macOS 10.14 Mojave on Unsupported Macs Thread

Discussion in 'macOS Mojave (10.14)' started by dosdude1, Jun 4, 2018.

Thread Status:
The first post in this thread is a WikiPost, and can be edited by anyone with the appropriate permissions.
  1. BoboBobo2 macrumors newbie

    BoboBobo2

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2019
    #12351
    Does anyone know if there is a way to remove the legacy graphics patch? I was using my stock Mac Pro 3,1 ATI 2600 card, but now want to switch to one of my Kepler NIVIDIAs, but I believe that patch is causing issues.

    So far I booted to the USB installer and reinstalled the patches, minus the legacy graphics patch, and also tried reinstalling Mojave over my existing install and reapplying patches, but my stock card is still accelerated and the patch updater lists the legacy patch as being installed.

    I'd prefer not to do a scratch install, so I was hoping there was a way to remove that patch. Thanks!
     
  2. TimothyR734 macrumors 65816

    TimothyR734

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2018
    Location:
    Logsden Oregon
  3. jhowarth macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2017
    #12353
    You have to do a full reinstall in order to purge out the Mojave patcher patches currently installed. Also, if you have a Mac version of the Nvidia card, you might as well pull the ATI 2600 out to simplify your configuration.
     
  4. BoboBobo2 macrumors newbie

    BoboBobo2

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2019
    #12354
    Thanks! I ended up doing a reinstall and migration, which is really pretty painless. I removed the ATI, and am now running a GT 710 with metal. It's not a fast GPU, but it works!

    I did try a 660 I had laying around, and it worked but had glitches when rendering 3D. I've read that's an issue with the 660.

    One thing I noticed both with the 660 and 710 was weirdness with things like drop down menus until I turned on "reduce transparency." I usually do that anyway, but it's something to note.
     
  5. pioneer200569, Feb 28, 2019
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2019

    pioneer200569 macrumors newbie

    pioneer200569

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2015
    Location:
    Kissimmee Fl.
    #12355
    Need help with my 2010 iMac with ati Radeon hd 5750 what can i replace it with or will it work the Mojave or will amd radeon hd 6970m 2gb work
     
  6. jackluke macrumors 65816

    jackluke

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2018
    #12356
    You have two paths to fix that:
    - deleting the GPU Acceleration kext (so it will work but only with Framebuffer usable but slow), but you should type here what machine or GPU do you have;
    or re-installing from a USB Mojave Installer over you current drive with 10.14.4 PB3 a previous Mojave version like 10.14.3 or 10.14.2 , the downgrade is doable, it works and you will not lose your personal datas.

    I'd say that "downgrade" as I call it, is faster than a TimeMachine.
     
  7. kinetos, Mar 1, 2019
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2019

    kinetos macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2015
    #12357
    Hello I've a MacBook Pro (8,2) 2011 with Intel HD 3000 and AMD Radeon HD 6490M.
    I've installed Mojave 10.14.3 with Dosdude1 patch but my thunderbolt (firmware 1.2.1) bolt won't work. On my MacBook Pro (8,1) 2011 with Intel HD 3000, the thunderbolt work fine (firmware 2.1.3)
    Have you an idea to solve that?
     
  8. Czo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Location:
    Debrecen, Hungary
    #12358
    Which device is not working? On the 2011 series 15" and 17" models, deditaced AMD GPU's will be disabled under Mojave and because dGPU drives the display port connectors, no external displays will be connectable to that machine. Standard Thunderbolt devices (like SATA controllers, PCI-E adapters, USB 3.0 adapters) will works normally.
     
  9. jhowarth macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2017
    #12359
    I took the path of least resistance buy flashing an EVGA GTX 680 with the official EVGA Mac ROMs. The only oddity I have run into is that the combination of a MacPro 3,1 with Mac ROMs is incompatible with recent Nvidia (non-free) Linux drivers which is a PITA since you don't get the clock-scaling under the open source nouveau drivers.
     
  10. kinetos macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2015
    #12360
    Device won't work is a kanex adapter (thunderbolt to USB 3.0 or SATA), it work with my MacBook Pro 2011 13"
     
  11. TimothyR734 macrumors 65816

    TimothyR734

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2018
    Location:
    Logsden Oregon
    #12361
    Thank you I have an iMac 9.1 and a MacBook 5.1 2009 models I did downgrade back to 10.14.3 no issues when I had 10.14.4 PB3 I couldn't get past the spinning globe in safe mode. I know this could be dangerous but I did replace openCL,openGL,Quartzcore,and Quartz framework before trying to install 10.14.4 PB3
     
  12. jackluke macrumors 65816

    jackluke

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2018
    #12362
    You're welcome, since first 10.14.4 beta it seems something is changing about OpenGL, we are all waiting for the 10.14.4 final full installer to evaluate the behavior, luckily we still have an almost perfect 10.14.3 on unsupported Mojave mac in good working order.
     
