Boot OSX on a NVMe Card

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by foxfoobar, Apr 15, 2016.

  1. h9826790 macrumors G3

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #26
    For permission issue, you may add "sudo" in front of the command, and enter password if required.
     
  2. krishnaM, Oct 15, 2017
    Last edited: Oct 15, 2017

    krishnaM macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2014
    #27
    "sudo" word helped but still couldn't boot from the ext. HDD

    Terminal events:

    Krishnas-Mac-Pro:~ krishna$ mkdir -p /Volumes/NVMeBoot/System/Library/CoreServices/

    Krishnas-Mac-Pro:~ krishna$ mkdir -p /Volumes/NVMeBoot/Library/Preferences/SystemConfiguration/

    Krishnas-Mac-Pro:~ krishna$ mkdir -p /Volumes/NVMeBoot/System/Library/Caches/com.apple.kext.caches/Startup/

    Krishnas-Mac-Pro:~ krishna$ sudo cp /System/Library/CoreServices/SystemVersion.plist /Volumes/NVMeBoot/System/Library/CoreServices/

    Password:

    Krishnas-Mac-Pro:~ krishna$ sudo cp /System/Library/CoreServices/boot.efi /Volumes/NVMeBoot/System/Library/CoreServices/

    Krishnas-Mac-Pro:~ krishna$ sudo cp /Library/Preferences/SystemConfiguration/com.apple.Boot.plist /Volumes/NVMeBoot/Library/Preferences/SystemConfiguration/

    Krishnas-Mac-Pro:~ krishna$ cp /System/Library/Caches/com.apple.kext.caches/Startup/kernelcache /Volumes/NVMeBoot/System/Library/Caches/com.apple.kext.caches/Startup/

    cp: /System/Library/Caches/com.apple.kext.caches/Startup/kernelcache: No such file or directory

    Krishnas-Mac-Pro:~ krishna$ sudo cp /System/Library/Caches/com.apple.kext.caches/Startup/kernelcache /Volumes/NVMeBoot/System/Library/Caches/com.apple.kext.caches/Startup/

    cp: /System/Library/Caches/com.apple.kext.caches/Startup/kernelcache: No such file or directory

    Krishnas-Mac-Pro:~ krishna$ sudo bless --folder /Volumes/NVMeBoot/ -label NVMeBoot

    Krishnas-Mac-Pro:~ krishna$

    and 'com.apple.Boot.plist' changed to:

    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
    <!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
    <plist version="1.0">
    <dict>
    <key>Kernel Cache</key>
    <string>/System/Library/Caches/com.apple.kext.caches/Startup/kernelcache</string>
    <key>Kernel Flags</key>
    <string>boot-uuid=2CDA1B0E-32B4-31AF-BE06-A3F0F95F1652 rd=*uuid -v</string>
    </dict>
    </plist>


    For the 2nd cp step it says 'no such file or Directory'. I am using Sierra osx, does it matter for Terminal commands?
     
  3. pedrosimao macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2017
    #28
    I don't think it does matter if it is Sierra, because I have copied those files from a High Sierra installation. I actually just verified and I don't have the "kernelcache" file in my system either. But I seemed to have when I created my USB drive.

    Also, are you sure you did chose the right UUID? Try to do "diskutil info /Volumes/nameOfYourInstallDisk". You should use the Volume UUID.

    In any case I am putting my kernel cache file available in this link:
    https://wetransfer.com/downloads/6a83e77d99749257b9ef62a6a8c645e620171015183542/2840249eee65565f906d73293cdea65220171015183542/b307ae
    (from my USD drive, because I don't see to have one in the disk any longer) Hope it will work from you.

    If it doesn't work, try this command before "cp":
    sudo kextcache -i /
     
  4. krishnaM, Oct 15, 2017
    Last edited: Oct 15, 2017

    krishnaM macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2014
    #29
    Thanks for replying. I did exactly as mentioned by op: opened the Disk utility app, selected the partition on which I cloned the osx and pressed cmd+i to get the UUID. It is same when I checked the mac system report when I connect the ext. HDD via usb2 (as the system report doesn't show info about drives connected to usb3 pcie ports)

    "sudo kextcache -i /" didn't help, still getting same response "no such file or Directory"

    How should I use the kernel cache file you sent? Sorry I am no computer expert
     

    Attached Files:

  5. pedrosimao macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2017
    #30
    cp command is like copy and pasting something.
    So just do a:
    cp pathToDownloadedFile /Volumes/NVMeBoot/System/Library/Caches/com.apple.kext.caches/Startup/

    "sudo kextcache -i /" did create a kernelcache file for me... so, it should have worked for you to.
    Please, can you do a:
    cd /System/Library/Caches/com.apple.kext.caches/Startup/
    Than a :
    ls -la

    take a screenshot and send me.
     
