macOS 10.14 Mojave on Unsupported Macs Thread

Discussion in 'macOS Mojave (10.14)' started by dosdude1, Jun 4, 2018.

Thread Status:
The first post in this thread is a WikiPost, and can be edited by anyone with the appropriate permissions.
  1. magero macrumors newbie

    magero

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2019
    #12001
    Hi, what do you mean "broken?", i run on High Sierra this time and it seems that GTX 660 run OK.
     
  2. DangerIsGo, Feb 10, 2019
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2019

    DangerIsGo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    #12002
    I have a mac mini 2009, macmini3,1, and trying to get this installed. I have created the bootable USB flash drive with my 2015 mac pro (already on mojave) twice. Both times, I have selected the USB device and both times I see the apple logo with the progress bar but nothing is shown in the progress bar. After about 15-20 minutes, the screen goes black and nothing I do will bring the screen back. What should I do?
    EDIT: I have a 16GB flash drive and am connected via LAN, not WiFi.
    EDIT2: https://gyazo.com/aad4f990a7616085fcf64181ec5007da <- this is where it gets stuck
    EDIT3: I am now using the HS installer and that seems to be working.
     
  3. jackluke macrumors 6502a

    jackluke

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2018
    #12003
    Want to share a bizarre case/experiment, I had an unused MBP (No APFS support) with Mojave GM 10.14.0 HFS+ previously installed and manually patched, then I noticed today that apple released (3 days ago) the full 10.14.3 combo update 18D109 here: https://support.apple.com/kb/DL1992

    So I have manually patched the "Distribution" following the recently tips posted here (but initially well instructed by @ASentientBot) and I have done an in-place HFS+ combo update, everything went fine unless I couldn't open many core apps stucking with an high % cpu and ram saturation over the process "Reportcrash", I'ven't figured it out to solve it, so I decided to attempt this:

    I had a full 10.14.2 installer on a thumb drive, so I decided to replace/overwrite (normally re-installing over the same drive while booting from the usb) the main (broken) 10.14.3 with a clean 10.14.2 and even with many errors inside the installation log (CMD+L) with my big surprise all user settings/apps have been correctly migrated w/o TimeMachine, the "downgrade" has succeeded and previous issues gone.
     
  4. saudor macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    #12004
    It artifacts with boxes and random pixellations. For the lucky few, it seemed to be fine however for some odd reason

    Also, this is the GTX 660 as in.. the desktop version of the card.. not the mobile variant.
     
  5. bmue5, Feb 10, 2019
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2019

    bmue5 macrumors newbie

    bmue5

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2016
    Location:
    Germany
    #12005
    Thanks to you dosdude I have a current Mojave with APFS bootdisk on my old Mac Pro 3.1. Great. So I have time to wait for a worthy successor for the big old cheese grater.
    The apfs patch was a bit tricky - I don't know why, I have to try it several times, after loading kext extensions the patch ended. But without doing something different it works sudden...
    Then I convert the disk with "diskutil apfs convert" on the terminal. Last I have to update Mojave from usb again so apfs Preboot partition is installed correctly.
    --- Post Merged, Feb 10, 2019 ---
    Was it previously a FAT32 / MBR USB Stick? You have to change the partition not only from FAT32 to journaled but also from MBR to GUID to install Mojave Patcher
     
  6. Badruzeus macrumors regular

    Badruzeus

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2018
    Location:
    Indonesia
    #12006
    @jackluke Any progress running 10.14.4 Beta on IntelHD Arrandale, 3000 or NVDA Tesla? -_-
    I just restored back to 10.14.3 bcoz having no more idea to reach desktop with AppleIntelHDGraphics* loaded.

    Anyway, what's different between @dosdude1's IOAccelerator* compared to those from vanilla (OS pre-installed)? I'm currently using IOAccelerator* that come from 10.14.3 (default) and it seems no difference #CMIIW. I could be wrong for sure, are those special patched versions? Thanks.
     
