Upgrading my 2009 Mac Pro - need advice

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Mac Gus, Jan 2, 2014.

  1. Kierkegaard macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2012
    Location:
    Made in Quebec
    #126
    Xeon X5600 series

    Does someone has successfully tested a CPU Xeon X5600 series on a single processor on Mac Pro?

    Thanks
     
  2. funwithdesign macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    #127
    Lots of people. Including me. (EDIT) It's a 5500 but works exactly the same as the 5600 series

    [​IMG]
     
  3. Mac Gus thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2013
    Location:
    New York City
    #128
  4. mhbalough macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012
    #129
    Suprised nobody mentioned it yet. Hackintosh, my friend. I too was (am) a video editor and was using an older Mac Pro. Spent nearly $3G on it. Apple then just went to Intel back at that point, and shortly therafter dropped support for the hardware. Was not happy so decided to try hackintoshing so I can upgrade at will when I needed to.

    Here we are in 2014 and I've done many hackintoshes. Gotten it down perfectly now. Here is your answer if you are willing to be bold. You can build your own machine that is killer fast and silky smooth with editing and quiet when working. I've benchmarked it and it's faster than nearly all current iMac's. I honestly cannot believe how fast and awesome this machine is - and that more people don't do it. These are my current key specs and what I'm editing with now:

    GA-B75M Gigabyte motherboard
    Intel Quad Core i5 3.4GHz (Ivy Bridge)
    8GB Kingston RAM DDR3 1600
    Nvidia GTX 650 Ti 1GB
    Inland 400W Gold PSU
    128GB OCZ Agility 3 SSD
    Samsung 22x DVD Burner

    Given how great this machine is for speed, silky smooth editing, super low noise, etc .. here is the best part: it only cost me $700 to buy all these brand new components and do this hackintosh Mavericks build !!

    I'm also using Adobe Priemere rather than FCPX since I too was one of the many who tried it and no mater how many .x updates they do for FCPX, it's just not as good overall as FCP 7 was. I still can't get over the damn timeline in FCPX. I therefore went over to Primere and After Effects. Good luck, and go for it!
     
  5. MacUser2525 macrumors 68000

    MacUser2525

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #130
    Yes single cpu model works perfectly only tried the 5650 in it. I think the others should work like the 2.8, 2.93, 3.33 or 3.46mhz they are the same family.
     
  6. Kierkegaard macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2012
    Location:
    Made in Quebec
    #131
    Intel Xeon X5687

    I tested a Xeon X5687 in my Mac Pro 2010 3.2GHz single CPU and it does not work. My Mac Pro Quad Core with the X5687 don't want to start. So, do I have to understand that my Xeon X5687 is defective if the X5600 series is compatible with the Mac Pro 2010 Single CPU? I must go back to return this Xeon X5687 to the seller who makes me problems to return it. So I need to be sure that the series Xeon X5600 are compatible with my Mac Pro for return it the CPU to the seller.

    Thank's a lot.

    Daniel

    ----------

    Can't you let me know, please, if your Mac Pro is a Single CPU model? And the Xeon 5500 series, have you tested it one in a Mac Pro Single CPU?
     
  7. flowrider, Jan 30, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2014

    flowrider macrumors 603

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #132
    ^^^^I can't really answer your question, but what I do know:

    1. The X5687 is a fast (3.6GHz Quad Core chip of the same family as the E5620 (also a Quad Core Chip, but much slower). The E5620 was OEM in the 2010 base Dual Processor 5,1 Mac Pro.

    2. I have googled the X5687 and the Mac Pro and can find no one who has used this chip in their Macs.

    3. In reading the specs for the X5687 and the E5620, they are very similar (as I said, same family) and IMHO, it should work in a 5,1 Single or Dual Processor Mac Pro. But, as I also said it's never been done.

    4. If I were you, and you want a fast 4 core chip for your machine, I would return the X5687 and buy either a W3580 or an W5590. Both are 4 core, 3.33 GHz CPUs and are known to run in a 4,1 or a 5,1 single core Mac Pro.

    The Valley benchmark posted above by funwithdesign are for a single W5590. The CPU line indicates the W5590 chip and the last entry on that line, x8, indicates a single CPU. If it were dual W5590s, that indicator would read x16, as mine does.

    Lou
     
  8. Kierkegaard macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2012
    Location:
    Made in Quebec
    #133

    Attached Files:

  9. Kierkegaard, Jan 30, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2014

    Kierkegaard macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2012
    Location:
    Made in Quebec
    #134

    Attached Files:

  10. handheldgames macrumors 65816

    handheldgames

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Location:
    Pacific NW, USA
    #135
    HINT: in the upper right corner of your window, there is a white bar with a magnifying glass and the words "search forms" in it. If you click your cursor in the bar, you can type "Xeon 56", press "enter" and it will reveal a list of all the posts of MR users successfully using a 56XX series Xeon on their 5,1 firmware based MP. :eek::eek::eek:
     
  11. Kierkegaard macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2012
    Location:
    Made in Quebec
    #136
    Thanks

    Thank you for this good advice. I'll be more careful in the future.
     
