OS X El Capitan on Unsupported Macs

Discussion in 'OS X El Capitan (10.11)' started by TMRJIJ, Jun 5, 2015.

Thread Status:
The first post in this thread is a WikiPost, and can be edited by anyone with the appropriate permissions.
  1. TMRJIJ thread starter macrumors 68020

    TMRJIJ

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Location:
    South Carolina, United States
    #51
    Quick Tip: There is a com.Boot.efi.plist file in OSXE 1.3b3. This is to disable rootless during the Installation and when booting to the system. Replace in both the Core Services and in the SystemConfiguration folders. Alternatively you can try this code:
    Code:
    sudo defaults write /Library/Preferences/SystemConfiguration/com.apple.Boot.plist "Kernel Flags" -string "rootless=0"
    sudo plutil -convert xml1 /Library/Preferences/SystemConfiguration/com.apple.Boot.plist
    sudo reboot
     
  2. wolf1734 macrumors member

    wolf1734

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Location:
    France
    #52
    hello
    El Capitan I installed on a mac pro with usb 1.1. now we can put dp2 pikeyosefix.pkg as you use with or Yosemite then this works pas.cordialement
     
  3. TMRJIJ thread starter macrumors 68020

    TMRJIJ

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Location:
    South Carolina, United States
    #53
    Yep. 666sheep got it to work.

     
  4. wolf1734 macrumors member

    wolf1734

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Location:
    France
    #54
    hello TRMJIJ
    I do not understand the passage rootless = 0 to com.apple.Boot.plist. you must write this command any place
    should it do so before or after putting pikeyosefix thank you
     
  5. wolf1734 macrumors member

    wolf1734

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Location:
    France
    #55
    Hello I wanted to know how to install(settle) dp2 of El Capitan on a pimp pro 2,1 taken care steps.
    He(It) works at the moment with El Capitan dp1, me you remerci.
    Cordially
     
  6. TMRJIJ, Jul 1, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2015

    TMRJIJ thread starter macrumors 68020

    TMRJIJ

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Location:
    South Carolina, United States
    #56
    add rootless=0 to com.apple.Boot.plist
    Install @666sheep's PikeYoseFix and restart your Mac twice the make sure it is active.
    Download and install the update.

    That's all I can tell you for now since we in this thread don't know much of anything about Mac Pro 1,1 and 2,1 hence the reason why there is another thread for those models. I'll continue to look more into this. Why aren't they helping you there?
     
  7. TMRJIJ thread starter macrumors 68020

    TMRJIJ

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Location:
    South Carolina, United States
    #57
    OS X Extractor 1.3 Beta 3 will likely have these feature (if I can get them to work right)
    • Fix for the missing Boot.efi from Beta 2
    • A launchd daemon installer that automatically checks/deletes the platforzmsupport.plist and replaces the Boot.efi (for EFI32 Macs)
    • OS X Recovery Patcher 1.0
    Any other requests? I don't whether to release it this week of next week. If I knew when the public beta was coming I would go ahead to push more betas. Who wants it this week?
     
  8. wolf1734 macrumors member

    wolf1734

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Location:
    France
    #58
    Good evening TMRJIJ I have to install(settle) the yosefix patch of pike restarted. Then I put dp2 of El Capitan at the time of the restart I have to change boot Efi in both place and maintaining El Capitan works with the DP2.
    Thank you has you and has all those who one made it possible.
    Cordially
     
  9. BruceWayne54 macrumors member

    BruceWayne54

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2015
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #59
    Hi, are the OpenGL and OpenCL patches on OS X Patchers 1.3 beta still unstable?
     
  10. BruceWayne54, Jul 5, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2015

    BruceWayne54 macrumors member

    BruceWayne54

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2015
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #60
    Hi, I have a MacBook Pro 2 2 and I'm currently running Yosemite 10.10.4. I've been following the steps on the guide but on step 16, I couldn't find com.apple.Boot.plist in /System/Library/CoreServices on my install drive. Should I just skip this step or is there something else that I have to do? I also don't have a "Kernels" folder in my OS X Hackers Patch Files either...
     
  11. atvusr macrumors 6502

    atvusr

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    #61
    The 'com.apple.Boot.plist' is located in '/Library/Preferences/SystemConfiguration/' and the Kernel file can be extracted with Pacifist from InstallESD.dmg -> Packages -> Essentials.pkg -> /System/Library/Kernels/kernel .
     
  12. BruceWayne54 macrumors member

    BruceWayne54

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2015
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #62
    Thanks so much! and just for clarification, I place the kernel in /System/Library/Kernels?
     
