Resolved OS X Yosemite on Unsupported Macs [Guide]

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by TMRJIJ, Aug 3, 2014.

Thread Status:
The first post in this thread is a WikiPost, and can be edited by anyone with the appropriate permissions.
  1. jbarley macrumors 68040

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
  2. parrotgeek1 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2016
    Location:
    Midwest
    #1402
  3. parrotgeek1 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2016
    Location:
    Midwest
    #1403
    Hello! Please test this: http://drive.google.com/file/d/0B8DiAFi2BTxvYzV6cS1QWVlqZ1E/view
    put those 3 files inside ATIRadeonX1000GLDriver.bundle/Contents/MacOS and replace the old ones
    then reboot
    if it works then replace ATIRadeonX1000GLDriver with the one from the attached zip (it's not a debug version)

    and if that works, awesome!
     

    Attached Files:

  4. RobNorton macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    #1404
    Still showing software rendering. I've attached the console log. Do your debugs appear in that?
     

    Attached Files:

  5. parrotgeek1, Jul 2, 2017
    Last edited: Jul 2, 2017

    parrotgeek1 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2016
    Location:
    Midwest
    #1405
    Since I posted this I have figured out how to show an extremely large amount of debug information in these logs.

    sudo nano /System/Library/LaunchDaemons/com.apple.WindowServer.plist

    paste before the last </dict> (you will end up with 2 </dict>'s)

    <key>EnvironmentVariables</key>
    <dict>
    <key>DYLD_PRINT_LIBRARIES_POST_LAUNCH</key>
    <string>1</string>
    <key>DYLD_PRINT_APIS</key>
    <string>1</string>
    </dict>

    it goes to system.log in console, you should send that log to me after reboot
     
  6. RobNorton macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    #1406
    See if this is better at capturing debug messages.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. parrotgeek1 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2016
    Location:
    Midwest
    #1407
    oddly, no. Are you sure you're looking at system.log? (it's in the sidebar, you might need to expand /var/log section)
    I know it works on my own computer...
     
  8. Czo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Location:
    Debrecen, Hungary
    #1408
    I wan't to run 10.9 firstly because of the TLS1.2 support in Safari.app. Can you send me the patch and describe what is patched? Works with inserting some blank functions/methods to the dylib to mitigate the missing symbol exports in 10.9+?
     
  9. parrotgeek1, Jul 3, 2017
    Last edited: Jul 3, 2017

    parrotgeek1 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2016
    Location:
    Midwest
    #1409
    Here is my code, hacked up so the driver LOADS in 10.9 (before today, it never even loaded...)
    https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B8DiAFi2BTxvLTVWNXhLdXVtbTg/view?usp=sharing

    ATIRadeonX1000GLDriver (the small one) is my shim dylib which loads/reexports ATIRadeonX1000GLDriver_real
    ATIRadeonX1000GLDriver_real is the 10.7.5 ATIRadeonX1000GLDriver, but modified with a hex editor to be dylib type not bundle, so it can reexport functions
    inj is a program that inserts LC_ID_DYLIB with the right path into ATIRadeonX1000GLDriver_real
    apishim.c is a shim to implement private APIs removed in 10.9 that ATIRadeonX1000GLDriver *uses*. it becomes libGLProgrammabilityShim.dylib.
    shim.c is a shim to implement 10.9 functions that OpenGL.framework expects ATIRadeonX1000GLDriver to implement. Sorry about the commented out chunks.
    myloadertest.sh (and myloader) is a thing to see if the driver can be loaded (no undefined symbols) by just trying to dlopen it, and it prints errors.

    It doesn't WORK in 10.9 or any version > 10.8 (yet???) because cglsCreateContext in coregraphics.framework fails.
    (there is no message for this in 10.8 but 10.9 outputs
    Jul 3 17:07:15 admins-iMac.local WindowServer[105]: initialize_display_context: no used index (1) or context creation failed - disabling OpenGL)
    ^ search in hopper for disabling OpenGL under strings tab
    I would *guess* it's trying to create an OpenGL 3 context, but I can't tell because I don't know much x86 assembly and Hopper's pseudocode mode outputs unreadable nonsense for a lot of the cglsXXX functions because they call functions by pointers obtained earlier by dlsym.