  7. jackluke, Feb 11, 2019
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2019

    jackluke macrumors 6502a

    jackluke

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2018
    #12007
    Nope, I haven't focused on that, lets wait the final release to draw conclusions, I guess dosdude1 patched the IOAccelerator to support the legacy ATI/AMD on mojave, and I remember he patched too the IntelHD3000 HighSierra kexts, while you suggested to use 10.12.x kexts, then I have a stupid idea, why don't you try to re-use the IntelHD3000 10.12.6 kexts to pass the "ioconsoleusers gioscreenlockstate", and could someone try to use the stock unpatched Nvidia Tesla kexts ? I know ASentientBot's fix is primary but who knows maybe on 10.14.4 libraries changed and new behavior occurs.

    At least we have a full working 10.14.3 with OpenGL and after my previous test I guess almost anyone can downgrade from 10.14.4 to 10.14.3 without losing user settings/apps and w/o TimeMachine.
     
  8. StuBFrost macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2016
    Location:
    Manchester, England
    #12008
    Apologies if I've missed this but will the Hybrid Mode patch be update for 10.14.3 ? The last update was for 10.14.2 back in December.
     
  9. Flacko macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2018
    Location:
    UK
    #12009
    You have several options depending on how confident you are and if you can afford not to have the Mac Pro incase anything goes wrong!
    1. The simplest option is to use a new usb made by the patcher (version 1.2.3) and Mojave 10.14.3 (download from tools in the patcher). Use this to install Mojave over the top of your existing Mojave 10.14.1. You will still be using HFS+ but in the real world you will probably not notice any difference between this and using APFS.
    2. If you want to go APFS then there’re many different ways of doing this. Here are a couple for you. First do you want the Mac Pro to to have APFS in the boot ROM? If so you will need to use dosdude1’s APFS ROM patcher tool. Most people with mp3.1 have been successful with this but there is a possibility that if it goes wrong you will have bricked your machine. If that sounds too risky then you can use the APFS patch in the macOS post install utility. Using this method you will have some text scrolling on the screen during start-up but otherwise you probably will not notice anything else.
    3. If you decide on APFS then follow dosdude1’s instruction for the patcher. You will erase the SSD and reformat it as APFS. You will lose your data doing this (but see later how to get it back). You will now have a clean APFS disc that you can install Mojave on. Once patched you should be able to boot up in Mojave from the SSD in APFS. You can then use the migration assistant (in utilities) to get back your data and apps onto this disc. You will have to have an up to date time machine or what I do is have a clone of my system on another disc. One great thing about the Mac Pro is the number of hard disc bays you have. I use Carbon Copy Cloner to do this and have a backup clone (on a cheap spinning disc) ready to boot into if things go wrong.
    4. If you have Carbon Copy Cloner then another way is to make clone of the disc you made in 1. This is Mojave 10.14.3 on HFS+. Boot with this clone and then use disk utility to erase the ssd and format as APFS. Then use Carbon Copy Cloner to copy back your clone to the ssd. You will now have 10.14.3 on the SSD formatted as APFS with all your apps and data.
     
  10. drbrazil macrumors newbie

    drbrazil

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2019
    Location:
    Brazil
    #12010
    I'm having trouble following this tutorial.

    When i start boot USB for install Majave, the error '' No Entry '', '' Prohibion Sign '' appears ...

    I already tried mojave, high sierra and sierra, all unsuccessful.

    I've tried several alternatives, what can I be wrong?

    p.s: I'll be testing others pen drivers, which format is of correct?

    p.s²: My disc is ''hdd fujitsu 160gb drive sata 5400 rpm''

    p.s ³: My macbook, Late 2008 Aluminum / Macbook 5,1 - A1278


    thanks in advance
     
  11. Badruzeus, Feb 11, 2019
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2019

    Badruzeus macrumors regular

    Badruzeus

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2018
    Location:
    Indonesia
    #12011
    Well, on my case with IntelHD 1st Gen. gfx (Arrandale); kexts from 10.11.x upto 10.13.x have been used.. all (seem) refused by 10.14.4 Beta 1-2 kernel. I realized that since this build; 3rd party apps (non-trusted) also blocked by GateKeeper although I previously (b4 update) disabled it with $ sudo spctl --master-disable //so I need to re-run the command to get them "trusted / Allowed from Anywhere under Security & Privacy".

