PCs GTX285/275/260/295 working in any MacPro....

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by netkas, May 27, 2009.

  1. Cuda macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    #126
    Edit the 32bit EFI 8800 bios with you device ID's, add your PC Bios and flash it to the 285,REMOVE THE INJECTOR, and see what goes with only the 285.( Got $20 says it works, not going to say "well", but you'll get a display before KP.)
     
  2. 10THzMac macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    #127
    That sounds actually worse than I got from my Mac 285 card. The 1.0 test was always down on first run of OGL with netkas settings, but then the card was out of dog mode and the 1.0 test was good on second run done right away (the numbers I posted a short while ago) and then my Cuda apps ran at full speed. Only went down to 0.6 GHz after about 10 secs of doing nothing. So your PC 285 sounds like it is throttling down quicker than my Mac card, whereas my PC card is staying fast. Somebody explain the conclusion from that?

    Just to be sure, please could you run the OGL twice in quick succession - is your 1.0 figure still low on second run? Could you also say exactly which EVGA 285 you bought?
     
  3. Ozy macrumors regular

    Ozy

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    Goodyear, AZ
    #128
    I currently have two 8800GT's in my MacPro. I'd like to discard only one and use the other with the new GTX275. I know taht the GTX275 requires two power connectors, and the 8800GT requires one. I was hoping I could just omit running power to the 8800GT entirely since I wont use it for 3D work. I guess I could find a Molex to 6-pin adapter and attach it to the unused second CD-ROM molex connector. But as I recall, its a bitch to get a cable run through to it since I have 4 hard drives in my Macpro.

    :confused:
     
  4. 10THzMac macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    #129
    Cuda now working on GTX 260

    Seems my earlier problems (Cuda not working despite QE/CI OK and good OpenGL) were a problem Nvidia side. There seem to be two sets of Nvidia Cuda 2.2 drivers around. One is on web (did not work) and other is on Quadro disk. The latter works fine.

    So netkas injector has got Cuda alive on twin GPU, as per shot attached. Sorry for suggesting might be something missing in his (her?) injector - the problem was elsewhere.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. 10THzMac macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    #130
    I could not get the cable running round the back even with only 2 drives - so I run it round the outside tucked into one of the case locks to protect it. No problems with that though it is not ideal.
     
  6. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #131
    If only it could be that simple.

    I have tried sewing G92 ROMs together before with no luck at all.

    I wish Pipolomo42 would come by again and give us some insight, I even tried patching ROMs together and then running his scripts on them.....always a black screen. Mind you, I was trying what should have been simple, making a 9800GTX ROM from 8800GT EFI and PC BIOS.

    I can also tell you that the "Softstraps" in Nvidia BIOS are important and help set Device Id and determine which of the 8 RAM timing tables is used by card. I was able to write ROMs for 8800GTS and 9800GT a

    I would LOVE to see some progress on the EFI32 ROM problem. The 8800GT is unique because it is only card to have both versions for us to study.

    I have attached the GPU-Z output from my GTX285, also shows Vista64 running on my "Unsupported" first Gen.

    From my tests, I would say that both Peska and Nasabaer needed some form of Nvidia card in and they may have had success.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. nasabaer macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    #132
    I have an old 8800GT on Hold from my previously Mac Pro, but i have not enough power cables to run them both.
    i need 3 ones at all :) and there are only 2 connectors on the logicboard.
     
  8. NonBorn macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    #133
    So If i get a evga GTX 285 with 2GB ram would it run under OSX in its full speed? I dont want the mac edition because it has 1gb ram and I want it for playing @ 2560x1600 where 2gb will make the difference...
     
  9. peskaa macrumors 68020

    peskaa

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #134
    Hm. It then simply becomes an issue of how to power my 8800GT with both SuperDrive bays full. Plus I really wanted to just run the GTX 275 alone!
     
  10. peskaa macrumors 68020

    peskaa

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #135
    Where we're at so far...

    I thought it'd be worthwhile to summarise the different results we've had so far and list all the combinations, working or not.

    2009 Mac Pro
    GT120 + EVGA GTZ 285 1GB - Working, QE/CL/Cuda

    2008 Mac Pro
    8800GT + Palit GTX 285 2GB - Working, QE/CL/Cuda
    8800GT + Zotac GTX 260(216) 896MB - Working, QE/CL, Cuda
    EVGA GTX 285 Mac 1GB + Palit GTX 285 2GB - Working, QE/CL/Cuda

    2600XT + BFG GTX 275 896MB OC - Black Screen Failure (Blue on 2600), Kernel Panic
    PNY GTX 285 - Black Screen Failure
    BFG GTX 275 896MB OC - Black Screen Failure

    2006 Mac Pro
    8800GT + EVGA GTX 285 1GB - Working, QE/CL/Cuda?
    2600XT + EVGA GTX 285 1GB - Black Screen Failure (Blue on 2600), Kernel Panic
    3870 Mac + EVGA GTX 285 1GB - Black Screen Failure (Blue on 3870), Kernel Panic
    EVGA GTX 285 1GB - Black Screen Failure


    Notes:
    - Cuda may require the drivers from the Quadro disc rather than EVGA/NVIDIA's 285 driver releases to operate correctly
    - Currently looks like an EFI-enabled NVIDIA card must be present in the system (7300GT?, GT 120, 8800GT, Quadro, 285, flashed cards) for successful boot
    - ATi Mac edition cards (2600XT, 3870, 4870?) seem to consistently kernel panic whilst booting OS X, freezing on blue screen
     
  11. 10THzMac macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    #136
    Thanks peskaa -
    somewhere yesterday I updated the 8800+Zotac260(216 core) story to show Cuda **working**.

