macOS 10.14 Mojave on Unsupported Macs Thread

Discussion in 'macOS Mojave (10.14)' started by dosdude1, Jun 4, 2018.

Thread Status:
The first post in this thread is a WikiPost, and can be edited by anyone with the appropriate permissions.
  1. olad, Feb 9, 2019
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2019

    olad macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    #11976
    Your MBP4,1 - is it on an SSD/APFS or just HFS+? Because I can't do the patch on an HFS+ drive. I am waiting for a 250/500Gb SSD. Got me 6 Gb total memory now, but it took a while to get the 4 Gb RAM where I am.
     
  2. L Caputo macrumors 6502

    L Caputo

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2015
    #11977
    I gave full instructions on how to modify the Distribution file just a few posts ago, page 479 #11956.
     
  3. Loyd-01a macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    #11978
    Hello,

    Very interessing for me. Do you have a tutorial vidéo ?
    Thank you
     
  4. dosdude1 thread starter macrumors 68000

    dosdude1

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    #11979
    It's a very complicated process, but I did make a video about it here:
     
  5. Loyd-01a macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    #11980
    Very impressive !! good work

    PS : Where did you got the processor ?
     
  6. olad, Feb 9, 2019
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2019

    olad macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    #11981
    ah! thanks. tired eyes no excuse. will apply the instructions ASAP.

    P.S. It worked perfectly. Much obliged.
     
  7. magero macrumors newbie

    magero

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2019
    #11982
    Hi everyone, i have this MacPro (attachment), i try install Mojave on this, install process go fine, but by booting everytime stops about 75 %, i have try everything (different USB, different disk, different install package, different disk format), i lost my hope almost, have you any ideas what is wrong? Thanks all for ideas macpro.jpg
     
  8. Julian Marius Fairfax macrumors 6502a

    Julian Marius Fairfax

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2018
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #11983
    Would this significantly improve performance? Would this improve graphical performance?
     
  9. krumbs macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    #11984
    Managed to install the Supplemental update 10.14.3 on my mid-2009 MBP. What finally worked for me was editing the Distribution file (I used TextWrangler), removing the mention of Macbook Pro 5,5 (the model number of my MBP) from the installation blocked list, adding in the board id (there is a Terminal command to find this id) and then finally putting return=true to the line where hfs+ is mentioned.
     
  10. LuisN macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Location:
    Torres Vedras, Portugal
    #11985
    ...or you can try my method:
    IMG_0221.jpg
     
  11. Flacko macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2018
    Location:
    UK
    #11986
    Hi magero, have you tried rebooting with the dosdude1 usb and used the macOS post install to apply the patches. Suggest you also use “force cache rebuild”. As you are using a GTX660 make sure you have not applied the legacy video drivers. Some members have reported problems with the 660 - see https://forums.macrumors.com/thread...ed-macs-thread.2121473/page-242#post-26383077
    However, others have found it works ok. Has your 660 got a Mac efi so you get the full boot screen on start up? If not and you are using another video card such as the GT120 for the boot screen then take out the GT120 once you have installed and patched the Mojave drive and try booting up without the GT120.
     
  12. magero macrumors newbie

    magero

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2019
    #11987
    Yes i have apply the post install patch also with force cache rebuild, still the same crap for me :(
    Second: Nope, with GTX660 i haven't the EFI boot screen, i use the original graphic card (ATI Radeon) delivered with the MacPro for install purposes.
    But thx. i will read that thread that you suggested.
     
  13. Flacko macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2018
    Location:
    UK
    #11988
    Right, it sounds like you have applied dosdude1's installer correctly. If you have time try this just to see how the Mac Pro does. We know it is quite capable of running Mojave. Take out the 660 and just use the ATI Radeon HD 2600 XT. The card does work in Mojave but use the legacy video patch to get the best out of the card. See if this gives you a working copy of Mojave. If this works then the problem may lie with the 660 card. Mojave is known to be a little fussy over some cards especially those without a Mac efi. Even then the odd video output may not work especially those with any vga type adapters.
     
  14. Frenchtouch macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2018
    #11989
    My Macpro early 2008 is still under 10.14.1. No update detected. Is this normal?
     
  15. Flacko macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2018
    Location:
    UK
    #11990
    It will be normal if you are using an HFS+ disc. You will only get updates in preferences if your disc is APFS. If using HFS+ then use dosdude1’s latest installer to download Mojave and make a new usb. Boot from this and you should be ok to install over the top of your present installation. Backup first! Also repatch using the post install tools.
     
  16. Frenchtouch macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2018
    #11991
    Thank you! That is right. My Dosdude1's Mojave USB drive is also under HFS+. Do I need to make a new one and reformat this USB drive under APFS?
     
  17. Flacko macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2018
    Location:
    UK
    #11992
    No, leave the usb disc as HFS+. Just make a new one using the latest Mojave and dosdude1 installer. If your macpro has an ssd then you may consider changing over to APFS for this disc. Otherwise leave it as it is.
     
  18. Frenchtouch macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2018
    #11993
    Thank you. Yes I have an SSD. So your are telling me I can change HFS+ to APFS and reinstall Mojave on my previous install without the need to initialise the SSD disk?
     
