macOS 10.14 Mojave on Unsupported Macs Thread

Discussion in 'macOS Mojave (10.14)' started by dosdude1, Jun 4, 2018.

Thread Status:
The first post in this thread is a WikiPost, and can be edited by anyone with the appropriate permissions.
  1. TimothyR734 macrumors 6502a

    TimothyR734

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2018
    Location:
    Logsden Oregon
    #5276
    did you have any luck with the update APFS Rom patcher
     
  2. Luckygreek macrumors regular

    Luckygreek

    Joined:
    May 14, 2018
    Location:
    Florida
    #5277
    Don't need it on 2010-2018 iMac's.
     
  3. Olivia88, Aug 15, 2018
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2018

    Olivia88 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2018
    #5278
    Have you seen this ? https://www.insanelymac.com/forum/topic/334626-mojave-raid-0-apfs-solution/

    I've tried the hfs version of this and that worked with 2 internal hdds with Mojave on a 2010 mbp 15 inch and dosdudes patched installer.

    Edit: apfs version did not work with the patcher on my 2010 mbp, in the last minute it shows the error message: Running bless to place boot files failed. The same thing happens on a supported mac using a regular usb installer.
    --- Post Merged, Aug 15, 2018 ---
    I forgot I still have the usb installer with dp7. Maybe its wrong, but take a look at the screenshot.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Vyzantion macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2018
    #5279
    Of course.
    --- Post Merged, Aug 15, 2018 ---
    The point is that apfs seems to change from build to build. Would the Clover component keep it up?
    --- Post Merged, Aug 15, 2018 ---
    After the update, at least some component work way slower than before. Like Disk Utility. Perhaps shall I try to re-build caches?
     
  5. Julian Marius Fairfax macrumors 6502a

    Julian Marius Fairfax

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2018
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #5280
    The build number is right but your installer seems to have the wrong installer version.
     
  6. Badruzeus, Aug 15, 2018
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2018

    Badruzeus macrumors member

    Badruzeus

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2018
    Location:
    Indonesia
    #5281
    We hope so.
     
  7. timthomason macrumors newbie

    timthomason

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2018
    #5282
    thxs ill give to a try
     
  8. videotape74 macrumors member

    videotape74

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2016
    #5283
    @dosdude1 thank you for the updated APFS Patcher, out of curiosity if a machine gets bricked is it repairable or is it dead? Thanks.
     
  9. timthomason macrumors newbie

    timthomason

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2018
    #5284
    that fixed the problem.. thxs
     
  10. pkouame macrumors 6502a

    pkouame

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    #5285
    So here goes a blow by blow account of how this worked (for me)
    Screen Shot 2018-08-15 at 9.59.38 AM.png
    READ THIS PANEL! After doing so I heard a long Beep! Then your machine will boot up normally...
    Screen Shot 2018-08-15 at 9.59.48 AM.png
    Screen Shot 2018-08-15 at 10.00.05 AM.png Screen Shot 2018-08-15 at 10.00.32 AM.png
    Success!
    Screen Shot 2018-08-15 at 10.00.59 AM.png Screen Shot 2018-08-15 at 10.01.11 AM.png
    Your backed up roms are here...
    Screen Shot 2018-08-15 at 10.02.12 AM.png
    Profit!

    I haven't installed APFS yet. Will do so tonight...
     

    Attached Files:

  11. Julian Marius Fairfax macrumors 6502a

    Julian Marius Fairfax

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2018
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #5286
    Wow, it’s amazing the stuff we can do with hacking. Now, if only we could fix these UI glitch and AMD acceleration glitches.
     
  12. pkouame macrumors 6502a

    pkouame

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    #5287
    Tell me about it. When Apple deprecates stuff, they should really consider completely open sourcing their old frameworks. We are entirely capable of self-maintaining our old machines...I'm pretty confident I could patch the glitches reliably with some code and de-compiled opengl shaders...Oh well...
     
