GTX680 4GB - ROM Image - Full Boot Screens, Full Clock Rates & PCI-E 2.0 - 5GT/s

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Dr. Stealth, Jun 27, 2013.

  1. cpc6128, Dec 20, 2016
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2016

    cpc6128 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    #451
    Hi all, late to the party here.. picked up a 2009 mac pro recently and keen to upgrade it (the Geforce120 gpu is pretty basic).. I came across this thread as i am looking at purchasing a 680GTX 2nd hand and was wondering if any brand 2gb/4gb 680GTX will work fine with Mango's instructions?

    Is there a list somewhere of 680GTX brand/model that draws too much power or has issues?

    Thanks all.
     
  2. nigelbb macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    #452
    Any GTX680 that looks like the Nvidia reference design will probably work. In the original 2GB GTX680 flashing thread there are plenty of specific model numbers quoted as working http://forums.macrumors.com/threads/confirmed-and-possible-flashable-gtx-680-models.1578255/
    I don't think that you can go wrong if you choose a card from EVGA as they were the manufacturer who made the Mac Edition version of the GTX680.
     
  3. cpc6128 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    #453
    Awesome thanks for that!
     
  4. cpc6128 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    #454
    Ok.. this is the card I'm about to get..

    EVGA SC SIgnature Edition OC GTX680 2Gb (02G-P4-2685-KR)

    Do you think this one is ok?

    I've noticed it has 6 pin and 8 pin.. can I plug a 6 pin into the 8 slot on the card?
     
  5. Synchro3 macrumors 68000

    Synchro3

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    #455
    I guess it should work.

    Quote MVC: When there is a 6 pin and an 8 pin, things get more complicated. On many GTX680 cards the 8 pin is "optional". This means you can plug in a 6 pin and the card works fine.
    http://www.macvidcards.com/blog/previous/5
     
  6. cpc6128 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    #456
    Great! Thanks heaps for that
     
  7. ActionableMango, Dec 21, 2016
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2016

    ActionableMango macrumors G3

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #457
    The thing about the MAC EFI ROM is that it uses reference clock speeds for everything. Factory overclocked cards like the Signature use faster clocks. So once you flash the Mac EFI ROM onto the factory overclocked card, it loses the overclock and is running at the slower reference speed.

    I have a couple of suggestions:
    • If you don't care (it's not much of a difference anyway), then don't go out of your way or pay any extra for a factory overclocked card because you'll lose the factory overclock anyway.
    or​
    • If you do care, then use Kepler BIOS Tweaker to examine your card's clocks before you flash it. After you flash the card, use Kepler BIOS Tweaker again to set the card's clock speeds back to factory overclock. This way you will have the MAC EFI + the correct clock speeds for your card.
     
  8. cpc6128 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    #458
    Thanks for that info, the 680 card I'm picking up is cheap anyway and I just like something that is better than the stock 120 GPU so not too worried about lower speed (like you say it's not much diff)
    Also keen to play elite dangerous so hopefully the 680gtx will do the job.
     
  9. cpc6128 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    #459
    Hi all, I've successfully flashed the 680gtx and got all the boot screen and full speeds etc. Thanks Mango for the instructions! :) Everything appears correct under system profile etc.

    Just one question though, my istat or other fan/temp control app isn't detecting the gpu fan or gpu temperatures. Does anyone have this same issue? would like to keep an eye on the GPU fan speed and temps so any advice on how to retrieve this information would be great.

    Thanks in advance!
     
  10. Fl0r!an macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    #460
    It's not possible in OS X, as the Mac Pro's SMC doesn't provide those readings.

    You could install FakeSMC with GPUSensors package, but that would turn your genuine Mac essentially into a Hackintosh.
     
  11. cpc6128 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    #461
    Thanks Fl0r!an


     
  12. JohnyVA macrumors newbie

    JohnyVA

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2017
    #462
     
  13. Ommid macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    #463
    Why did you go for GTX 680 and not GTX960?

    I am looking to upgrade and I am curious.

    Thanks.
     
  14. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #464
    The biggest advantages of the GTX 680 are:
    • Can be flashed to give boot screens.
    • macOS has built-in driver support.
     
  15. Ommid macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    #465
    Thanks for that!

    Is there much in terms of performance difference also as I am wanting to run a 4K Display and Final Cut
     
  16. carpsafari Suspended

    carpsafari

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    #466
    Get yourself a GTX780, no need to flash!

    Flashing is VERY overrated, I would not spent a dime on it.
     
  17. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #468
    I don't know how the two GPUs compare to each other. I used my old GTX 680 with a 4K display and it worked fine but the boot screen was only available when using HDMI.
     
  18. Synchro3 macrumors 68000

    Synchro3

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    #469
    Useful in the future: Biggest advantage of GTX 960 (and GTX 950) is h.265 hardware decoding acceleration.
     
  19. Ommid macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    #470
    I don't want anything that is going to be too powerful for the Mac Pro especially as I am now running 2x130w processors.

    Regards.
     
  20. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
  21. Ommid macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
  22. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #473
    2x R9 280X + 2x X5690 on a full GPU + CPU load don't exceed 630W total, with a few drives inside as well. The PSU has still some headroom left with such setup.
     
  23. JohnyVA macrumors newbie

    JohnyVA

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2017
    #474
    @Fl0r!an - thanks man!!! worked perfectly. that ends 4 years of frustration. kudos my friend
     
  24. Severio macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2013
    #475
    Hello everyone,

    I just got a flashed Nvidia Geforce GTX 680 4 Go (Asus) to replace my disabled Radeon 5770 1 go. After having installed Nvidia Drivers (Cuda and Graphic Drivers from Macvidcards), it works fine on my Mac Pro 5.1 Quad-Core 2.8 GHz (Full EFI screen) but I noticed that it is much less efficient than the Radeon 5770. Indeed, the 680 4Go is scoring only 38 fps in Cinebench R15 against 53 fps for the 5770 even if I know Cinebench is based on CPU. Furthermore, my Render time on Cinema 4D and After Effects CS6 is twice slower than the 5770 ! To be clear, Cuda on After Effects is actived as well as Premiere Pro. How can I fix that ?

    I removed internal and external Hard disks for seeing if that is what the problem is or not but it does not. I don't understand why it is different.

    I am running Mavericks 10.9.5 and I have just a HEC 30-inch monitor (2560x1600). Do I need an external power supply to boost the performance ?

    Here's some information about my 680.

    Thank you in advance for your help.
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page