MP51.0084.B00 Rom Dump Request

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by HaypurTiryading, May 20, 2018.

  1. rippiedoos macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2013
    #51
    Wasn’t it also reported to put more power on it worked in the end? To put an external power supply on it with enough power?
     
  2. dosdude1 macrumors 68000

    dosdude1

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    #52
    If it helps anyone here, I've recently finished writing a ROM dumping utility for Mac OS. Just ensure SIP is disabled if you're running OS X 10.11 or later, and it should be able to dump your system ROM. Download here.
     
  3. MIKX macrumors 6502a

    MIKX

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Location:
    Japan
    #53
    Thanks so much ! It works like a charm.
     
  4. handheldgames macrumors 65816

    handheldgames

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Location:
    Pacific NW, USA
    #54
    Put more power on it? SURE. Give it a try and let us know how it goes. I’d rather buy a socket and desolder than unknowingly pump more power into the EFI flash ram channel of my cmp motherboard.
     
  5. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #55
    It seems the dumped image is exactly the same as the one that stored in the EFI partition. (At least identical file size)
    Screen Shot 2018-05-29 at 06.15.34.png

    Thanks for providing this tool. And as mentioned above. The dumped image looks identical to the original ROM file. So, this tool should be working flawlessly.
     
  6. dosdude1 macrumors 68000

    dosdude1

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    #56
    Great! I'll be updating it soon, allowing you to flash the system ROM as well.
     
  7. MIKX, May 28, 2018
    Last edited: May 28, 2018

    MIKX macrumors 6502a

    MIKX

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Location:
    Japan
    #57
    Yes, I got 4.2 mb using dosdude's newly created ROMDump the same as h9826790's
     
  8. rippiedoos macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2013
    #58
    The voltage should of course be the right voltage but the amperage the USB port can deliver isn’t enough, was my understanding. Putting a bigger power supply on it shouldn’t mean putting 12v on a 3.3v or 5v part but rather using a power supply that can actually deliver more than 500mA or something at the correct voltage. And the flash rom reader also needs some juice so the 5v 500mA that USB port can supply isn’t that much.
     
  9. MIKX macrumors 6502a

    MIKX

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Location:
    Japan
    #59
    ====================================================
    Gilles, a small point . . using the "NVMe" as a search term in plain text in UEFITool yielded nothing but this ( lower case ) = "nvme" worked !

    ======================

    Also, still in the " extraction of the NVMe DXE driver "

    ======================================================
    in Pacifist, click on the "Resources" tab and open "FirmwareUpdate.pkg"->"Scripts"->"Tools"->"EFIPayloads". Select any firmware payload from a Mac that has native NVMe support, I have used the rMBP 11.4 (MBP114_0182_B00.fd)
    ======================================================

    The closest I could find in my High Sierra ( saved ) installer was " MBP114_0177_B00.fd " Will this be OK ?

    Everything else is the same as your results for your Mac Book Pro NVMe project.

    Same as Gilles in earlier post.jpg
     
  10. PowerMac G4 MDD macrumors 68000

    PowerMac G4 MDD

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Location:
    At the intersection of Conch and Coral.
    #60

    It would be nice to have a video tutorial created! Few people have dealt with flashing before.
     
  11. zozomester macrumors regular

    zozomester

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Location:
    Hungary
    #61
    yes I like it!
     
  12. expede macrumors regular

    expede

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2018
    Location:
    Sweden
    #62
    Hi there MIKX!!

    Look in the Combo installer! Not the orginal HS installer. There you will find the right MBP114_0182_B00.fd file.

    /Per
     
  13. DearthnVader macrumors 6502a

    DearthnVader

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2015
    Location:
    Red Springs, NC
    #63
    @dosdude1

    That's amazing work with the Firmware dumper, when/if you can make a flash utility I can likely make a binary patcher to add NVME, GOP, and XHCI drivers to the image.

    @LightBulbFun What is the size of the EEPROM on the MP4,1/5,1?
     
  14. MIKX macrumors 6502a

    MIKX

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Location:
    Japan
    #64
    Thanks, I'll have a look later tonight. Any particular Combo ?
     
  15. LightBulbFun macrumors 68000

    LightBulbFun

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Location:
    London UK
    #65
    the MP4,1/5,1 has a 4MiB EEPROM

    BTW to those just comparing file sizes, remember that each BootROM is unique to that persons mac you can open it up and search for your machines serial number and it should be there :) (its the Quick n dirty way I verify a BootROM dump)
     
  16. expede, May 29, 2018
    Last edited: May 29, 2018

    expede macrumors regular

    expede

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2018
    Location:
    Sweden
    #66
    Hi!