  6. krishnaM macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2014
    #31
    here it is:
     
  7. pedrosimao macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2017
    #32
    Well, you do have a kernelcache file now. It happened probably after you did "sudo kextcache -i /"

    So, try to clean the USB drive and do all the procedure described by the OP over again.

    Let me know.
     
  8. krishnaM macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2014
    #33
    Well I tried multiple times including using two more usb sticks and I keep getting same result: no such file or directory. I am going to quit
     
  9. itdk92 macrumors 6502

    itdk92

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2016
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    #34
  10. MIKX macrumors 6502

    MIKX

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Location:
    Japan
    #35
    If this works . .it is a revelation for our cMP's ! I'll give it a try as time allows and report back. Kudos to the OP.
     
  11. DearthnVader macrumors 6502

    DearthnVader

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2015
    Location:
    Red Springs, NC
    #36
    Has anyone tried Clover's NVMExpress.efi to see if it works in a MacPro?

    Assuming rEFIt has a fat driver, you could copy the NVMExpress.efi to your EFI partition, then boot rEFIt and go to the shell. Assuming your EFI partition is mapped to fs0: Then just type:

    fs0:<cr>

    Then:

    load NVMExpress.efi<cr>

    Then:

    devices<cr>

    Use the page up key to see if your nvme drive is present.
     
  12. TheStork macrumors regular

    TheStork

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    #37
    NVMe SSDs are supported natively now in High Sierra. Just get a PCIe adapter card and you're good to go.
     
  13. DearthnVader macrumors 6502

    DearthnVader

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2015
    Location:
    Red Springs, NC
    #38
    But if you want to boot from them, you'll need to use this Redirect Method, or find an nvme efi driver that will work with you Mac's efi implementation.
     
  14. DearthnVader macrumors 6502

    DearthnVader

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2015
    Location:
    Red Springs, NC
    #39
    I think I forgot a step, after issuing the load command, I think you have to issue the "reconnect -r" command to load the new driver on you nvme device.
     
  15. itdk92 macrumors 6502

    itdk92

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2016
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    #40
    So I got it to work. But now in Startup disk I can only see the NVME disk, and if I choose that, I can't reboot. Startup disk can't see the SSD NVMEBoot.

    If I hold ALT, I can select the NVMEBoot SSD I have created.
    Do I have to hold ALT every restart? (= which would make this not an option without an EFI card)
     
  16. owbp macrumors 6502a

    owbp

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    #41
    What happens if you hold Ctrl and then hit Return at boot screen? It should set NVME as startup disk.
    It can be blessed from Terminal too if you know what partition and/or exact file to bless.
     
  17. h9826790 macrumors G3

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #42
    Hopefully the rEFInd / Clover project will have some progress. This is possible to replace the native Apple boot manager, and no more require Apple EFI GPU.
     
  18. itdk92 macrumors 6502

    itdk92

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2016
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    #43
    But do I have to bless before every restarts?

    For now it worked without doing it all the time, but I just need to know in which situations that bless does not work anymore.
     
  19. owbp macrumors 6502a

    owbp

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    #44
    No, after setting startup disk you're good until you reset PRAM or choose another disk as startup (but second one is obvious).

    Edit: also, bless and setting startup disk from terminal didn't work for me with SIP enabled. I was booting into Windows EFI with non flashed card.
    Setting startup disk from boot screen by holding Ctrl should work in any case.
     
  20. DearthnVader, Nov 29, 2017
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2017

    DearthnVader macrumors 6502

    DearthnVader

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2015
    Location:
    Red Springs, NC
    #45
    So you used the NVMExpress driver from Clover, and you were able to boot a NVME SSD on a cMP?

    As was said, you should be able to bless the drive from the terminal, but you'll have to disable SIP to run the command, or at least the part of SIP that protects NVRam. Tho, once you have blessed the drive, you should then be able to re-enable SIP.

    EDIT: Tho, I'm not sure blessing the drive is going to work, because the NVME EFI driver needs to be loaded, first. If you bless the disk, the driver won't be loaded a t boot time.

    I assume you used rEFInd's EFI shell to load the driver in the first place?
     
  21. itdk92 macrumors 6502

    itdk92

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2016
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    #46
    I am on 10.13.1 with a 500GB 960 EVO as a boot drive, with an SSD for the redirect.

    I can't seem to update to 10.13.2?

    It looks like it's updating, but when it boots, it's 10.13.1 again.
    Any clue about what might be the issue?
     
  22. h9826790 macrumors G3

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #47
    Tried the terminal update method?

    A normal update involve rebooting. A redirected boot may disturb the normal upgrade process.
     
  23. itdk92 macrumors 6502

    itdk92

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2016
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    #48
    Will try now, thank you for the suggestion!
     
  24. itdk92 macrumors 6502

    itdk92

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2016
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    #49
    Not working. But it's def the boot redirect that's standing is in the way.

    Atm I do not have another 1Tb ssd, so I am wondering how to solve this
     
  25. owbp macrumors 6502a

    owbp

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia

Share This Page