cpu upgrade fail single x5675 mac pro 2009 updated 5.1

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by bobitavu, Jun 6, 2019.

  1. bobitavu macrumors newbie

    bobitavu

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2019
    Location:
    Lyon , France
    #1
    Hi, sorry for the double post, maybe some readers will only get it here
    Hi everyone, new to this forum.
    Mac pro 2009 mono cpu (stock mono 2,66) updated to 5.1, high sierra with bootrom MP51.0089.B00 BootROM
    CPU update fail !! Trying to install a x5675 bought on ebay
    After cpu change and new thermal paste, at first boot I had a apple logo + progress bar stuck at 75%.
    Did a pram and smc resest (several times, event 10 times pram reset) no success.
    verbose mode says "unsupported cpu unsupported pch"
    Tried to boot with latest sysrescuecd linux live, gave me a kernel panic at boot with cpu blabla problem
    No red light in the cpu tray board
    Pictures for the verbose mode
    Strange thing : after the FIRST pram reset the verbose told about the cpu family, model number and speed, never after that.
    Any clue ?
    IMG_0018.jpg IMG_0020.jpg
     
  2. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #2
    Try updating the bootrom to latest version with full Mavericks installer (no need to actually install the OS) with the old CPU installed.
     
  3. bobitavu thread starter macrumors newbie

    bobitavu

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2019
    Location:
    Lyon , France
    #3
    which bootrom version ? a 140 or newer ? I thougt those bootrom were only with mojave installer
    --- Post Merged, Jun 6, 2019 ---
    pics of the x5675 and the w3520 original
    x5675.jpg w3520.jpg w3520-back.jpg x5675-back.jpg
     
  4. tsialex macrumors 601

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #4
    Mavericks? Apple started to send BootROM updates for MP5,1 with High Sierra.

    It's not BootROM related anyway, all MP5,1 BootROMs have full X5670 support.
     
  5. Nabru50 macrumors newbie

    Nabru50

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2017
    Location:
    United States
    #5
    I'd try re-seating your RAM, maybe it got knocked when you did the CPU swap. The RAM in mine can be pretty touchy.
    I have the same MP and CPU as you, and my X5675 swap worked with no problem. Is it possible to have a bad CPU with no diagnostic LED lit?
     
  6. Macschrauber macrumors 6502

    Macschrauber

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Location:
    Germany
    #6
    I get pensive when I see people touching processors with bare fingers.

    Clean the underside with alcohol like isopropyl and reseat the processor.

    Finger grease would make contacts worse. Most of the time when ram is not recognised it leads to bad contacts of the Xeon.
     
  7. h9826790 macrumors G5

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #7
    Put the W3520 back in. Make sure the cMP still ops normal. (Rule out other hardware failure / damage)

    If OK, clean the X5675 and try again.

    If still fail, contact seller ask for replacement. (In fact, you should call him now to alert him possible require CPU replacement / refund.
     
  8. bobitavu thread starter macrumors newbie

    bobitavu

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2019
    Location:
    Lyon , France
    #8
    this is what I did , still waiting for an answer of the ebay seller ... who told me to wash with alcool ( I did it three times) And I gripped the cpu only by his thin sides of course ...
     

Share This Page

7 June 6, 2019