  13. TMRJIJ thread starter macrumors 68020

    TMRJIJ

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Location:
    South Carolina, United States
    #63
    Yes, I'll make sure this is clear in Beta 3 guide
     
  14. BruceWayne54 macrumors member

    BruceWayne54

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2015
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #64
    So I've managed to boot into the El Capitan install partition, but once I get to the welcome screen, it won't let me do anything at all. Like you can see the different languages flying by, but other than that, it's completely stuck. any ideas as to what might be causing this? I'm on a MacBook Pro 2,2 (2.33 GHz core 2 duo, 3 gb ram, ati radeon x1600). Thanks!
     
  15. atvusr macrumors 6502

    atvusr

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    #65
    I've had the same result with the Developer Beta 1 on my MBP2,2 (see the Posts #18, #32). The Beta 2 was only a Delta Update, therefore I couldn't test it with the patched Installer. The Transfer of a installed OSX 10.11 from a supported Mac to the MBP2,2 (it has always worked for OSX 10.10 Yosemite since the Public Beta) doesn't work at the moment neither for OSX 10.11 DB1 nor DB2 (see Post #37). I hope that the issues lie only in the early Beta and will be solved in the next versions ....
     
  16. BruceWayne54 macrumors member

    BruceWayne54

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2015
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #66
    Let's keep our fingers crossed ;)
     
  17. darthgeekonius macrumors member

    darthgeekonius

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2014
    Location:
    Maryland
    #67
    don't know what I'm doing wrong. I attached my hd to my Mac Pro installed el capitan beta 2 and then replaced the 2 efi with pike. Should have been easy according to the first post. System hangs at  logo with flashing folder and ? mark. What didn't I do? Been at this for hours. Please help.
     
  18. wolf1734 macrumors member

    wolf1734

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Location:
    France
    #68

    Good evening

    You can try repair the authorizations of the hard disk El Capitan
     
  19. darthgeekonius macrumors member

    darthgeekonius

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2014
    Location:
    Maryland
    #69
    repaired permissions or in El Capitan (Macbook Pro I have SSD Attached to) I guess it's called First Aid now and I also blessed it in Terminal. Still flashing folder with ? mark. I'm going to reinstall El Capitan and see if that helps then add Piker boot.efi to the 2 locations and see if that helps.
     
  20. TMRJIJ thread starter macrumors 68020

    TMRJIJ

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Location:
    South Carolina, United States
    #70
    Folder with an ? mark? Please keep us updated with your progress. That is weird.
    Your particular model will probably find better help in @Mr. Zarniwoop 's thread.
     
  21. darthgeekonius, Jul 7, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 7, 2015

    darthgeekonius macrumors member

    darthgeekonius

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2014
    Location:
    Maryland
    #71
    [​IMG]
    No change.... Reinstalled, replaced both efi, repaired permissions, blessed, flashing question mark still... I even created a bootable usb can't get that to start, even tried doing an old one "Mavericks" using createmedia in order to try and restore/set drive as the boot drive. won't start. confused at this point. will try other threads but I think I'm screwed...
     
  22. TMRJIJ thread starter macrumors 68020

    TMRJIJ

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Location:
    South Carolina, United States
  23. atvusr, Jul 8, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2015

    atvusr macrumors 6502

    atvusr

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    #73
    Still no luck to run a transferred OSX 10.11 via USB-Thumdrive from a supported Mac on a MBP2,2 with the new Developer Beta 3 (15A216g) as described in the Posts #37, #65 .... :(

    Edit: It must have something to do with USB - if the transferred OSX 10.11 runs from a SSD, connected via eSATA (ExpressCard34) then it boots completely, but gets stuck on the Desktop, because the internal Keyboard/Trackpad or a external USB-KB/Mouse don't work. With a patched DB1/PB1-Installer it gets stuck on the OSX Welcome-screen ....
     
  24. darthgeekonius macrumors member

    darthgeekonius

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2014
    Location:
    Maryland
    #74
    Ditto been at this for 3 days now and was running the latest Yosemite with no problems. For whatever reason, I can't get 10.11 to work at all. Just. Won't. Boot.
     
  25. atvusr, Jul 8, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2015

    atvusr macrumors 6502

    atvusr

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    #75
    It boots on the MBP2,2 - but only until two third of the progress bar, then it stops with the 'No Entry' sign. While the transfer from a supported Mac to the MBP2,2 has always worked with OSX 10.10 Yosemite since the Public Beta, this method doesn't work at the moment for OSX 10.11 DB1/2/3.

    Edit: This occurs with USB - if the transferred OSX 10.11 runs from a SSD, connected via eSATA (ExpressCard34) then it boots completely, but gets stuck on the Desktop, because the internal Keyboard/Trackpad or a external USB-KB/Mouse don't work. With a patched DB1/PB1-Installer it gets stuck on the OSX Welcome-screen ....
     
Thread Status:
The first post in this thread is a WikiPost, and can be edited by anyone with the appropriate permissions.

Share This Page