  13. TimothyR734 macrumors 65816

    TimothyR734

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2018
    Location:
    Logsden Oregon
    #12363
    the ones I replaced openGL and openCL were from high Sierra which is a larger framework then the ones in Mojave but yes 10.14.3 seems fairly stable
     
  14. estrangedkj macrumors newbie

    estrangedkj

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2019
    #12364
    I would like to preface I am aware you are not supposed to do this. I was wondering if my laptop is still salvageable.
    By my own stupid I loosely used the instructions found here.
    I did not complete step 8 and when Mojave would not work, I had decided to delete the existing operating software OSX Lion. When I reboot my laptop, there is a white screen with a off white "Ø" symbol? How do I troubleshoot this problem if I can? I do still have the Mojave Patcher on a flash drive.
     
  15. m0this macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2019
    #12365
    Does anyone know why i get this problem when i am moving a window. When i select a different window or open and close the Launchpad it disappears. Does anyone had this issue too? WhatsApp Image 2019-03-02 at 01.39.01.jpeg
     
  16. FarmerBob, Mar 1, 2019
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2019

    FarmerBob macrumors member

    FarmerBob

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2004
    #12366
    After making the time, blew off a ton of things, I read further back and see the issues with 14.4 and will now wait.

    Got Gigabit Fiber being installed and have to get all my things set up so they can hit and run. I'm behind on Beta reports as it is . . .

    Thanks . . .
    . . . fb

    P.S.
    Wanted to delete this but couldn't find a way to do it. Although it may be right in front of my eyes. Brain Dead.
     
  17. ASentientBot macrumors 6502

    ASentientBot

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2018
    Location:
    the System suitcase
    #12367
    Your GPU is unsupported so it's running in software rendering mode which... doesn't work great. See the first page.
     
  18. FarmerBob macrumors member

    FarmerBob

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2004
    #12368
    Although it would be with a bit horrifying fear, that's what I would have done and what popped into my head when I first read your post and saw the pic . . .
     
  19. webg3 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2018
    #12369
    This host supports Intel VT-x, but the Intel VT-x implementation is incompatible with VMware Fusion.

    This host does not support "Intel EPT" hardware assisted MMU virtualization.

    This host does not support virtualizing real mode. The Intel "VMX Unrestricted Guest" feature is necessary to run this virtual machine on an Intel processor.

    Module 'CPUIDEarly' power on failed.

    Failed to start the virtual machine.


    HELP! Mojave 10.14.3 on Intel Core 2 Duo 2.4GHz / 16GB RAM DDR3 / SSD Raid 0 Stripe

    Parallels Desktop working perfectly.

    Is there anything missing from the processor that was not implemented in the Mojave patch?
     
  20. Project Alice macrumors 6502a

    Project Alice

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Post Falls, ID
    #12370
    The answer to this is in the first post. "AMD Radeon HD 5xxx/6xxx series GPU acceleration: Currently, it is not possible to get full graphics acceleration when running Mojave on a system with a Radeon HD 5xxx or 6xxx series GPU. Mojave will be almost UNUSABLE without graphics acceleration".
     
  21. jackluke macrumors 65816

    jackluke

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2018
    #12371
    I guess only until this latest version will work on C2D: 8.5.10
    After that version there is jump directly to 10.0 and son , but won't work on older cpus.
     
  22. LuisN macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Location:
    Torres Vedras, Portugal
    #12372
    What version of Fusion? old processors are only able to run up to Fusion 8 is I'm not mistaken
     
  23. webg3 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2018
    #12373
    Oh yes! Thanks '-)

    Working 8.5.10
     
  24. jackluke macrumors 65816

    jackluke

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2018
    #12374
    At power on hold alt-option key until you can select the usb installer and apply post patches.

    If doesn’t work at power on hold option-command-R or shift-option-command-R until you see a globe, this will start the internet Recovery Lion.
     
  25. LuisN macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Location:
    Torres Vedras, Portugal
    #12375
    boot from Mojave patcher and execute step 8 to 10, if it still doesn't work start from the beginning.
     
Thread Status:
The first post in this thread is a WikiPost, and can be edited by anyone with the appropriate permissions.

Share This Page