    To test it, run make.sh then copy ATIRadeonX1000GLDriver, ATIRadeonX1000GLDriver_real_patched, and libGLProgrammabilityShim.dylib into ATIRadeonX1000GLDriver.bundle/Contents/MacOS. Good luck!
     
  10. Czo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Location:
    Debrecen, Hungary
    #1410
    Thanks, i check it in the weekend.
     
  11. parrotgeek1 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2016
    Location:
    Midwest
    #1411
    I feel like I have hit the limit of my knowledge of x86 assembly. The problem is DEFINITELY inside OpenGL binary itself (replacing GLEngine from 10.7.5 does NOT fix it). Now I will try to instead fix the windowserver crash with 10.7.5 opengl.framework on 10.9.5. If you figure anything out let me know. I need to take a break.
     
  12. parrotgeek1 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2016
    Location:
    Midwest
    #1412
    I fixed the crash and can see login screen! but when you log in it crashes. and the pictures on sleep/restart/shutdown buttons are missing

    I'm going to try 10.9 DP1 with 10.8 DP1 OpenGL.framework to see if it works better because DP1 is closer to ML
     
  13. parrotgeek1 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2016
    Location:
    Midwest
    #1413
    It does not. :-(

    Maybe 10.9 is impossible because Core Animation uses OpenGL 3 in it.
     
  14. Peter_Klaver macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2017
    #1414
    I got Yosemite working on a 2008 white plastic MacBook. Excellent to be able to squeeze more life out of that old thing. MacPostFactor is a very nice project that I’m happy to make out a small bit of support to.

    I have some questions about things that give me small problems. If anyone knows solutions for these, please post.

    In Skype (v7.54) in the audio/video preferences section the video is showing, but in an actual Skype video call, both the incoming and outgoing video signals are blacked out. Is this part of the general video trouble or is there a fix? If there is no fix, would anyone know a video chat client that works under MPF-installed Yosemity (and preferably works cross-platform)?

    Speaking of the video trouble, in earlier posts in this thread I read that Quicktime is one of few video programs that works, while VLC and several other video programs don’t. That was with older versions of MPF. Is it even worth trying to install VLC now with MPF2.0.1-installed Yosemite? Or ffmpegX, or Flip4Mac, or iMovie, or RealPlayer?

    And I get (semi-)reproducible crashes in the situations below. Is anyone else experiencing those too, and if so is there a solution?

    Safe boot (holding down shift while booting) makes the bootup process freeze up.

    Having an external screen attached while booting crashes the boot process. I can attach an external screen once my MacBook is booted up.

    Using hot corners in Mission Control to show the desktop/application windows/mission control occasionally makes the system crash. Same thing when I set function keys for that instead of using hot corners.

    Switching between users when multiple users are logged in can lead to crashes too.
     
  15. PokeAcer macrumors newbie

    PokeAcer

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2017
    Location:
    Wrexham, Wales
    #1415
    I've got myself a nice Late 2006 iMac, and I was able to install Yosemite successfully (El Capitan has issues but if I can't get that working soon I'll stick with Yosemite after this issue), however it's painfully slow; I cannot feasibly use the machine as a Mac when it's so slow that it feels like I'm running it in a VM and not on a real iMac. My iMac is A1208.
     
  16. gulfan, Jul 17, 2017
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2017

    gulfan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2017
    #1416
    Have you been able to get the Dock to work? It was there the first boot - but once I rebooted it disappeared.

    2017-07-17 12:40:54.621 PM taskgated[119]: killed com.apple.dock[pid 668] because its use of the com.apple.private.tcc.manager entitlement is not allowed (error code -67063)
    2017-07-17 12:40:54.621 PM com.apple.xpc.launchd[1]: (com.apple.Dock.agent[668]) Service exited due to signal: Killed: 9
    2017-07-17 12:40:54.622 PM com.apple.xpc.launchd[1]: (com.apple.Dock.agent) Service only ran for 0 seconds. Pushing respawn out by 1 seconds.
    2017-07-17 12:40:55.000 PM kernel[0]: AMFI: Error! There is a null code directory pointer. This is an unexpected condition.
    2017-07-17 12:40:55.000 PM kernel[0]: proc 669: load code signature error 4 for file "Dock"

    ....