  19. alphascorp, Feb 10, 2019 at 7:43 AM
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2019 at 2:32 AM

    alphascorp macrumors member

    alphascorp

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2018
    Location:
    Brest, France
    #11994
    Hi Olad,
    there is no point in looking for "Show Package Content" in order to open it, you must use the terminal, to by pass the verification of the mac model and the installed OS follow the explanations of Badruzeus #11939 or L Caputo #11956. Thanks to them

    but if you want, you can follow this more detailed procedure

    Move "macOSUpd10.14.3Supplemental.pkg" file to the desktop
    Open Terminal and writes this:

    cd ~/Desktop

    Press enter

    pkgutil --expand macOSUpd10.14.3Supplemental.pkg NewFolder

    Press enter

    Wait a few minutes
    Go to the "NewFolder" folder created on your desktop and open the "Distribution" file with a text editor

    Add: return true;
    at the end of this line: function InstallationCheck(prefix) {

    Like this:
    function InstallationCheck(prefix) {return true;

    Add: return true;
    at the end of this line: function VolumeCheck(prefix) {


    Like this: function VolumeCheck(prefix) {return true;

    Save the file

    If you have not closed the terminal, write or simply copy this:


    pkgutil --flatten NewFolder macOSUpd10.14.3SupplementalModified.pkg

    Press enter and wait a few minutes for the package to re-create
    Once the operation is completed, launch the file "macOSUpd10.14.3SupplementalModified.pkg"

    But if you closed the terminal, re-open it and writes this:


    cd ~/Desktop

    Press enter

    pkgutil --flatten NewFolder macOSUpd10.14.3SupplementalModified.pkg

    Press enter and wait a few minutes for the package to re-create
    Once the operation is completed, launch the file "macOSUpd10.14.3SupplementalModified.pkg"



    Be careful if you have several OS on more disks/partitions in your mac because these modifications make it possible to install this update on any OS disk/partition.
    AT THE BEGINNING OF THE INSTALLATION BE CAREFUL TO CHOOSE THE DISK/PARTITION OF MOJAVE AND NO OTHER.
     
  20. hvds, Feb 10, 2019 at 8:36 AM
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2019 at 8:45 AM

    hvds macrumors newbie

    hvds

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2017
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #11995
    MBP5,2 mid 2009, 17", SSD with APFS, APFS ROM patch applied:
    Supplemental Update 10.14.3 (18D109) installed flawlessly over 10.14.3 which was installed OTA over 10.14.2 (this was downloaded and installed with dosdude's patcher version 1.2.3).
    I did reinstall all installed patches (which don't include the APFS software patch) with Patch Updater.app for completeness though the machine booted fine and there were no signs of anything wrong.

    [Regarding hardware I replaced capacitor C7771 in December when the machine had developed spontaneous shutdowns. Dosdude had hinted that C7771 is the very likely culprit, and in fact it was. I used his video here: and this description to remove the logic board: https://de.ifixit.com/Anleitung/MacBook+Pro+17-Inch+Unibody+Logic+Board+Replacement/3447. My physicist's bricolage with two wires between the pads and the replacement cap (tantal 330microfarad, 2.5V) seems good enough.
    During this repair I must have hurt a component of the one-wire circuit: the voltage comparator U6915 (an LM397) with the symptom of dim green light on the Magsafe connector and very slow charging. Identified the problem with the help of Louis Rossmann's video here: and a voltmeter, replaced the LM397.]

    My MBP5,2 is again a reliably workhorse, software and hardware wise. Thanks dosdude and Louis Rossmann!

    P1030429.jpg
     
  21. ExiledPoacher macrumors newbie

    ExiledPoacher

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2019
    Location:
    Northumberland, UK
    #11996
    Just updated my 2009 White MacBook to the latest Mojave from El Capitan and it works exactly as you stated in the documentation. I thought it might run slower but if anything it seems a tad quicker - I did a clean install by the way. Keep up the good work and thank you,
     
  22. saudor macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    #11997
    Gtx 660 is broken since high Sierra. Same with the 650 ti and 660 ti
     
  23. Pralaya macrumors newbie

    Pralaya

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2019
    #11998
    @alphascorp:
    So I followed your receipt: CapturFiles.jpg

    But it didn't work here on iMac11,1 .
    Did I something wrong?
     
  24. L Caputo macrumors 6502

    L Caputo

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2015
    #11999
    Well done for relating stuff that has already been mentioned and just changing a few words, Olad has already mentioned that he has successfully installed the supplemental after I directed him to my previous instructions.
    --- Post Merged, Feb 10, 2019 at 9:12 AM ---
    Try again and follow my instructions, as mentioned earlier.
     
  25. Pralaya, Feb 10, 2019 at 9:59 AM
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2019 at 4:33 AM

    Pralaya macrumors newbie

    Pralaya

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2019
    #12000
    HEY MAN, THIS WORKED!:)
    Yes, it was the insufficient description, where to position this "{return true;" - thing exactly!

    Ten letters and two special characters can change the reality...
    Thanks a lot.
     
Thread Status:
The first post in this thread is a WikiPost, and can be edited by anyone with the appropriate permissions.

Share This Page