macOS 10.14 Mojave on Unsupported Macs Thread

Discussion in 'macOS Mojave (10.14)' started by dosdude1, Jun 4, 2018.

Thread Status:
The first post in this thread is a WikiPost, and can be edited by anyone with the appropriate permissions.
  1. jackluke macrumors 6502a

    jackluke

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2018
    #9501
    Your script is good, only thing I discuss is that should not be done from the booted Mojave but from another mount point (HS, Sierra or an USB installer higher than Sierra), only this.
     
  2. Julian Marius Fairfax macrumors 6502a

    Julian Marius Fairfax

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2018
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #9502
    It can be used like that, it has strict fixed paths that are chosen by the user.
    --- Post Merged, Oct 27, 2018 ---
    I'm planning on doing that but I experienced an issue so I had to reinstall, I'll do this in about 9 hours, when I'm up and awake.
     
  3. netsrot39 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2018
    Location:
    Austria
    #9503
    I know it is possible to run Yosemite with MacPostFactor, at least it works perfectly on mine (except graphics acceleration). You could actually run Mojave on one of these but you would have to swap the logic board with one from a non unibody 2009 MacBook. As far as I can tell the 2006-2009 MacBooks are pretty similar in how they are built. I've swapped multiple parts between my 2006, 2007, 2008 and 2009 MacBooks. Sometimes connectors are different (e.g. SATA/IDE and the connector for the LCD) but for the most parts they are interchangeable. I think it should work with the logic board as well.

    I even thought about purchasing a black MacBook LCD, top case, bottom case and a 2009 MB logic board from AliExpress which are brand new (except the LB) and building my own BlackBook that can run Mojave. It would be a cool project and I'd love to do it when I have time :)
     
  4. joelw135, Oct 27, 2018
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2018

    joelw135 macrumors 6502

    joelw135

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    #9504
    So is this correct now?
    pkgutil --expand-full ~/Desktop/macOSUpd10.14.1.pkg ~/Desktop/macOSUpd10.14.1/Payload

    yes | sudo cp -rf ~/Desktop/macOSUpd10.14.1/Payload/ /
     
  5. nekton1 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Location:
    Asia
    #9505
    I think I'll wait for the full installer of the 10.14.1 final on 30 October and a dosdude1 patcher.
     
  6. jackluke, Oct 27, 2018
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2018

    jackluke macrumors 6502a

    jackluke

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2018
    #9506
    Provided that I would do that booting from another Volume mount point, or at least from the current Mojave but booted in single user mode, anyway this is the "correct syntax":

    pkgutil --expand-full ~/Desktop/macOSUpd10.14.1.pkg ~/Desktop/macOSUpd10.14.1/

    yes | sudo cp -rf ~/Desktop/macOSUpd10.14.1/Payload/ /Volumes/YourMojaveLabel/


    If you are booting from Mojave in normal mode then instead of /Volumes/YourMojaveLabel/ you can type also /

    Apart that from another mount point things are different, "~" won't work, but /Volumes/YourMojaveLabel/Users/YourUsername/Desktop/ instead I'd have chosen "tmp" folder as root temporary folder to unpackage the installer.
     
  7. joelw135 macrumors 6502

    joelw135

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    #9507
    What do you mean / ?

    But isn't this the same
    yes | sudo cp -rf ~/Desktop/macOSUpd10.14.1/Payload/ /
     
  8. jackluke macrumors 6502a

    jackluke

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2018
    #9508
    Yes it's the same when booting in normal mode from the target Volume.
     
  9. LarryJoe33 macrumors 65816

    LarryJoe33

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2017
    Location:
    Boston
    #9509
    I am sure the answer to this question is buried in this mega long thread:

    Will my unsupported MBP receive Mohave updates via the App Store? I haven't received any although maybe it's still on the initial release.
     
  10. joelw135, Oct 27, 2018
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2018

    joelw135 macrumors 6502

    joelw135

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    #9510
    And this would be /Volumes/Mojave\ HD/ in my case correct, if I boot from my patcher SD card?
     
  11. jackluke macrumors 6502a

    jackluke

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2018
    #9511
    Not exactly the spaces on Terminal are written with "\ " so yours is: /Volumes/Mojave\ HD/

    If boot from your patcher SD card (or from any other mount point) the script becomes this:

    pkgutil --expand-full /Volumes/Mojave\ HD/Users/YourUsername/Desktop/macOSUpd10.14.1.pkg /Volumes/Mojave\ HD/Users/YourUsername/Desktop/macOSUpd10.14.1/

    yes | sudo cp -rf /Volumes/Mojave\ HD/Users/YourUsername/Desktop/macOSUpd10.14.1/Payload/ /Volumes/Mojave\ HD/
     
  12. Erwin-Br macrumors 6502a

    Erwin-Br

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #9512
    I've been running Mojave on my Mac Pro 3.1 for a full day now, it's smooth! It seems however that the "Handoff" functionality is not working. I'm even missing the "Allow Handoff" tick box in System Pref -> General. Maybe bluetooth related?
     
