Wifi card not working under Mojave.

Zeke D

macrumors 65816
Nov 18, 2011
1,010
160
Arizona
I've ordered a pair of BCM94322MCs for $10 each off of amazon, and am using a 3rd gen airport express until they arrive and I install them. I just wish there was an easy way to see what card is in my macs...
 

crjackson2134

macrumors 601
Mar 6, 2013
4,735
1,868
Charlotte, NC
I've ordered a pair of BCM94322MCs for $10 each off of amazon, and am using a 3rd gen airport express until they arrive and I install them. I just wish there was an easy way to see what card is in my macs...
Open a terminal session and paste the following
Code:
ioreg -r -n ARPT
When you get the return, look for “IOName” = “xxxxxx”

Google the actual values where the “xxxxxx” appears and it will tell you what card you have.

I.E. “pci14e4,43ba” is a Broadcom BCM43602 802.11ac Wireless
 
  • Like
Reactions: Synchro3

Zeke D

macrumors 65816
Nov 18, 2011
1,010
160
Arizona
That's helpful. Looks like my 2011MBP has a BCM4331 (pci14e4,4331) I'm not sure if that's Mohave compatible...
 

tsialex

macrumors 604
Jun 13, 2016
7,603
8,341
Brazil
That's helpful. Looks like my 2011MBP has a BCM4331 (pci14e4,4331) I'm not sure if that's Mohave compatible...
Yes, it is. BCM4322MC uses the same driver on Mojave and people with MacBook Pro 2011 with Mojave + dosdude1 patch reports working Wi-Fi.
 
  • Like
Reactions: olad

howiest

macrumors 6502
Aug 16, 2015
302
119
Left Coast
BCM4322 (pci14e4,432b) are Mojave compatible, and are on Amazon with free prime shipping for $9.99: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B005GDTIK4/
Thanks Zeke D, looks like I just ordered the last one in stock, or so it said at least.
Not sure I will be installing Mojave but wanted to be ready just in case. I have the Atheros card and I'm still on Sierra.
Also, I've heard changing out the wifi card is a pain in the butt. True?
 

Zeke D

macrumors 65816
Nov 18, 2011
1,010
160
Arizona
It’s not difficult per se, but the leads are short, and there’s not a lot of room to work on it.

When you get yours from Amazon and install it, let me know if you’re able to connect to 5ghz networks. My 2010 with the Apple 94322MC sees my 5ghz network, but the one from Amazon doesn't.

Thanks Zeke D, looks like I just ordered the last one in stock, or so it said at least.
Not sure I will be installing Mojave but wanted to be ready just in case. I have the Atheros card and I'm still on Sierra.
Also, I've heard changing out the wifi card is a pain in the butt. True?
 
  • Like
Reactions: olad

howiest

macrumors 6502
Aug 16, 2015
302
119
Left Coast
It’s not difficult per se, but the leads are short, and there’s not a lot of room to work on it.

When you get yours from Amazon and install it, let me know if you’re able to connect to 5ghz networks. My 2010 with the Apple 94322MC sees my 5ghz network, but the one from Amazon doesn't.
Glad I caught this. I put in a cancellation request on my Amazon order, hopefully in time. That 5 Ghz thing is a big deal. But if it does ship out to me I'll try it and report back.
 

Zeke D

macrumors 65816
Nov 18, 2011
1,010
160
Arizona
I'm not sure if mine's just defective or not.
Glad I caught this. I put in a cancellation request on my Amazon order, hopefully in time. That 5 Ghz thing is a big deal. But if it does ship out to me I'll try it and report back.
 

howiest

macrumors 6502
Aug 16, 2015
302
119
Left Coast
I'm not sure if mine's just defective or not.
I'll just grab one if & when I need it. I plan on sticking with Sierra for quite a while, and I'm good to go with High Sierra too. Gone are the days where I would update the day a new MacOS was released. If it ain't broke.............. ;)
 

