Working Pandora Player without Flash!

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by gavinstubbs09, Oct 3, 2016.

  1. gavinstubbs09, Oct 3, 2016
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2016

    gavinstubbs09 macrumors 65816

    gavinstubbs09

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Location:
    NorCal boonies ~~~by Reno sorta
    #1
    This one I am excited for, as it works pretty well. The same guy who brought us TSclientX worked on making PianoBar work under PowerPC. Huge thanks to Daniel!!

    Sign in with your email and password, then select the Pandora station you want. This will tell you the track currently playing, and if you liked it, it'll have a <3 next to the title, as well as showing the duration of the song.

    You can skip a song by pressing "n" on the keyboard. See the list below for various commands (below the image).

    But this is awesome and I am stoked to have it, no more dealing with s**tty Safari to play Pandora music any longer.

    If someone could try this under Tiger, and then using a G3 with Tiger and respond back here that would be appreciated :) Works excellent with my G5 using Leopard.

    OTHER REALLY COOL THING: Unlimited skips and NO ads!!

    PianoPPC Download (Ver 1.0.1 10/4/2016)

    Revision Updates:

    1.0 (10/3/16)
    - Initial release.
    1.0.1 (10/4/16)
    - Patched configuration parser - now it's working.
    - Should now run on G3 Macs

    [​IMG]

    Code:
    act_help = ?
    Show keybindings.
    
    act_songlove = +
    Love currently played song.
    
    act_songban = -
    Ban current track. It will not be played again and can only removed using the pandora.com web interface.
    
    act_stationaddmusic = a
    Add more music to current station. You will be asked for a search string. Just follow the instructions. If you're clueless try '?' (without quotes).
    
    act_bookmark = b
    Bookmark current song or artist.
    
    act_stationcreate = c
    Create new station. You have to enter a search string and select the song or artist of your choice.
    
    act_stationdelete = d
    Delete current station.
    
    act_songexplain = e
    Explain why this song is played.
    
    act_stationaddbygenre = g
    Add genre station provided by pandora.
    
    act_history = h
    Show history.
    
    act_songinfo = i
    Print information about currently played song/station.
    
    act_addshared = j
    Add shared station by id. id is a very long integer without "sh" at the beginning.
    
    act_managestation = =
    Delete artist/song seeds or feedback.
    
    act_songmove = m
    Move current song to another station
    
    act_songnext = n
    Skip current song.
    
    act_songpause = p
    Pause/Continue
    
    act_quit = q
    Quit pianobar.
    
    act_stationrename = r
    Rename currently played station.
    
    act_stationchange = s
    Select another station. The station list can be filtered like most lists by entering a search string instead of a station number.
    
    act_songtired = t
    Ban song for one month.
    
    act_upcoming = u
    Show next songs in playlist.
    
    act_stationselectquickmix = x
    Select quickmix stations. You can toggle the selection with 't', select all with 'a' or select none with 'n'.
    
    act_voldown = (
    Decrease volume.
    
    act_volup = )
    Increase volume.
    
    at_icon = @
    Replacement for %@ in station format string. It's " @ " by default.
    audio_format = {aacplus,mp3,mp3-hifi}
    Select audio format. aacplus is default if both libraries (faad, mad) are available. mp3-hifi is available for Pandora One customers only.
    
    autoselect = {1,0}
    Auto-select last remaining item of filtered list. Currently enabled for station selection only.
    
    autostart_station = stationid
    Play this station when starting up. You can get the stationid by pressing i or the key you defined in act_songinfo.
    
    ban_icon = </3
    Icon for banned songs.
    
    control_proxy = http://user:password@host:port/
    Non-american users need a proxy to use pandora.com. Only the xmlrpc interface will use this proxy. The music is streamed directly.
    
    event_command = path
    File that is executed when event occurs. See section EVENTCMD
    fifo = /home/user/.config/pianobar/ctl
    Location of control fifo. Defaults to $XDG_CONFIG_HOME/pianobar/ctl (which is usually the value above). See section REMOTE CONTROL
    
    force_tls = {0,1}
    Use TLS for all actions (not just sending login credentials). Use if you are on an untrusted network or to get around GeoIP restrictions.
    
    format_list_song = %i) %a - %t%r
    
    Available format characters:
    %i Song number
    
    %a Song artist
    
    %t Song title
    
    %r Rating icon
    
    format_msg_none = %s
    format_msg_info = (i) %s
    format_msg_nowplaying = |> %s
    format_msg_time = # %s
    format_msg_err = /!\ %s
    format_msg_question = [?] %s
    format_msg_list =
    %s
    
    Message format strings. %s is replaced with the actual message.
    
    format_nowplaying_song = "%t" by "%a" on "%l"%r%@%s
    Now playing song message format.
    