    There is problem in that the Cuda drivers on the web + the f16 driver release caused cuda to fail, but if you use the cuda drivers on the quadro disk it is OK with f16. There are lots of moans on Cuda mac forum about it - the problem was NOT with netkas' injector.

    I am now going after the throttle down issues on my rigs - the mac8800+2PC60 and mac285+pc285 rigs are giving 0.6Ghz by default on all cards except on the pc285 (the 2G palit, which I might be the odd one out because it has insane levels of cooling - two fans and tubes).
     
  12. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #137
    Excellent....please note that when I have 2600XT in, if I connect a DVI to ATI card it seems to start normally but locks up on blue screen, just like on the 2008.

    I even tried running just the GTX285 yesterday and then trying to do screen sharing via my Macbook. Other Macs on Network showed up but never the Mac Pro. So the GTX285 by itself is NOT booting all the way.

    So, it currently seems that there MUST be an Nvidia card with EFI on it to get 285 to boot.

    As far as power goes, I have a PCIE Y-Splitter which I split second line to go to both 88GT and GTX. Since there isn't a monitor connected to 800GT, there is very little need for it to draw power, but lets card enable boot.

    I feel there is somethig still missing from injector, something that it gets from another Nvidia card. The fact that it can be from a G70, G92 or G200 based card shows that it isn't specific to a particular EFI ROM.
     
  13. peskaa macrumors 68020

    peskaa

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #138
    Completely with you on that one - my 2600XT does exactly the same thing with a monitor plugged in (boot to blue, then KP).

    I'll see if I can get power to my 8800GT somehow to test the theory.
     
  14. monogasuki macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    #139
    Just wondering, has there been any test results with 7300gt + GTX 285? Will it work? Also, the 285 tested in the 2006 mac pro, what brand card is being used?
     
  15. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #140
    We need someone to test with 7300GT.

    The GPU-Z screen above gives answer to brand of card.

    Also has BIOS version.
     
  16. monogasuki macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    #141
    Hi rominator, I'm a total noob, as I've never messed with injectors before. However, I am willing to take the pludge :)

    I have a 2006 MP with 7300gt.

    I'm assuming it's best to stay with the pc evga 285 GTX standard 1GB or 2GB (not SC, FTW, etc). Correct?
     
  17. Cuda macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    #142
    I agree, if we can make a Bios/EFI Rom with any of the Correct 32/64bit for each, and it works, we could make a Rom maker.

    Also, if I'm not mistaken, you can Load the EFI Rom from a Drive in the Shell, then Boot OS X, I think that will work too.(No Flashing needed, and some debug info that my help.)

    Where is our EFI GURU?:D
     
  18. 10THzMac macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    #143
    Just did a test of this on my Mac 285 + PC 285 08 Pro, with my ACD 23 connected to the PC card.

    1. Mac 285 powered up. Black screen until blue display quickly followed by desktop - all then well;

    2. Mac 285 powered down. Screen just stays black.

    Had not tried this before as was always trying for two GPUS, but clear that Rominator is on to something.

    Incidentally in this config in case 1, I cannot wake the mac card up from low speed mode - the running of a 3D app seems to have to be on the GPU driving the monitor to wake it up, and the PC card is already awake. I am getting boring about this now.
     
  19. 10THzMac macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    #144
    On this page it is made clear that another card has to be in place to boot, but I am running a 2G Palit 285 just fine. The OpenGL benchmarks are similar to the Mac version. The one difference is that the "Link speed" is 2.5 rather than 5, but I have yet to see where this matters. If I were buying now I would probably get the evga one as it might have a rom nearer to that on the mac version and so flashing might be on.
     
  20. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #145
    To the "no worky" pile, add the ATI 3870 Mac edition used in conjunction with GTX285. Same behavior as 2600XT. I even tried using "safe boot" and got same thing.
     
  21. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #146
    Excellent. I choose an EVGA 1 Gig from Newegg, I was just trying to find something similar to Mac version. It has a 128K ROM chip so I am waiting on some 256K chips I ordered, though they may very well not work. I am hopeful to create first flashed one, though I will need to test on someone else's machine as my machine is 1st Gen.

    I am 85% sure a 7300 will work as it is G70 family, like 7800GTX I tested with.
     
  22. monogasuki macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    #147
    For the evga 285, does 1GB or 2GB make a difference in "compatibility"? Or maybe like you said, should stick closet to mac version. But memory shouldn't be a compatibility factor though, right?
    Will order either one today.
     
  23. netkas thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    #148
    peskaa, aanlized your panic msg, it happens in NVDAResman kext at 0x16070 addresss, in function RmAllocMemory, no idea why so, maybe its smth about allocaying memory BARs (IODeviceMemory key of vga entry)
     
  24. 10THzMac macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    #149
    If you look at peskaa's list of what we know works, we do not yet know for sure about the PC versions of the EVGA cards in 1G/2G form or at any clock speed. As long as you have an existing Nvidia card in your Pro, there is a good chance an EVGA card will work. I do not think 2G makes any difference. I seem to have been very lucky with my two PC 200 cards, which were bought a while back for bootcamp use and they have come to life OS X side.

    I can tell you that my Apple 8800GT+Palit 2G 285 works for sure. The Rom on the PC card is so different I have not even tried to flash it to make a bootable clone. I speculate that an EVGA card might have a similar ROM to the Mac version and be more likely to be flashable, but no-one has yet told us they are even injectable. I think there is a good chance you will be able to go all the way, but a small chance you will not get it up at all.

    Buy it and tell us all if it is OK!!
     
  25. Cuda macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    #150
    Code:
    Also, if I'm not mistaken, you can Load the EFI Rom from a Drive in the Shell, then Boot OS X, I think that will work too.(No Flashing needed, and some debug info that my help.)
    
     

Share This Page