macOS 10.12 Sierra Unsupported Macs Thread

Discussion in 'macOS Sierra (10.12)' started by redheeler, Jun 13, 2016.

Thread Status:
The first post in this thread is a WikiPost, and can be edited by anyone with the appropriate permissions.
  1. jbarley macrumors 68040

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #5151
    Worth noting here is that when you reset the "PRAM", this also re-enables "SIP".
    Nobody said this was easy...:(
     
  2. Logicuser, Feb 4, 2018
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2018

    Logicuser macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2018
    #5152
    Good to know - but I should still be able to boot from the external USB drive, no?


    I needed to reset the PRAM on the Mac, otherwise it wouldn't boot at all - it seemed te keep waiting for the external drive to become available.

    EDIT: Found out, after hours of troubleshooting, that in order to make this work with my graphics card (an ATI Radeon HD 5770 1024mb), I need to modify/flash that card as well. That needs to be done by putting it into a Windows computer with PCI-slot and flashing it, or from a Mac that runs windows.
     
  3. haroldjohnson macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    #5153
    On February 1 I installed Security Update 2018-001 from the App Store and now am finding that when I attempt to change my MacBook's display brightness using the keyboard, the brightness temporarily increases but reverts to (what appears to be) the dimmest setting after a second or two. It doesn't matter what I set the brightness level to; after one or two seconds it always reverts back to the dimmest setting. (It appears to be the lowest brightness setting, prior to which is complete darkness.) Is your experience the same?
     
  4. haroldjohnson, Feb 5, 2018
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2018

    haroldjohnson macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    #5154
    (My apologies ahead for repeating much of the same post I made just prior to this one; I can't seem to figure out how to delete the post. In any case, I needed to include some more information about my situation and feel it warranted a separate post.)

    Back in December I discovered my aging MacBook (Mid 2009, MacBook5,2), which had been running El Capitan, required Sierra in order to run some software I needed to use. After a bit of research I learned about dosdude1's patch (and subsequently, this forum thread) and after some trial and error I was soon running Sierra on the old 'Book. At first my system had some problems with setting and maintaining the display brightness but after running some procedure (which I'm now unable to remember the exact details of, though I recall using a script), I soon had that issue more or less resolved.

    After a recent update, the brightness issue (or some variation of it) has returned. I believe it returned after I installed Security Update 2018-001 from the App Store (which I allowed on Feb. 1) but it's possible (though in my mind, doesn't seem likely) that it occurred as a result of one of the other two updates I applied about a week prior (Safari Version 11.0.3 and iTunes Version 12.7.3. As with the security update, both of these updates were installed from the App Store. Inexplicably -- and I don't know if this indicates anything -- the Safari update shows as having been installed twice, once on Jan. 23 and then again the following day.)

    Immediately after one of the updates (and again, I believe it was the security update) I found that the brightness setting was dim. When I attempted to change my MacBook's display brightness using the keyboard, the brightness temporarily increased but reverted to (what appeared to be) the dimmest setting after a second or two. It doesn't matter what I set the brightness level to; after one or two seconds it always reverted back to the dimmest setting. (It appeared to be the lowest brightness setting, prior to which is complete darkness.) I remembered that back in December -- after having first installed Sierra and finding my MacBook keyboard unable to adjust the display brightness -- I had installed the Brightness menu bar item (provided by berg design, I believe). I hadn't needed to use the Brightness utility since running the procedure I'm not currently recalling the details of, but I've still had it installed on my system regardless. And I'm glad I kept it -- I tried using again it to adjust the brightness, and it worked, so now I am again able to adjust the brightness. That said, the brightness level now only maintains it's state until my MacBook is put into its sleep state (or until it is shut down or rebooted); at which point I must using the Brightness slider to readjust the brightness level again. This is the state of my MacBook today.

    Any suggestions? My aim with this somewhat lengthy post is to help both myself and others discover how to get my MacBook's built-in display brightness setter to operate as it did prior to the recent updates -- that is, without having to use the Brightness app each and every time I use my Mac. Though the current state of my MacBook is certainly useable (and I've been thrilled that I've been able to run Sierra on this old 'Book at all), it a bit of a PITA to have to access the Brightness menu item each and every time I awaken my system. So if anyone else is experiencing (or has experienced) this after applying the recent update(s), what have you done to resolve the issue?

    I'm thinking of tracking down the procedure I initially ran back in December to resolve the brightness issue then and reapplying it to see if it corrects the issue again but this is a production system (well, for a class I'm taking, anyway) so I can't/won't take the chance of potentially disabling the system by running any scripts on it just yet. (Perhaps next week, once I've completed the course I'm using the MacBook for. In the meantime I'm looking for any suggestions.)