  12. Kierkegaard macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2012
    Location:
    Made in Quebec
    #137
    Thanks a lot for this information. :)
     
  13. MacUser2525 macrumors 68000

    MacUser2525

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #138
    The cpu you have can still be working properly but the support for it is not in the Apple firmware therefore it will not work. The system has no way to initialize it without that support in the firmware. What I can tell you from personally experience is a 5600 series 5650 will work in a 2010 single cpu Mac Pro and I suspect in my 2009 flashed with 2010 firmware I am going to do after I eat supper in a few minutes here tonight.
     
  14. chris.k macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Location:
    YSSY
    #139
    I have also tried an x5687 3.6 Ghz in an MP5,1 single cpu system.

    I would agree that Apple firmware does not recognize this chip at all. It is specific to the X5687 only.

    Ie Only that chip in the 5500/5600 series is not recognized.

    All other 5500/5600s work - which is a shame as i need fast single core performance for my application. I ended up putting in a W3690 3.46 Ghz which is the fastest single CPU you can use in the 3600 series.
     
  15. Kierkegaard, Jan 30, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2014

    Kierkegaard macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2012
    Location:
    Made in Quebec
    #140
    Xeon X5687

    How could I know the Xeon X5687 would not work in my single CPU Mac Pro 2010 otherwise by trying.

    If this is the only one of the X5600 series is not compatible with a Mac Pro Quad Core, I really did not have any luck. It's look like a bad lottery ticket.

    Sorry for my very badly english.
     
  16. MacUser2525 macrumors 68000

    MacUser2525

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #141
    Your English is good enough and yes unfortunately it looks like you picked the wrong chip from that family of chips to give a try all the others seem to work. You probably never heard the old saying "if it were not for bad luck I would have none at all" it certainly seems to apply to this situation.
     
  17. Kierkegaard macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2012
    Location:
    Made in Quebec
    #142
    What is this bad ticket called X5687?

    I did not know this beautiful expression, which I find very appropriate effect to my situation. This bad lottery ticket will cost me dearly.
     
  18. Studio K macrumors 6502

    Studio K

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Location:
    United States
    #143
    I am curious how hot this CPU (in a single-cpu Mac Pro) would get under stress. Have you tried something like a Handbrake encode----to max all the cores?
    I'd love to know at what temp the CPU would peak.

    ISTat would show it. As would Temperature Monitor.

    Do you mind giving it a go and sharing the results?
     
  19. MacUser2525, Jan 31, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2014

    MacUser2525 macrumors 68000

    MacUser2525

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #144
    Be the same as the 3680 I had in my 5,1 somewhere around 55-60C I would think but I use custom fan profile when doing that. I am not a big fan of the Apple let it run as hot as you can so it is quiet routine. That profile runs at 1400 for the cpu cooler 1000 for everything else.

    Edit: Should add the stock cpu using that same profile would be mid to high 70s.
     
  20. Mac Gus thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2013
    Location:
    New York City
    #145
  21. xcodeSyn macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    #146
    The MP generally reserves 300W (75W x 4) for video cards, 75W each from the 6-pin mini PCIe connector and the PCIe slot 1 and 2. Using this TDP database as a guideline, you'll find out that both GTX 285 +HD 5870, as referenced in your link, have a total TDP of 392W (204 + 188), way above the 300W limit. I've read that article before and wondered why the author only used a very small window running the graphic work instead of a full window. I think even the author knew pushing both video cards to the limit was dangerous. Putting two HD7970s inside without using an external power supply is basically playing with fire when 500W TDP is at stake. I suggest you read this thread if you haven't. Now it seems more acceptable than before that one HD7970 could be run with the internal power supply, but even the OP was not crazy enough to recommend two without additional power supply.
     
  22. Kierkegaard, Feb 5, 2014
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2014

    Kierkegaard macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2012
    Location:
    Made in Quebec
    #147
    Update CPU W3690 3.46GHz

    « This kit is for 2009 Mac Pro's with the SMC firmware of SMC Version (system):1.39f5 installing this kit in a Mac Pro 2010 with SMC Version (system):1.39f11 will make all your fans run at max speed the only option is to buy the DIY (Do It Yourself) kit in my other auctions that I will send out overnight in the US and I will walk you thru the conversion. »

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/Mac-Pro-200...ore-3-46-Ghz-W3690-Westmere-5-1-/380833663852

    Does anyone ever seen a problem with the fans that turned to the maximum speed on her Mac Pro 2010 single CPU after an upgrade of the processor?

    Thanks.
     
  23. funwithdesign macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    #148
    The reason is the tray not the processors. This is a 2009 tray.

    If you put a 2009 tray in a 2010/2012 you will have fan issues and if you put a 2010/2012 tray in a 2009 you will have the same issues.
     
  24. Studio K macrumors 6502

    Studio K

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Location:
    United States
    #149
    Changing the processor WILL NOT cause the fans to run at full speed.

    Mixing a 2010 CPU board with a 2009 Backplane board (or vice versa) WILL cause fans to run full stop.
    I don't think you have any intention of mixing boards, do you?
     
  25. Kierkegaard macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2012
    Location:
    Made in Quebec
    #150
    I just plan to change my processor on my Mac Pro 2010 and I was simply need to know if this could be a problem with the fans speed.

    So thank you for this information.
     

Share This Page