Boot OSX on a NVMe Card

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by foxfoobar, Apr 15, 2016.

  1. handheldgames macrumors 65816

    handheldgames

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Location:
    Pacific NW, USA
    #51
    IMO... if you must upgrade, a cheap hard disk from your local Frys, BestBuy, MicroCenter, etc. may be your only option.
     
  2. itdk92 macrumors 6502

    itdk92

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2016
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    #52
    Yes, that does not work either

    I have even tried running the full 10.13.2 installer (6GB) from another drive, but still the same result.

    Now I am cloning the whole thing to a harddrive formatted in APFS and then I will install the update on the harddrive, and lastly clone back the whole thing

    Hope that’s not how it will look like for every update! :(
     
  3. itdk92 macrumors 6502

    itdk92

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2016
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    #53
    A little update on this.
    The only thing which worked, was the following procedure:

    • clone the whole drive to another APFS drive
    • remove the SSD used for the redirect (NvmeBoot)
    • boot on the other drive
    • update macOS to 10.13.2
    • clone the whole system back to the NVME drive
    • re-do the whole process for the redirect
    • remove the other drive, and bless NvmeBoot

    I am thinking I will keep a 1TB SSD on a USB3 connection (so that it cannot boot or confuse the boot loader) and have CCC clone the system to it periodically, so it's ready if an update comes along.
     
  4. Detra macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2018
    #54
    Hi.

    Thank you for you post! It's awesome!
    I got it booting except, when it enters the OS, the monitor output turns all red. Everything works, I can type in my password and it boots all the way, but I can't see anything but this. Luckily I can reboot with ctrl+cmd+eject and enter a working OS. Does anyone have any idea why this is happening and how to fix it? I have followed the guide by copy pasting everything to make sure I didn't screw anything up.

    Thank you!
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Mac64 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2018
    #55
    Works for me, just a little black screen (few seconds) with white text before grey boot screen

    Thank you
     
  6. itdk92 macrumors 6502

    itdk92

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2016
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    #56
    A little update.

    Fixed a workaround to update to a new OS, although it’s only possible because of other hardware we have laying around:

    I took the Samsung 960 Pro from the Mac Pro and simply booted from it on my MacBook Pro 2017, while using a TB3 enclosure :)

    Updated to 10.13.3, and then I put it back.
     
  7. zozomester macrumors regular

    zozomester

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Location:
    Hungary
    #57
    Is there a workaround for NVME booting on Mac Pro 5.1? If so, please describe someone....
    Thank!
     
  8. Draeconis macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #58
    I wonder.. if you got a TB3 to TB2 adapter, and a TB to FW800 adapter, and booted the Mac Pro into Target Disk Mode, could you boot the MBP ‘17 from that? That way, you could update the OS quicker, without having to open up anything.
     
  9. armdn macrumors member

    armdn

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    #59
    It is not a booting from NVMe, as it uses USB UHCI data transfer protocol. I have a successful boot from NVMe SSD from PCIe using crafted NVMExpress EFI Driver. Installed macOS High Sierra 10.13.3. Everything was done on Mac Pro 2008 (MacPro3,1).

    [​IMG]
     
  10. itdk92 macrumors 6502

    itdk92

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2016
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    #60
    Doesn't work unfortunately
     
  11. Fry-man22 macrumors 6502

    Fry-man22

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    #61
    That's literally the process that's being outlined in the first post...
     
  12. saulinpa, Mar 15, 2018
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2018

    saulinpa macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    #62
    Probably should change name of thread and make it a sticky. Something like Boot macOS from NVMe SSD on cMP using USB2 thumbdrive bootstrap.
     
  13. Fry-man22 macrumors 6502

    Fry-man22

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    #63
    Wow - you are the man. I really like this since I don't have to mess with a different boot manager to load the driver.

    I still have concerns that the OS updates will not go well, but we will burn that bridge when we get there...

    Just to clarify for anyone wondering, this can be done on literally any disk. I just created a tiny partition on one of the 3.5" drives and dropped everything there.

    I also ran a slightly different command to bless the drive. I used MOUNT instead of folder and set it as the startup disk:

    sudo bless --mount "/Volumes/NVMeBoot/" --setboot

    Great tip. Deserves a sticky for all cMP users.
     
  14. wingyiulam macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2018
    #64
    Hello, is it possible to use this method booting from pci-e on cmp? cmp doesn't have nvme driver in its firmware; nvme won't be recognized until login to high Sierra.


     
  15. Fry-man22 macrumors 6502

    Fry-man22

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    #65
    LOL - holy crap, are you people reading a different first post than I am? It is literally telling you that this is what it’s for and how to do it.

    If you can’t understand that, then maybe you shouldn’t mess with how your system boots. This is going to make it difficult to install updates and it may leave you with boot difficulties you have to think through. If you already have questions, just buy a Samsung sm951 and call it a day.
     
  16. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #66
    More precise, SM951 AHCI.
     
  17. ezylstra macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2017
    #67
    Not exactly the same, but close...

    You can create a Fusion drive with non-bootable devices and it will be bootable. For example, on a cMP and High Sierra, an NVMe PCIe SSD and a RAID 0 of spinning disks. You can create a Fusion drive with the SSD and RAID and it is bootable.
     
  18. MisterAndrew macrumors 65816

    MisterAndrew

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    #68
    I know the cMP 5,1 doesn't support booting an NVMe SSD, but what about a genuine Apple SSPOLARIS NVMe SSD? Does that not work either?
     
  19. ezylstra macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2017
    #69
    Nope. Firmware lacks NVMe code. High Sierra has the ability to access NVMe, but booting requires Firmware implementation.
     
  20. MisterAndrew macrumors 65816

    MisterAndrew

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    #70
    Okay thanks. Has anyone verified that with the newest firmware yet? I didn't see anyone mention that in the new firmware thread. But I guess it's unlikely that Apple would enable NVMe support for a machine that never came with a blade SSD and therefore lacks a connector for those cards.
     
  21. ezylstra macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2017
    #71
    You’ve just described the USB redirect method. It does work, but is pretty involved and requires maintenance after OS updates (I think).
     
  22. abdyfranco macrumors regular

    abdyfranco

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2017
    #72
    The best method I have used and it works best is to create a Fusion Drive with a SATA SSD, and a NVMe SSD. It requires no maintenance and the OS can be upgraded without problems.
     
  23. ezylstra macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2017
    #73
    That is the method I mentioned. What I see, though, is a belief that you have to use AHCI blades and have no other options. I think the fusion drive method, with some complexity with terminal commands, is very much doable.
     
  24. eksu macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2017
    #74
    That’s pretty clever. Any concerns that OS and other ‘hot’ files are cached on the SATA drive, which would most likely be slower than NVMe?

    What are the performance characteristics of this kind of set up?
     
  25. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #75
    It's been tested, the OS know which SSD is faster and will use the faster drive correctly.

    In fact, if you pair a 2TB NVMe to a 120GB SATA SSD. I think we can pretty much ignore the effect of the SATA SSD.
     

Share This Page