iPad Pro iPad Pro 9.7 Screen Manufacturing Defect

Discussion in 'iPad' started by LCPepper, Apr 14, 2016.

?

My iPad Pro 9.7 also has the screen gap :O !

  1. Yes

    22.2%
  2. No

    77.8%
  1. LCPepper macrumors 6502

    LCPepper

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #1
    Hello everyone,

    I got my iPad Pro 9.7 about a week ago...

    It's the most fabulous thing ever, however there is an issue with it.

    First I noticed that the home button was a but floppy, soft, and wobbling. Then I noticed that on the bottom left, there was a gap between the black of the bevel and the silver edge, which wasn't there on the bottom right. It was like the screen was put on a little bit off, or wasn't quite the right size.

    ANYWHO, what did I do?
    I got Apple to send me a new one, a BRAND new one. Not one of the in-store replacements.

    It arrived yesterday, and the home button is fine. A little softer than my iPhone 6S, but alright.

    Then I check the screen, and it's identically gappy as the first iPad Pro. I am attaching pictures so you can all see (apologies that it's a tad dirty).

    Is anyone esle's iPad Pro like this? My iPad Mini 4 doesn't have this problem.

    As of right now, I won't change it again via post etc... Just wait to see if this is a common fault, and when they correct it, get them to replace it again!


    (Original pictures on photo bucket here)

    BOTTOM RIGHT
    [​IMG]

    BOTTOM LEFT
    [​IMG]

    TOP RIGHT
    [​IMG]

    TOP LEFT
    [​IMG]

    BOTTOM OVERALL
    [​IMG]
     
  2. Newtons Apple Suspended

    Newtons Apple

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #2
    "Floppy, soft, and wobbling" home button?

    Good Grief
     
  3. LCPepper thread starter macrumors 6502

    LCPepper

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #3
    Indeed! It would move laterally when used... Felt like it was going to end up falling out at some point in the not so distant future.

    Do you have an iPad Pro 9.7?
     
  4. MrGimper macrumors 603

    MrGimper

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Location:
    Andover, UK
    #4
    My opinion, having had every device with this bevel (excluding the big Pro) is that some irregularity is normal. If everything else is great then keep it. As for the home button, I've never had an iPad with a home button as tactile as an iPhone home button, without exception.
     
  5. Newtons Apple Suspended

    Newtons Apple

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #5
    Yes I do. Two of them in fact.
     
  6. LCPepper thread starter macrumors 6502

    LCPepper

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #6
    Are yours fine?
     
  7. Newtons Apple Suspended

    Newtons Apple

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #7
    Every home button on every Apple device I have had is different. As long as when I push it and it does what it is supposed to do, I am good with it.

    As far as a gap, nothing in your images raise any alarms to me. I unboxed both of my 9.7 units and slipped them directly into the Apple cases and applied the covers and they both have worked with out flaw.
    --- Post Merged, Apr 14, 2016 ---
    Maybe go to the Apple store and compare yours to the one on display.
     
  8. LCPepper thread starter macrumors 6502

    LCPepper

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #8
    I have seen them in store, and they don't have the 'defect'...
    Bare in mind that I got both of mine online, and both came from the Italy despach centre.

    The home button was dodgy on the first one, I know that they vary. The new one has a softer click, but it doesn't move and rattle around like the original one.

    My issue isn't the home button now, but this recurring gap theme haha.
     
  9. Newtons Apple Suspended

    Newtons Apple

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #9
    Switch it out or accept it as it is or you will drive yourself crazy and not enjoy your iPad Pro!
     
  10. Eckscaliber macrumors 6502a

    Eckscaliber

    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    #10
    When the hell are iPad's going to get the same rounded design as the iPhone 6/6+? I'm hoping it will be this Fall. It's long overdue.
     
  11. TheRealAlex macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2015
  12. Defender2010 macrumors 68030

    Defender2010

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Location:
    England
    #12
    iPad 2 was the worst for gaps. All devices where the screen sits in the back casing can have this issue. Some more than others. I remember my iPhone 5 had a bad fit at the top and let's not forget the iPhone 3G light leak issue from the screen area opposite the mute switch. The screen/rear fit was so bad light leaked out when used in the dark! I don't think this is likely with an iPad though.
     
  13. TheRealAlex macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2015
    #13
    I'm sorry I particularly love the shinny Chamfered edges the gleam it's part of why I bought Gold it's a white face with a shinny gold trim its the most Premium upscale looking device there is.
     
  14. Wackery macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    #14
    mine i returned had a flaking coating on the screen, a giant screen gap and iOS kept crashing, i say go for the refund and exchange
     
  15. Atlanta75 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    #15
    Mine has gap on the right side but doesn't bother me



    image.jpeg
     
  16. TheRealAlex macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2015
    #16
    No gaps here but Atlanta75 that's a returnable gap. It's gonna fill up with so much hand oil and grease and goop.
     
  17. Lobwedgephil macrumors 68040

    Lobwedgephil

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2012
  18. iregret macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    #18
    Are you guys having any problems with the screen discoloring whenever use the Apple Pencil? I know when you press really hard on the screen it turns a rainbow colored but on my iPad pro you don't have to press very hard at all and it does it. I'm wondering if this is normal or not?
     
  19. Eckscaliber macrumors 6502a

    Eckscaliber

    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    #19
    I'm glad you like them.
     
  20. Old Skool Gamer Suspended

    Old Skool Gamer

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2016
    #20
    I returned my iPad Pro yesterday, because it was a stuttering mess.

    I'll wait for a real 9.7" iPad "Pro" with 4GB of RAM.

    However, I can't see any gaps in your images?

    Keep it and enjoy it or just do what I did and get rid of it.

    I was driving myself nuts, trying to fix the stutter, and you'll only do the same with regards to any defects.

    Trust me, been there ...
     
  21. Shadowbech macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Location:
    Planet iPhone
  22. Serban Suspended

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    #22
    it is normal. Even the 5k imacs has 1-2mm gap
     
  23. Leo90 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2014
    #23

    Stuttering? Mine runs really smooth. RAM has nothing to do with this stuttering as iOS manages used and unused apps so system doesnt get slower. For instance, iPad Mini 4 stutters way more than 9.7 iPad Pro and both have the same amount of RAM. The difference is in the processing unit. I wonder if this you noticed is just a placebo because you know your device has "only" 2GB ram.
     
  24. Old Skool Gamer Suspended

    Old Skool Gamer

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2016
    #24
    Nothing wrong with my eyes.

    However, you're obviously blinded by your love for Apple!

    This iPad should have had 4GB of RAM, if it's to be considered a "Pro" device.

    Tell me something: Why does the 12.9" iPad Pro have 4GB of RAM, yet the 7.9" iPad "Pro" only has 2GB of RAM?

    Similarly, how can the tiny iPhone SE have the same amount of RAM as a "Pro" iPad??

    It just doesn't make any sense.

    They cheaped out with the RAM on this "Pro" iPad. They're obviously waiting for the refresh to give it 4GB of RAM - or should I say, another reason for people to "upgrade"!
     
  25. Leo90 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2014
    #25

    One of the reasons may be related to much bigger display on 12.9 Pro, which requires more RAM than a 9.7 Pro. The "upgrade" argument is not valid, otherwise they would have put 2 or 3GB ram on the 12.9 as well. The fact is that experience is not impaired whatsoever by these 2gb ram at the moment. I buy my gadgets to use them right now, and not only in the future.
     

Share This Page