    Okay, thanks for your time. Hopefully others who stumble upon my post will find it helpful in some way, either through the details I've presented or from the replies that follow as a result of this post. Regardless, thank you to everyone who has worked on this project (that of enabling unsupported Macs to run Sierra) -- it truly helps out those of us who, for one reason or another, want or need to keep our aging Macs running!
     
  5. dosdude1 macrumors 6502a

    dosdude1

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    #5155
    Ah, yeah, some of the patches get overwritten during system updates. To re-apply the backlight control patch, you can simply download and run the script found here. There is a Patch Updater/Manager included with High Sierra Patcher, which provides a more automated and easier to use approach to overwritten patches, by allowing you to re-install them.
     
  6. haroldjohnson macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    #5156
    Thank you -- I just ran the script and it appears to be back to normal. Thanks again!
    --- Post Merged, Feb 5, 2018 ---
    Has anyone with a 2009 MacBook (Mid 2009 MacBook5,2) found Night Shift available? I feel like it showed up in the Display system preferences when I originally installed Sierra but it's no longer available. Perhaps it was also obliterated by the recent security update (Security Update 2018-001)...
     
  7. mackie861 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2018
    Location:
    Germany
    #5157

    The Dock and all Apps don´t start anymore
    - Sierra Patch not usable for me !

    Dear user, dear dosdude1

    Always the same for me:

    Sierra Patch 10.12.6 with all SecUpdates installed with no problems.
    Then setting up an admin and a standard user account.
    Configuring the standard user, installing apps, set up system preferences ....

    Then the day is coming when unexpectly no app will start and the dock is also not working anymore ! Impossible to work further ...

    New start, safe mode, restarting the post install tool including force cache rebuild, clear finder and docks plist files - nothing helps !

    Only way: the admin account is still working normal

    start erasing the "defect" standard user account

    I set up a new, fresh standard account and start configuring the mac again ....

    till the day comes again, when the dock and all of the apps will not start anymore (screen goes dark for less then a second during trying to start an app or something from the dock and nothing more happens) !

    I´m very sad because I have lost much time searching for the mistake in this forum and the whole net and maybe I should give up now and install El Capitan ...

    Can somebody help me or having the same problem ?

    imac 9,1
    early 2009
    3,06 GHz
    8GB RAM
    normal HD, orig. Hardware
     
  8. jackoverfull macrumors member

    jackoverfull

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Location:
    Berlin, Germany
    #5158
    I get this "not found" error while trying to update safari. any suggestion?
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Kuba77 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    #5159
    I had exactly the same issue after installing security update. This script solved it 100%. Thanks, dosdude1
     
  10. MDangerous, Feb 7, 2018
    Last edited: Feb 7, 2018

    MDangerous macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #5160
    It turned out that SIP somehow got re-enabled. That is what was stopping me from getting the update. Everything is up-to-date now. Thanks again!
     
  11. MikB, Feb 8, 2018
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2018

    MikB macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2013
    #5161
    Thanks for those instructions that I modified.

    I did these steps (Italics parts also include the " ' " as well as the "," for edits):

    1. Downloaded and opened "SecUpd2018-001Sierra.dmg".
    2. Copied SecUpd2018-001Sierra.pkg to Desktop.
    3. In Terminal ran command pkgutil --expand ~/Desktop/SecUpd2018-001Sierra.pkg ~/Desktop/Expanded
    4. Ran the command ioreg -lp IOService | grep board-id to get my board-Id that I copied
    5. Opened the Command Line Editor Pico with pico ~/Desktop/Expanded/Distribution
    6. Found line 21 with "var boardIds" and added mine as 'Mac-F22587C8', just after var boardIds = [
    7. Found line 29 and removed my model 'MacBookPro5,3', from the array.
    8. Wrote out this edit to ~/Desktop/Distribution
    9. Ran the command chmod 755 ~/Desktop/Distribution (+x refused to work)
    10. Copied over the file with mv -f ~/Desktop/Distribution ~/Desktop/Expanded/Distribution
    11. ran pkgutil --flatten ~/Desktop/Expanded ~/Desktop/SecUpd2018-001Sierra_patched.pkg
    This installed fine and I didn't even have to disable SIP again.
     
  12. nealnt macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    #5162
     
  13. nealnt macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    #5163
    --- Post Merged, Feb 20, 2018 ---
    I followed the instructions carefully many times even in safe mode. When booting from the flash drive the progress bar comes to and end then nothing happens. I wailed as long as 8 hours. I have attached the console log. Any ideas?

