Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

TDF

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Hey all,

I am a musician and content creator with years of video, photo and music content. Some of my Photos Libraries are as big as 450GB and I have multiple others that are around 200GB. I am looking to add a cloud based storage incase I do get a lightning strike or power surge or experience hard drive failure. Currently I am using Time Machine on two separate external drives.

Do any of you have suggestions for the right cloud based archive for me? I've been reading into CrashPlan / Carbonite. Will one of these services work to backup and protect several TB of video / photo / music content? iCloud simply does not have the amount of storage that I require. There has got to be other content creators like me who are using such services to keep all of their content safe.

Thanks for your help

Weaselboy

Staff member
Jan 23, 2005
California
Some of us here are using the app Arq to backup to cloud services. I'm using it to backup to Amazon's S3 servers. Checkout a long thread on Arq and in particular @SteveJobzniak 's posts starting here where he is using Arq with Backblaze B2 service.

Might be a good option for you.

Reactions: SteveJobzniak

HenryAZ

macrumors 6502a
Jan 9, 2010
South Congress AZ
I am scared of clouds, or more specifically their availability when I really need it. I do the old fashioned method of making off site backups. I have a pair of 4TB HGST drives that rotate every month into and out of my safe deposit box. Each one is bootable, a partition that is a clone of my boot drive, and two other partitions have all of my data. More frequent backups and incremental backups are kept on site.

simonsi

Contributor
Jan 3, 2014
Auckland