  13. joelw135, Oct 27, 2018
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2018

    joelw135 macrumors 6502

    joelw135

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    #9513
    Now my user name would be the one in the folder users so in my case joelwaxman or is it the name on my admin account in users and groups?. Please let me know if this is correect, and do I just plug it in as two words into the line where it says YourUsername? So would it be like this?
    pkgutil --expand-full /Volumes/Mojave\ HD/Users/joelwaxman/Desktop/macOSUpd10.14.1.pkg /Volumes/Mojave\ HD/Users/joelwaxman/Desktop/macOSUpd10.14.1/


    yes | sudo cp -rf /Volumes/Mojave\ HD/Users/joelwaxman/Desktop/macOSUpd10.14.1/Payload/ /Volumes/Mojave\ HD/

    I am hoping Julian has the script done with instructions as I screwed it up royally. I got both working with terminal commands, but a script would be a great solution.

     

    Attached Files:

  14. ASentientBot macrumors 6502

    ASentientBot

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2018
    Location:
    the System suitcase
    #9514
    No, you can't. On a Core Duo system (MacBook1,1), you can only run OS X versions that will boot in 32-bit mode. Snow Leopard and lower, last time I checked.

    Feel free to prove me wrong if some work has been done to bypass that, but I think it is impossible.

    Newer MacBooks (2,1 and others, I believe) have a Core 2 Duo which is 64-bit. However the EFI code is 32-bit. So a custom boot.efi is required to boot, but it is possible, unlike on fully 32-bit hardware.
     
  15. Julian Marius Fairfax, Oct 28, 2018
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2018

    Julian Marius Fairfax macrumors 6502a

    Julian Marius Fairfax

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2018
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #9515
    How to Install macOS Mojave 10.14.1 Betas

    If you're having firmware update issues on your device that makes installing macOS Mojave 10.14.1 betas impossible, then you can use the script I have developed in conjunction with the update package to install manually by copying over the files directly from the package to your system.

    To use the script, download it from this post and run chmod +x /path/to/script to make it executable. If you're running the script from a normal system then you must run sudo /path/to/script. If you're running it from a recovery or an installer volume then you have to run it without sudo.

    The script will ask for two paths, the path for your package and the and path for your volume. For the package, you have to enter the full path to the folder containing the package. For the volume you have to enter either / if you'd like to install on the volume you're currently booted from or /Volumes/volume/ if you're running from a recovery volume, an installer volume, or simply would like to install on another volume altogether.

    You have to use the full path for the package folder, which means, if you have it on your desktop for example you can't do ~/Desktop/, instead you have to do /Users/username/Desktop/ or /Volumes/volume/Users/username/Desktop/ if you're running from a recovery or an installer volume.

    You can also run the commands manually if you prefer. If you want to do that then you must run these commands one after the other and wait for them to complete.


    pkgutil --expand-full /path/macOSUpd10.14.1.pkg /path/macOSUpd10.14.1
    sudo cp -rf /path/macOSUpd10.14.1/Payload/ /Volumes/volume/ or /

    You can download the update package from here.
    If you have any questions or issues please don't hesitate to contact me.

    Newer Versions:
    Version Two

    Version Three

    Update Installer.png
     

    Attached Files:

  16. netsrot39 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2018
    Location:
    Austria
    #9516
    That is true. My oldest MacBook is a Late 2006 (I think it the identifier is 2,1) and Yosemite works great on it. I never owned an Early 2006 so I can't say anything about those. But in order to run Mojave a logic board swap would be necessary which I think can be done quite easily. I'm not a trained/professional technician by any means but I've done many repairs before and I find it quite simple to replace parts or do modifications on the original MacBook series.

    For the Yosemite MacPostFactor Installation I can say that even cloning the system between MacBooks works without any problems (I did this on my MacBook Late 2006 for which I simply cloned the patched OS partition from my MacBook Early 2008 via FireWire).