    The one called "macOSUpCombo10.13.4.dmg"

    [​IMG]

    /Per

     
  17. MisterAndrew macrumors 65816

    MisterAndrew

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    #67
    This is very interesting. It's great to see the community supporting these machines that Apple has largely been neglecting. There's a document here that details the security updates Apple has implemented in the EFI rom updates. It looks like Apple has not been adding these security updates to the MP 5,1 so is there a way we can add them like these drivers?

    https://duo.com/blog/the-apple-of-your-efi-mac-firmware-security-research

    Also, as some others have mentioned, I'm curious if EFI video drivers can be added. Can anyone check to see if there's a compatible driver contained in the Pro Vega 56 firmware from the iMac Pro that we could use for Vega GPUs to get boot screen, etc working? Can be downloaded here: https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/197558/197558
     
  18. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #68
    Model specific GPU EFI may be not quite practical. From memory, the EFI contains framebuffer info. And iMac Pro's Vega is 100% not reference model. Using that framebuffer may disable all PC Vega's ports (worst case scenario).
     
  19. LightBulbFun macrumors 68000

    LightBulbFun

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Location:
    London UK
    #69
    its also worth mentioning that the iMac Pro uses the GOP protocol whereas IIRC the MacPro5,1 uses the UGA Graphics output protocol
     
  20. HaypurTiryading thread starter macrumors newbie

    HaypurTiryading

    Joined:
    May 20, 2018
    Location:
    Turkey
    #70
    Should I change the title? "Dumping and Modifying the cMP System Rom" is it good?
     
  21. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #71
    I really hope that the GOP thing can work. But so far, try quite a few loader and all failed. Luckily I can simply remove the hard drive to "fix" the computer. However if flashed into the ROM and then the GOP won't work but hang during boot, that will be a disaster.
     
  22. handheldgames macrumors 65816

    handheldgames

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Location:
    Pacific NW, USA
    #72
    Gotchya . 1st flash attempt was from a 2018 rMbp from a usb-c inline powered USB hub from a iPad charging usb 3.0 port. Considering CPU speed could have an effect, I installed support on a 2010 mbp running 10.9 and experiences similar results. The first option should have provided enough power. The second should have been slow enough.

    Well.. apparently I need more amps. Lucikly I have an adjustable bench power supply left over from the days of plug-and-play development that’s perfect for this job. (Under $50 delivered from eBay). Powering a flash rom without frying it off the board is something I’ll have to try... First on a bricked 4,1 that refuses to boot.

    Considering the effort, I got the pig in the tutu but clearly did not make it to the party.
     
  23. Tito910 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2016
    #73
    I just attempted this as well on my 5.1. I wasn't able to read with the flash chip while still mounted on the logic board. I could wire it up to a bench power supply. But I really really don't like that idea.

    I'll eventually desolder it. But I'll save that for a rainy day.
     
  24. MIKX, May 29, 2018
    Last edited: May 29, 2018

    MIKX macrumors 6502a

    MIKX

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Location:
    Japan
    #74
    QUOTE="Powering a flash rom without frying it off the board is something I’ll have to try... First on a bricked 4,1 that refuses to boot.
    Considering the effort, I got the pig in the tutu but clearly did not make it to the party.[/QUOTE]

    handheldgames
    Sounds like a candidate for the Apple firmware restore CD 1.8

    I have already prepared for the eventuality. :rolleyes:

    Both 1.8 CD & 1.9 CD

    Apple firmwaare restore.JPG
    --- Post Merged, May 29, 2018 ---
    expede

    Gilles PM'd me that the MBP114_0177_B00.fd I found is OK.

    He says that .. " I have found that the NVMe drivers seems to be the same between lots of different macintosh.."

    But thanks for your hint.

    Everything helps.
     
  25. handheldgames macrumors 65816

    handheldgames

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Location:
    Pacific NW, USA
    #75
    Following up to an earlier post...

    There is a Little Frank label on the 4,1/5,1 motherboard next to a ‘diagnostic port’. Emailing across the pond, I’ve heard that this port might allow a pathway to easily flashing a modified MP51.0085.B00 image using the Bus Pirate.

    More exciting.... The possibility of a plug-and-play firmware upgrade for NVMe that runs whilst plugged into the diagnostic port.
     

Share This Page