    What the point? Looks like (assummed) AAPL have updated their security rules (could be related to SIP/CSR) that prevent unsigned kext, framework, libraries. etc.. to be loaded on new kernel (?). As comparison, my Fermi (NVDAGF*) comes with all those signed stuffs (vanilla / untouched from System), and OpenGL is working fine though it' s not Metal capable GPU. I think @Czo has a clue about it, or probably SUVMMFaker need an update?

    #EDIT: I meant, "SIPManager.kext" not SUVMMFaker.
     
  12. Pralaya macrumors newbie

    Pralaya

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2019
    #12012
    Now, after your edited your post, it is clearer where to put the "{return true;".
    Thanks!
     
  13. ASentientBot, Feb 11, 2019
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2019

    ASentientBot macrumors 6502

    ASentientBot

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2018
    Location:
    the System suitcase
    #12013
    I noticed a lot of extra boot messages about entitlements compared to 10.14.3. "Forcing CS_RUNTIME for entitlement..." Perhaps this is related?

    Edit: On further thought, I don't think this is the root cause. My modified GeForceTesla.kext still loads, after all. This issue is specifically OpenGL related, not related to all modified kexts in general. Perhaps they have tightened security on third-party apps though.
     
  14. Czo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Location:
    Debrecen, Hungary
    #12014
    I don't use it. The changes that are required to bring back OpenGL is to much for me, so i replaced my old MPB with a brand new 2018 13" and waiting for the new iMac to replace my old iMac. If a perferctly working (working backlight, working windows, working dual thunderbolt/minidp output and working boot screen) GPU upgrade come before any new iMac will be released, maybe i thinking about to buy that upgade, but currently, i am waiting for the new iMac to come out.
     
  15. Badruzeus macrumors regular

    Badruzeus

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2018
    Location:
    Indonesia
    #12015
    Sorry, my bad.. I meant "SIPManager.kext" not SUVMMFaker.
     
  16. k-yo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2018
    #12016
    I’m interested in doing this on my MacPro3,1 as booting from a stick requires putting back the GT120 gpu card (I’m happily running a non-flashed MSI Hawk GTX760 with black boot screen). Last time it was a bit tricky getting the GTX760 detected again afterwards and seemed a bit sensitive to the slot and order of the cards.

    So hoping that updates through App Store would drop in without having to access the USB bootdrive - if that is what going the APFS route could provide.

    I guess converting from HFS+ to APFS is still an option (booting from another drive) without erasing the SSD? Then patching afterwards? If it only costs losing the space now partitioned to recovery drive. I may have misunderstood this.
     
  17. ASentientBot, Feb 11, 2019
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2019

    ASentientBot macrumors 6502

    ASentientBot

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2018
    Location:
    the System suitcase
    #12017
    That machine doesn't natively support APFS so you'll have to use either the Boot ROM patch (see the wikipost) or the APFS startup script (included in the patcher app if I remember correctly). Only the firmware patch will enable the recovery partition to work, but it can brick your machine in rare cases -- it writes to a ROM chip on the motherboard. The other option just installs to your hard drive but it causes a delay and some scrolling text in the early boot process.

    I would suggest that alternative is to simply select boot volumes in Startup Disk (available both in System Preferences and on the USB installer). In my experience, HFS+ has had slightly better stability and performance on old hardware, but that could just be me. I'm sticking with it for now anyways.

    Edit: This is amazing. No clue what caused it really, but it went back to normal after a reboot. I love it! Screen Shot 2019-02-11 at 3.57.57 PM.png
     
  18. tchek, Feb 12, 2019
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2019

    tchek macrumors member

    tchek

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Location:
    Paris - France
    #12018
  19. Flacko macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2018
    Location:
    UK
    #12019
    Well done for getting the GTX760 to work. Mojave sometimes does not seem to like having the GT120 and a Nvidia Kepler card in the machine at the same time. Most people get it to work after removing the GT120 once they have used it for the boot screen. Ideally, a card with the Mac efi is the ideal solution but they have become quite popular now and therefore more expensive.