    Mac pro 3,1 18 gig memory
     

    Attached Files:

  14. m030 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2018
    #5164
    Dear Guys...

    I try to patch MacOs Sierra to install an a MacPro 3.1...

    The DosDude Sierra Patcher shows allways error allert:

    Could not copy files to your USB drive. Make sure your USB drive is formatted correctly, then try again.

    I tried it on USB stick and also on a empty internal disk.
    Of course... all media I tried are formatted in OSX extended journaled.

    I don't understand the problem....

    If u can help, it would be wonderful...

    all the best
    Marie
     
  15. L Caputo macrumors regular

    L Caputo

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2015
    #5165
    --- Post Merged, Feb 23, 2018 ---
    Could be the USB you are using try another and make sure you format it correctly. Plug the USB stick in, open Disk Utility, select the Disk not the Volume in the sidebar click on Erase, choose a name for the Disk, select Mac OS Extended (Journaled) for the Format and then select GUID Partition Map for Scheme, click erase. Now follow the instructions here,
    http://dosdude1.com/sierrapatch.html
     
  16. m030 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2018
    #5166
    hi caputo,
    first... thanks for moving the thread....
    I think, the reason was, to find versions of Sierra and dosdide patch that fits together...
    now I have it on a usb stick...

    the next massive problem is, the loading bar hangs at the end...the installation progress seams to stop.
    did you or anyone know how to solve it? ( the mac is a MacPro 3,1 )
    who can help ??

    all the best marie
     
  17. L Caputo macrumors regular

    L Caputo

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2015
    #5167
    I never experienced the installation progress stalling, for me it reached the end and restarted, at that point you press and hold the option/ alt key and select the USB to boot back to so you can apply the post install patches.

    Was your mac running ok before you tried to upgrade.
     
  18. TheStork, Mar 2, 2018
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2018

    TheStork macrumors regular

    TheStork

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    #5168
    Returning Snowbird updated 2008 Mac Pro with the 2018-001 Security Update w/o a problem. Just like a Mac Pro update should be. :)

    The Mac Pro had been updated with dual 3.2 GHz Quad Core Xeons (X5482), plus:
    - PC 7950 graphics card with an EFI BIOS by MacVidCards,
    - Apricorn Velocity Solo x2 SSD PCIe Adapter card with a Toshiba 120GB SSD and
    - HighPoint RocketU 1144C USB 3.0 PCIe card.

    Screen Shot 2018-03-02 at 1.00.41 PM.png
     
  19. MacBeast macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    #5169
    I have just updated my 2008 MacPro3,1 with the latest Sierra installer, which installed 10.12.6. All seems to be working fine (except the WiFi as expected).

    The dosdude1 page on the patching procedure says that you should also run the swupatch.sh script to allow future updates. Of course there will be no more regular updates beyond 10.12.6, but is this script necessary to allow installation of security updates?
     
  20. jackoverfull macrumors member

    jackoverfull

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Location:
    Berlin, Germany
    #5170
    Anyone having problems with FaceTime, lately?

    When I try to call one particular person now it never works properly: she takes the call but everything locks up immediately until the call fails. It works fine with the other person I call, though.
    Thing is, if I reboot in El Capitan everything works as usual.
     
  21. L Caputo, Mar 9, 2018
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2018

    L Caputo macrumors regular

    L Caputo

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2015
    #5171
    No if you hear of any updates for Sierra and they aren't showing in the App Store the use the patcher app in your Utilities folder. Highlight the Software Update Patch, click the Control key then click re install. Restart your Mac and then relaunch App Store you should now see the updates available to you.
     
  22. MacBeast macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    #5172
    OK, so the patch is to make the updates show up in the App Store, not for the actual installation. Thanks for clarifying that. I did see the 2018-001 security update and installed it, all seemed to proceed normally.
     
  23. MacGarage macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2017
    Location:
    Ohio
    #5173
    I have the SIP warning popup on a supported MacPro that I transferred data from an unsupported one via Migration Assitant.

    I could not find the com.dd1.SIPLD.plist in the LanuchAgents folder or through an overall search.

    I am now running 10.13 on the supported MacPro.

    Is there a way to remove the warning?

    Thanks!
     
  24. dosdude1 macrumors 6502a

    dosdude1

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    #5174
    Download and run the script found here to remove all patches.
     
  25. MacGarage macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2017
    Location:
    Ohio
    #5175
    Thanks...that did the trick!

    Thanks for all of the hard work!
     
Thread Status:
The first post in this thread is a WikiPost, and can be edited by anyone with the appropriate permissions.

Share This Page