  13. Julian Marius Fairfax macrumors 6502a

    Julian Marius Fairfax

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2018
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #5288
    Is there a way to exploit the system and “force de-compile” things?
     
  14. dosdude1 thread starter macrumors 68000

    dosdude1

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    #5289
    It's repairable, but requires soldering and an EEPROM programmer. I bricked one of my machines during testing, and had to recover it this way.
     
  15. pkouame macrumors 6502a

    pkouame

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    #5290
    @dosdude1 do I need to update my patcher with the latest post-install for a dp6 to dp7 system update? I have the patcher version you synched for dp6 but am not sure if it matters. System update to dp7 just finished, just waiting to post-install. Thanks.
     
  16. MBP5_3 macrumors newbie

    MBP5_3

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2017
    #5291
    5,3 MacBook Pro 15 inch here. When I check disk utility it says I have my main SSD as a APFS format. Does this mean I don't need the Rom Patcher? I ask because I've never seen the drive performance gains that APFS was suppose to bring. When I move files from the download folder it takes just as long as ever.

    I have a hard drive installed in the CD drive bay that is not APFS.

    upload_2018-8-15_8-51-20.png
    upload_2018-8-15_8-52-16.png
     
  17. videotape74 macrumors member

    videotape74

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2016
    #5292
    Can I install APFS on an internal SSD without doing the Patcher? I'm on a MacBook 5,4 running firmware 1.7.
     
  18. dosdude1 thread starter macrumors 68000

    dosdude1

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    #5293
    You must have applied the patch previously, or you're using the APFS boot script from High Sierra Patcher (you'll know if you see scrolling text at boot before the Apple logo screen).
    --- Post Merged, Aug 15, 2018 ---
    I never released an update to the patcher for DP7, as the current version works just fine with it.
    --- Post Merged, Aug 15, 2018 ---
    Not with Mojave, no. You'll need to apply the BootROM patch in order to boot from an APFS volume.
     
  19. videotape74 macrumors member

    videotape74

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2016
    #5294
    Ok, thank you...I will stay on HFS+ for fear of bricking.
     
  20. Julian Marius Fairfax macrumors 6502a

    Julian Marius Fairfax

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2018
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #5295
    It’s very unlikely unless you have a model with multiple options. If you want to be really sure, do it from a clean install with a clean account and just after booting (to insure no other programs are running that could break anything.
    --- Post Merged, Aug 15, 2018 ---
    How come it works with the new version? I thought that a component that was replaced was version specific. It was OSInstall.mpkg I believe.
     
  21. MBP5_3 macrumors newbie

    MBP5_3

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2017
    #5296
    I see the scrolling text at boot. Thank you
     
  22. pkouame, Aug 15, 2018
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2018

    pkouame macrumors 6502a

    pkouame

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    #5297
    Yes, disassembly is possible (and has been attempted if i''m not mistaken). Even decompiling shaders is possible (never tried it myself). Best to have original source though. All very time consuming.

    Edit: has dp7 changed the glitching any? I'm not up on it yet (post-install pending tonight) ...
     
  23. TimothyR734 macrumors 6502a

    TimothyR734

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2018
    Location:
    Logsden Oregon
    #5299
    that is for iOS 12 beta
    --- Post Merged, Aug 15, 2018 ---
    Light mode still glitches
     
  24. sapphade macrumors newbie

    sapphade

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2018
    #5300
    Hi, I am trying to apply the apfs rom-patcher and I keep getting a message : "DirectHW.kext could not be loaded . The operation cannot proceed" . I know that it's something I am doing wrong as I have tried three machines ( all 2009 pros ). I turn off the machine, wait, hold down the power button until it blinks rapidly the goes off and the machine boots with the chime as normal . Any ideas? i feel like a tool asking cause its probably staring me in the face but it is driving me mad.

    Also kudos to Dosdude and gang who have all worked so hard to keep all our machines going after apple stopped supporting them . You guys rock
     
Thread Status:
The first post in this thread is a WikiPost, and can be edited by anyone with the appropriate permissions.

Share This Page