you service?

    I am asking because I have a Middle Eastern (AH/A) model with FaceTime unlocked and got Apple Care+ monthly (US) as I visit the US a lot and can get service there if I need it. I also did the same with my MBP.
     
  15. dmccombs macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 13, 2013
    #515
    For those with Dual Sim working... Are you able to get Voicemail notification on your Secondary Line?

    I have T-Mobile providing my Primary Service (Voice/Text/Data), via the E-Sim. I have a physical Sim (Verizon based MVNO) setup with Voice/Text as the Secondary Line.

    The primary line uses the iphone app and get voicemail and does notifications. On the Secondary line, people can leave messages and there are no notifications. Is this normal? Also, the MVNO has it set up as "Basic Voicemail" and I have to dial *86 to get my voicemails.
     
  16. techiegirl macrumors 65816

    techiegirl

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    #516
    Is the physical sim with Xfinity Mobile?
     
  17. MandevilleMike macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2014
    #517
    Yes it normal. My callers don't go to voicemail with 2 Verizon sims when on lTE.
     
  18. DeanLubaki thread starter macrumors 6502

    DeanLubaki

    Joined:
    May 29, 2014
    Location:
    Toronto | Montréal | Québec
    #518
    Nope, they order it for you.
     
  19. dmccombs macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 13, 2013
    #519
    No, US Mobile.
    --- Post Merged, Dec 31, 2018 ---
    My callers go to voicemail using either line. The Primary line however notifies me of the voicemail via the Phone App. The Secondary line does not give me a voicemail notification.
     
  20. MandevilleMike macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2014
    #520
    My 2nd line voicemail is now working. It must have been on Verizon’s side.
     
  21. PLin, Jan 1, 2019
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2019

    PLin macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    #521
    I have AT&T postpaid on my eSIM and Verizon Prepaid on a physical SIM, and my My Verizon app only worked the first time to login. Now it just opens and shows an endless spinning circle. I've tried deleting the app and reinstalling it and rebooting the phone, but nothing will fix it. My wife has the same exact setup, and her My Verizon app is doing the same thing. Has anyone else noticed the same problem?

    I have a feeling the app doesn't like the fact that there's a second non-Verizon phone number on the phone. If I take the Verizon SIM out and use it in my spare iPhone SE, setup My Verizon on that phone, and then move the SIM back to my iPhone XS Max, the My Verizon app will suddenly work but eventually stops working again later.

    Update: I just ported my AT&T postpaid line to Verizon Prepaid, so I no longer have any other carriers or phone numbers on my eSIM, and the My Verizon app still doesn't work for me. Very annoying and frustrating.
     
  22. blueeyes2die4 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2018
    #522
    I am having the exact same problem. I have tried everything I could think of and nothing fixes the issue.
     
  23. michael31986 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #523
    So t mobile didn't fullfill the year end release
     
  24. George Knighton macrumors 65816

    George Knighton

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    #524
    Nope.

    But in another thread, somebody reported that he was still able to do it yesterday, by telling Support that he understood there was a risk and he accepted it.

    I asked if he used the URL method but haven’t heard yet.
     
  25. jtkboston macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2014
    #525
    I have a VZW eSIM for my postpaid line, and an H2OWireless (ATT MVNO) physical SIM. The VZW line is primary for voice & data.

    I have occasionally seen the My Verizon app hang on startup (spinning graphic in the middle), but that may have been before using the eSIM+second SIM. In any case, force quitting the app and restarting it has worked reliably to get it running.
     
Thread Status:
The first post in this thread is a WikiPost, and can be edited by anyone with the appropriate permissions.

Share This Page