    As for using the system updates in preferences to avoid having to use the boot screen and usb - you may be lucky at times. It really depends on what files the update overwrites. If they are part of the patch then you will normally need to patch after the update. Some times this will need a boot from the usb installer as Mojave will not boot until patched. But on occasions, if you are lucky, Mojave will boot after an OTA update and can then be patched using Patch Updater in utilities. For example, I was able to update from 14.2 to 14.3 without using the USB installer. So sometimes you will be ok but on occasions you will have to put the GT120 in and use the usb installer.

    You can convert a HFS+ drive to APFS using disk utility. This should convert your drive without any loss of data but back up first! You will need to boot from the usb and then use the disk utility to unmount the drive you want to convert. If you then right click on the unmounted drive you will find the option to convert to APFS. I suggest this as your recovery partition probably will not work. If it does then you can use the recovery partition instead of the usb installer. If you have another drive on the mp3.1 with Mojave (like I have a clone for backup) then you can use this to boot then use disk utility as outlined. As a personal preference, when Mojave first came out, I like to do a clean install by reformatting the drive and then migrating data back. I outlined this in my previous post.

    If you do go APFS then do not forget to apply the APFS patch. This will normally select itself if the drive is APFS but double check. Start up will involve some scrolling text and is a little bit longer. To avoid this dosdude1's ROM patcher tool can be used but as has been said can brick your machine if it goes wrong.
     
  20. jackluke macrumors 6502a

    jackluke

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2018
    #12020
    Re-attempted the combo update in place HFS+ 10.14.3 , but I don't know maybe on my machines those tips with "return true;" to allow an HFS+ Mojave updating doesn't work properly, I mean update itself completes, system apparently workds but on verbose boot I get many "EXC_RESOURCE" resulting in GUI Mode many core apps ReportCrash with high % cpu and full RAM saturation.

    And I confirm what @flygbuss reported a while ago, starting from 10.14.3 (10.14.4 beta included) the main Mojave update on supported mac issues an important "EFI chip firmware upgrade" presenting with the "big progress bar", while fast-blinking white led (bottom-right) and very slowly in completing, so I advise everyone to be careful when handling with these stuffs.
     
  21. 16v macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2018
    #12021
    OT Question:
    Is it possible to use my ssd with mojave from my mid 2009 mbp with an other mbp?
    Without loosing data or anything else?
    Just swap disk and see if the other book is working?
     
  22. flygbuss macrumors 6502

    flygbuss

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2018
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    #12022
    If that MBP is equipped with a SATA connector, sure.
    I do it all the time, that's something I like about macOS.
    I remember booting my bootcamp partion for the first time after I upgraded my logicboard from 2011 to 2012 version.
    Oh boy..
    If this is your main machine I do recommend you backup the drive first.
    Start the 'old' MBP in target mode.
    Connect it via Thunderbolt to your 'new' MBP.
    Start the 'new' MBP with holding down the 'opt' key.
    Select the connected drive / MBP as startup disk.
    This way you can easily verify if everything works as it should. If so, swap the SSD from the 'old' book to your 'new' one.
    After booting from the exchanged SSD for the first time, go to System Preferences, Startup Disk and select the new drive.
    This way your 'new' MBP will know it's new macOS drive and it will improve boot speed.
    Sometimes it can be a good thing to reinstall macOS on the 'new' machine.

    Oh, if it's another unsupported machine, make sure you reapply the patches matching the new machine.
     
  23. jackluke macrumors 6502a

    jackluke

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2018
    #12023
    Agree, only thing I guess all macs pre-2010 don't have Thunderbolt but at most Firewire port, but it's almost the same method, just getting first a Firewire cable 400-400, 800-800 or 400-800 depending on Firewire port revision, otherwise swapping directly the SATA drive on logicboard will work too, with a little variation on prelinkedkernel auto-rebuilt by the machine.
     
  24. flygbuss macrumors 6502

    flygbuss

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2018
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    #12024
    That's true. Did not think about that, sorry. But like you said, Firewire target mode should also work.
     
  25. Badruzeus macrumors regular

    Badruzeus

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2018
    Location:
    Indonesia
    #12025
    Honestly, I got similar issue even on non-real mac. If you take a look here probably you know what APPL have done with "EFI Firmware" since 18D109 or 18Exxx. #CMIIW
     
Thread Status:
The first post in this thread is a WikiPost, and can be edited by anyone with the appropriate permissions.

Share This Page