joelw135

macrumors 6502a
Oct 15, 2008
548
270
New Jersey, USA
After installing Mojave none of my network cards on my 2017 27" iMac are available. I Have no idea what is wrong, I have reinstalled same problem. I used the following terminal to show devices. Any help would be appreciated, before I try to install again.
ioreg -r -n ARPT and it returned:
+-o AirPort_BrcmNIC <class AirPort_BrcmNIC, id 0x10000026e, registered, matc$
+-o CCLogPipe <class CCLogPipe, id 0x10000031e, registered, matched, activ$
| +-o CCIOReporterLogStream <class CCIOReporterLogStream, id 0x100000323, $
+-o CCLogPipe <class CCLogPipe, id 0x10000032d, registered, matched, activ$
| +-o CCLogStream <class CCLogStream, id 0x10000032e, registered, matched,$
| +-o CCLogStream <class CCLogStream, id 0x10000032f, registered, matched,$
+-o CCLogPipe <class CCLogPipe, id 0x100000345, registered, matched, activ$
| +-o CCLogStream <class CCLogStream, id 0x100000346, registered, matched,$
+-o CCDataPipe <class CCDataPipe, id 0x100000347, registered, matched, act$
| +-o CCDataStream <class CCDataStream, id 0x100000348, registered, matche$
+-o en1 <class AirPort_BrcmNIC_Interface, id 0x100000349, registered, matc$
| +-o IONetworkStack <class IONetworkStack, id 0x100000312, registered, ma$
| +-o IONetworkStackUserClient <class IONetworkStackUserClient, id 0x100$
+-o CCDataPipe <class CCDataPipe, id 0x10000060b, registered, matched, act$
| +-o CCIOReporterDataStream <class CCIOReporterDataStream, id 0x10000060c$
+-o AirPort_BrcmNIC_P2PInterface <class AirPort_BrcmNIC_P2PInterface, id 0$
+-o CCLogPipe <class CCLogPipe, id 0x100000637, registered, matched, activ$
| +-o CCLogStream <class CCLogStream, id 0x100000638, registered, matched,$
+-o AirPort_BrcmNIC_P2PInterface <class AirPort_BrcmNIC_P2PInterface, id 0$
 

tsialex

macrumors 604
Jun 13, 2016
7,603
8,341
Brazil
After installing Mojave none of my network cards on my 2017 27" iMac are available. I Have no idea what is wrong, I have reinstalled same problem. I used the following terminal to show devices. Any help would be appreciated, before I try to install again.
ioreg -r -n ARPT and it returned:
+-o AirPort_BrcmNIC <class AirPort_BrcmNIC, id 0x10000026e, registered, matc$
+-o CCLogPipe <class CCLogPipe, id 0x10000031e, registered, matched, activ$
| +-o CCIOReporterLogStream <class CCIOReporterLogStream, id 0x100000323, $
+-o CCLogPipe <class CCLogPipe, id 0x10000032d, registered, matched, activ$
| +-o CCLogStream <class CCLogStream, id 0x10000032e, registered, matched,$
| +-o CCLogStream <class CCLogStream, id 0x10000032f, registered, matched,$
+-o CCLogPipe <class CCLogPipe, id 0x100000345, registered, matched, activ$
| +-o CCLogStream <class CCLogStream, id 0x100000346, registered, matched,$
+-o CCDataPipe <class CCDataPipe, id 0x100000347, registered, matched, act$
| +-o CCDataStream <class CCDataStream, id 0x100000348, registered, matche$
+-o en1 <class AirPort_BrcmNIC_Interface, id 0x100000349, registered, matc$
| +-o IONetworkStack <class IONetworkStack, id 0x100000312, registered, ma$
| +-o IONetworkStackUserClient <class IONetworkStackUserClient, id 0x100$
+-o CCDataPipe <class CCDataPipe, id 0x10000060b, registered, matched, act$
| +-o CCIOReporterDataStream <class CCIOReporterDataStream, id 0x10000060c$
+-o AirPort_BrcmNIC_P2PInterface <class AirPort_BrcmNIC_P2PInterface, id 0$
+-o CCLogPipe <class CCLogPipe, id 0x100000637, registered, matched, activ$
| +-o CCLogStream <class CCLogStream, id 0x100000638, registered, matched,$
+-o AirPort_BrcmNIC_P2PInterface <class AirPort_BrcmNIC_P2PInterface, id 0$
Seems that your AirPort Extreme still present to the hardware, but not working. Did you tried to reset NVRAM/SMC?

This is a example of a working one:
Screen Shot 2018-07-24 at 02.07.02.png

[doublepost=1532409015][/doublepost]
I put another one in the 2009, and it too doesn't see the 5Ghz.
Did you put the correct antenna wires, since on the Mac Pro has three antennas for Wi-Fi but BCM94322MC has only two?
 

Zeke D

macrumors 65816
Nov 18, 2011
1,010
160
Arizona
I connected wires 0 & 2, with #1 tucked under the card, the same as the 2006 airport card. With both 94322 cards, system profiler shows it as a "Third Party Wireless" instead of Airport Extreme.
 
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.