    Infinite loop
     
  17. gulfan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2017
    #1417
    Okay - spent all day on this here's my update for no dock / background.

    In the \System\Library\CoreServices folder the Dock.app was not allowed to run as it indicated that it was for Mac OS 10.12 and the current installed version was 10.5.5. Absolutely not a clue how this happened.

    I was able to use Pacificst a shareware program to go into the Yosemite Installer and extract out Dock.app from the Essentials.pkg file. I placed it into the \System\Library\CoreServices folder, the computer crashed. Upon rebooting the dock and background now appear.

    iMac 5,1 2006 - 3GB ram, 2ghz processor now have working sound, camera (lag), wifi, 128mb video.
     
  18. gulfan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2017
    #1418
    So when you run the ATI Kexts Installer package - it overwrites the Dock. This is a bug in the installer package that needs to be corrected.
     

    Attached Files:

  19. zappaesque, Jul 20, 2017
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2017

    zappaesque macrumors member

    zappaesque

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2017
    #1419
    Any reports on if the July 2017 security update needs any repatching? I know the last one required the audio kexts to be reinstalled, but I'm holding off on this one for now in case there are some issues.

    Running Yosemite 10.10.5 on Macbook 2,1.

    EDIT: Installed Yosemite on a 3,1 and tested the update. Same as before- reinstall the sound kexts after the update is finished. Everything else seems ok. Same story with my 2,1.
     
  20. Boosted98 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2017
    #1420
    Finally got Yosemite installed on my Macbook 3,1 A1181. The only problem now is that every time I try to login, it freezes. The cursor glitches around a little bit as I move it, but I'm sure that's graphics related.
    As soon as I hit enter after typing my password, it shows the loading circle, then the pinwheel comes up on my cursor and the arrow cursor freezes where it was.
    Anything I can do to get it working? I have it installed on a 25gb partition and I used Mac Post Factor 1.0.1 for installation.
     
  21. Peter_Klaver macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2017
    #1421
    Boosted98, I have little expertise about this, my only experience is that I got things working on a MacBook 4,1. But I noticed you said you were using MPF 1.0.1. Maybe try it with MPF 2.0.1, as that is said to fix quite a few issues?
     
  22. Boosted98 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2017
    #1422
    I can give it another try tomorrow. I tried 2.0.1 before, but when I went to boot to my Yosemite drive, it wouldn't let me boot to that drive, instead bringing me to my main drive (10.8.5, also installed with MPF 1.0.1).
    I'll give it another go and get back to you.
     
  23. Boosted98 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2017
    #1423
    Just got done installing Yosemite using MPF 2.0.1. Since I had walked away to take care of other things, I didn't notice what MPF said once it was finished, but by the time I got back to the computer it was just showing my desktop.
    I restarted the computer and went to the drive selection screen (by holding option) and it shows Macintosh HD, Macintosh HD Recovery, and Create Recovery for Yosemite (my Yosemite drive is named Yosemite).
    When I boot to the last drive, it just brings me to my Mountain Lion desktop (Macintosh HD).
    What's wrong here?
     
  24. TMRJIJ thread starter macrumors 68030

    TMRJIJ

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Location:
    South Carolina, United States
    #1424
    Noted. Will have a fix for this by the end of the week with macOSE1.43
     
  25. macis, Jul 28, 2017
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2017

    macis macrumors newbie

    macis

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2017
    #1425
    I’ve installed Yosemite on my iMac Late 2006 with MacPostFactor 2.0.1. With applied kexts the system is usable for the most part. Anyway I’m using only system apps. The only annoying thing is artifacts on the login window. Like 30 seconds of white stripes going from screen top to bottom or vice versa. Is there any way to fix this?

    Update:
    I've found the solution myself. Remove all AMD kexts and install ATI kexts for your GPU instead. There are no graphic artifacts, but system stutters for the same time on the login window. No solution to remove stutter yet.
     

    Attached Files:

Thread Status:
The first post in this thread is a WikiPost, and can be edited by anyone with the appropriate permissions.

Share This Page