    Available format characters are:
    
    %t Song title
    
    %a Song artist
    
    %l Album name
    
    %r Rating icon (only love icon)
    
    %@ at_icon if station is quickmix, empty otherwise.
    
    %s Real station name if quickmix
    
    %u Song detail url
    
    format_nowplaying_station = Station "%n" (%i)
    
    Now playing station format.
    
    Available format characters are:
    
    %n Station name
    
    %i Station id
    
    history = 5
    Keep a history of the last n songs (5, by default). You can rate these songs.
    
    love_icon = <3
    Icon for loved songs.
    
    password = plaintext_password
    Your pandora.com password. Plain-text.
    
    proxy = http://user:password@host:port/
    Use a http proxy. Note that this setting overrides the http_proxy environment variable. Only "Basic" http authentication is supported.
    
    sort = {name_az, name_za, quickmix_01_name_az, quickmix_01_name_za, quickmix_10_name_az, quickmix_10_name_za}
    Sort station list by name or type (is quickmix) and name. name_az for example sorts by name from a to z, quickmix_01_name_za by type (quickmix at the bottom) and name from z to a.
    tls_fingerprint = D9980BA2CC0F97BB03822C6211EAEA4A06EEF427
    Hex-encoded SHA1 fingerprint of Pandora's TLS certificate.
    user = your@user.name
    Your pandora.com username.
    volume = 0
    Initial volume correction in dB. Usually between -30 and +5.
    Credit for info above. pianobar(1) - Linux man page
     
  2. jdasikainen macrumors 6502

    jdasikainen

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Location:
    Little Rock AR
    #2
    this is awsome news. il boot up the powerbook and check it out lol thanks for the share.
     
  3. gavinstubbs09 thread starter macrumors 65816

    gavinstubbs09

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Location:
    NorCal boonies ~~~by Reno sorta
    #3
    Thanks! I was stoked when he sent me an email about it, made my PPC macs a bit more useful, rather than being tied to Spotify I can use Pandora without the issues I experience in Safari!
     
  4. Daniël Oosterhuis macrumors 6502a

    Daniël Oosterhuis

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Location:
    On an MR break
    #4
    Tried it on my Graphite 466MHz iBook Clamshell, which runs OS X 10.4.11. Sadly, it does not work.
    This is what I got:
    Code:
    Last login: Thu Jan  1 01:00:48 on console
    Welcome to Darwin!
    /Applications/PianoPPC.app/dist/bin/PianoPPC; exit
    iBook-Clamshell-Graphite:~ mettatonex$ /Applications/PianoPPC.app/dist/bin/PianoPPC; exit
    dyld: Library not loaded: /Applications/PianoPPC.app/dist/lib/libavcodec.57.dylib
      Referenced from: /Applications/PianoPPC.app/dist/bin/pianobar
      Reason: no suitable image found.  Did find:
            /Applications/PianoPPC.app/dist/lib/libavcodec.57.dylib: incompatible cpu-subtype
    /Applications/PianoPPC.app/dist/bin/PianoPPC: line 14:   259 Trace/BPT trap          /Applications/PianoPPC.app/dist/bin/pianobar
    logout
    The "incompatible cpu-subtype" seems to indicate that whatever library it is using for audio, isn't available for G3 machines.
     
  5. gavinstubbs09 thread starter macrumors 65816

    gavinstubbs09

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Location:
    NorCal boonies ~~~by Reno sorta
    #5
    Darn. Bummer it didn't work for you. Tried it last night on my 1.42 iBook G4 running Tiger with no issues, I want to try Tiger and my DA PMG4 but it is not wanting to boot!
     