    Sorry for MacPostFactor-Offtopic, back to Mojave discussions :)
     

    Attached Files:

  17. joelw135 macrumors 6502

    joelw135

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    #9517
    Just so I am clear on a few points. In my situation the terminal commands would be.
    pkgutil --expand-full /Desktop/macOSUpd10.14.1.pkg /Desktop/macOSUpd10.14.1
    sudo cp -rf /Desktop/macOSUpd10.14.1/Payload/ /Volumes/Mojave\HD/

    Now if I ran from another location like my patcher SD the code would be.

    pkgutil --expand-full /Volumes/Mojave\ HD/Users/joelwaxman/Desktop/macOSUpd10.14.1.pkg /Volumes/Mojave\ HD/Users/joelwaxman/Desktop/macOSUpd10.14.1/

    yes | sudo cp -rf /Volumes/Mojave\ HD/Users/joelwaxman/Desktop/macOSUpd10.14.1/Payload/ /Volumes/Mojave\ HD/

    Now if I ran the script from the patcher SD then how would I do that, prior I just did this.
    chmod +x (Enter) Or should I have just entered chmod +x then drag the script to window?
    sudo drag the script

    How do you drag the script from the patcher or do I use Volumes/Mojave\ HD/Users/joelwaxman/Desktop
     
  18. jackluke macrumors 6502a

    jackluke

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2018
    #9518
    Correct, just a clarification when you are from single user mode or from USB Installer (example SD Card as you wrote), you have to don't type "sudo" into the "copy part", while you can't drag the script if you aren't booting from a macOS with Finder, instead from USB Installer to launch the script type: /Volumes/Mojave\ HD/Users/joelwaxman/Downloads/Update\ Installer.sh
    --- Post Merged, Oct 28, 2018 ---
    You have to convert your Volume into APFS, before attempt that even if enough safe, take a backup of yours personal files, then simply boot from the USB Mojave Installer, launch DiskUtility, from there target your current Mojave HFS Volume, then on the top bar click Edit menu, select "Convert to APFS", wait a while, at next reboot you "can receive official updates".
     
  19. LarryJoe33 macrumors 65816

    LarryJoe33

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2017
    Location:
    Boston
    #9519
    Anyone? Yes, No, Maybe??
     
  20. Julian Marius Fairfax macrumors 6502a

    Julian Marius Fairfax

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2018
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #9520
    Download it, run chmod +x, restart into the patcher and type the path to the script without sudo. Also, you have to use ~/Desktop for the first comma
    --- Post Merged, Oct 28, 2018 ---
    @joelw135 I'm so sorry I'm late with that, it was supposed to be posted but wasn't.
     
  21. LarryJoe33 macrumors 65816

    LarryJoe33

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2017
    Location:
    Boston
    #9521
    Thanks, we crossed. My SDD is already APFS. You quoted can receive official updates. Is this listed somewhere in settings?
     
  22. jackluke, Oct 28, 2018
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2018

    jackluke macrumors 6502a

    jackluke

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2018
    #9522
    No, you have or to enroll into the Public Beta Program to receive beta updates, or simply to wait when 10.14.1 final release will be released, most probably on October 30th.

    edit:
    But before update, provided that after you have to re-patch your system with Post-Install, take a backup of your personal files, since we are on unsupported mac don't know the behavior of the future updates. But reading from your signature, you own a late 2011 so i5/i7 cpu should be safe into upgrading process. The possibly issues I described occur on C2D machines.
     
  23. LarryJoe33 macrumors 65816

    LarryJoe33

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2017
    Location:
    Boston
    #9523
    Got it, thanks.
     
  24. Julian Marius Fairfax, Oct 28, 2018
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2018

    Julian Marius Fairfax macrumors 6502a

    Julian Marius Fairfax

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2018
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #9524
    How to Install macOS Mojave 10.14.1 Betas

    Version two of my script is attached here. You now have to type the name of the package in addition to the path of the folder containing it. This is for compatibility with future versions.

    Older Versions:
    Version One


    Newer Versions:
    Version Three

    Screenshot 2018-10-28 at 11.59.01.png
     

    Attached Files:

  25. DuncanGarp macrumors member

    DuncanGarp

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2018
    #9525
    A couple of questions please.
    1. Do I need to run @dosdude1's mac post install (from his mojave patcher app) before reboot after the update?
    2. If I need to install beta 4 instead of beta 5, can I use the macOSUpdate package downloaded from my developer beta seed? Reason for this question is that noticed beta 5 performance is worse than beta 4.
    P.S. Although I was able to successfully update via OTA (System Preferences | Software Update) on one of my unsupported macs (MBAir4,2), it failed on my unsupported MBPro5,5. So I want to test this "manual" update.

    Thanks.
     
Thread Status:
The first post in this thread is a WikiPost, and can be edited by anyone with the appropriate permissions.

Share This Page