  6. DanM73 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2016
    #6
    Hello folks, I've just uploaded an update to PianoPPC.
    It should now work on G3 Macs and the config parser is fixed up.

    Thanks for your help testing this out Gavin!

    http://desktopecho.com/pianoppc/

    Regards,
    D.
     
  7. jdasikainen macrumors 6502

    jdasikainen

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Location:
    Little Rock AR
    #7
    fixing to fire up my g4 and give it a shot il report back on how it runs 1.5ghz g4 768mb ram leopard and tiger dualboot its the 05 model
     
  8. DanM73 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2016
    #8
    On an iBook G4 1.33GHz PianoBar burns about 6% to 7% CPU.
    I'd love to find out if the updates I made allow it to run on a G3!
     
  9. Daniël Oosterhuis macrumors 6502a

    Daniël Oosterhuis

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Location:
    On an MR break
    #9
    1.0.1 does successfully launch on my iBook Clamshell now, but I can't test playback yet because I can't find a good, free, USA proxy that works. Still, it now managed to get to the login, so that's progress.
     
  10. DanM73 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2016
    #10
    Hi Daniël - I can send you credentials for a PPTP VPN that you can use to test out PianoPPC, you ok with that?

    Thanks,
    D.
     
  11. Daniël Oosterhuis macrumors 6502a

    Daniël Oosterhuis

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Location:
    On an MR break
    #11
    Sure, I'll check it out ASAP.
    --- Post Merged, Oct 4, 2016 ---
    Can confirm it plays on G3 machines now. Since I don't have much time now, I only played a bit of audio, but it sounded fine as is. I'll do some more testing later, such as looking at how much CPU % it uses, and if it stays nice and stable throughout playing, although I doubt it wouldn't.
     
  12. jdasikainen macrumors 6502

    jdasikainen

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Location:
    Little Rock AR
    #12
    can't wait to hear the results what os u running on the g3
     
  13. Daniël Oosterhuis macrumors 6502a

    Daniël Oosterhuis

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Location:
    On an MR break
    #13
    Alright, after some testing, I do have to conclude that it works fine, as long as you don't do anything else but play Pandora. It sits around at 18% CPU usage during playback if you leave it alone, or only use the Pandora controls. I did notice a bit of a skip every now and then, but that might've been the Activity Manager taking too much CPU cycles away from Pianobar. The problem is when you start doing other stuff. Moving around stuff or using other apps chokes playback. Moving around on the Dock left and right pretty much stops playback completely, with the CPU usage spiking to around 40%. This was on a 466MHz G3, I can imagine older G3 machines will not play nicely.

    PianoPPC does not work on 10.3 or below (just for fun, I tried on another Clamshell which runs 10.3.9, and PianoPPC does not start at all), and 10.5 doesn't run on G3 machines. Guess that leaves little else than 10.4.11 ;)
     
  14. DanM73 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2016
    #14
    That's great news, thanks Daniël for testing it out.
     
  15. AmazingHenry macrumors 65816

    AmazingHenry

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    Location:
    Central Michigan
    #15
    Just makes PowerPC Macs even more useful as music machines! It's really nice to see people still writing programs for PowerPC.
     
  16. hellothere231 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2012
    #16
    Haha, wow; I've never used Pandora or even knew what it did before viewing this thread, but I just decided to look it up. Lo and behold, 30 minutes later, I decided to make an account for my own, and I am loving it right now, especially liking how it recommends songs much better than Spotify did for me.
     
  17. swamprock macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2015
    Location:
    Michigan
    #17
    One little quirk that I noticed is that the Terminal can't be open when launching the app. The app will quit without loading Pandora. Quitting out of Terminal and relaunching PianoPPC fixes the quirk.

    I discovered this after running PPCMC and leaving Terminal open...
     
  18. hellothere231 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2012
    #18
    Oh, got a question; any way I can change the config file so I can use a proxy? Right now I'm using the Location feature from the Network prefpane, and just switching there (one has my normal DNS settings, one has U.S DNS settings but slows down my internet speed).
     

Share This Page