macOS 10.14 Mojave on Unsupported Macs Thread

Discussion in 'macOS Mojave (10.14)' started by dosdude1, Jun 4, 2018.

Thread Status:
The first post in this thread is a WikiPost, and can be edited by anyone with the appropriate permissions.
  1. W1SS macrumors regular

    W1SS

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    #1776
    Woohoo!! Massive thanks and respect to @ASentientBot for identifying the cause of the kernel panics, @jackluke for narrowing it down to a single plugin and obviously big chief @dosdude1 for making all this possible!! Also, many thanks to all those involved!

    Everything's working except for audio... Booted to APFS volume as ROM was flashed with APFS/NVMe patches. Initial take - Mojave is wayyyy more responsive and snappier than HS and dark mode is sick!

    Can't wait to test out the NVMe HighPoint 7101-A card which is on its wayyyy ... yipeeeee (sorry, super excited with today's findings)
     

    Attached Files:

  2. BookEmDanno macrumors 6502

    BookEmDanno

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Location:
    State of ~Aloha!~
    #1777
    Just an FYI in case you can't wait. @dosdude1 has a separate MacOS Downloader app on his site that I used to download the Mojave Beta Install app (instead of the Mojave | Tools download).

    Version.plist (under Contents) lists as 14.0.12.

    <key>BuildVersion</key>
    <string>80</string>
    <key>CFBundleShortVersionString</key>
    <string>14.0.12</string>
    <key>CFBundleVersion</key>
    <string>14012</string>

    Installed using it and it is Developer Beta 3.
    upload_2018-7-8_8-12-8.png

    Mahalo again to @dosdude1 for all his software and efforts.
     
  3. Julian Marius Fairfax macrumors 6502a

    Julian Marius Fairfax

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2018
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #1778
    I used the patcher since it’s more convenient to use one application rather than two. I’m sure that once updated the patcher will download the latest version. @dosdude1 It would be nice if we could chose wether we wanted the developer version or the public version of the the installer when we download it from the patcher.
     
  4. MatusDK12 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2017
    Location:
    Denmark
    #1779
    my mac pro 2008 has a gtx 1050 2gb msi can it run the bate or drives
     
  5. BookEmDanno macrumors 6502

    BookEmDanno

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Location:
    State of ~Aloha!~
    #1780
    You are still going to use the Patcher to "verify" the downloaded app. And it gives you a choice between either the developer or public betas. I like your suggestion to have a choice between either.
     
  6. jackluke, Jul 8, 2018
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2018

    jackluke macrumors 6502a

    jackluke

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2018
    #1781
    It's a statistical analysis, performances, events collector, so almost not very relevant plugin.

    EDIT:

    Infact as I suspected, I have deleted the "com.apple.telemetry.plugin" right now and Mojave still boot fine without KP.
     
  7. Julian Marius Fairfax macrumors 6502a

    Julian Marius Fairfax

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2018
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #1782
    Huh. Weird that it causes the system to panic then.
     
  8. funkwizard macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2018
    #1783
    Is this the new public beta 2 released on July 6th?
     
  9. jackluke macrumors 6502a

    jackluke

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2018
    #1784
    My test successful booting Mojave beta 2, so replacing or deleting the "com.apple.telemetry.plugin" I assume will work on any C2D Mac on any Mojave release.
     
  10. MatusDK12 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2017
    Location:
    Denmark
    #1785
    how did your install it the is only mac pro 4,1 not a 3,1 please help me
     
  11. W1SS, Jul 8, 2018
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2018

    W1SS macrumors regular

    W1SS

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    #1786
    hmmm, so why was it causing a kernel panic at initial setup. weird... As soon as I restored all plugins and deleted the telemetry plugin I was able to boot and setup the installation without a kp occurring.
     
  12. ASentientBot macrumors 6502

    ASentientBot

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2018
    Location:
    the System suitcase
    #1787
    Dude, this is amazing!! Great work!

    If you don't mind me asking, how did you narrow it down to that one plugin? Do you have any idea why it causes the KP? I just looked through my dyld Log.txt and saw several of those plugins listed, in other words I basically guessed :p What techniques do you use?

    Again, fantastic work, this is amazing :D
     
  13. jackluke macrumors 6502a

    jackluke

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2018
    #1788
    I am web surfing and writing from a Mojave macbook7,1 without telemetry plugin and find no issues. Anyway better leave it with a previous HS replacement.
     
  14. W1SS macrumors regular

    W1SS

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    #1789
    mac pro 3,1 here... You shouldn't have any problems installing mojave on a 4,1 using the patcher or by converting it to a 5,1 and installing natively.
     
  15. ASentientBot macrumors 6502

    ASentientBot

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2018
    Location:
    the System suitcase
    #1790
    Wait... for me, it worked but was super slow and KPed if I tried to fix QE/CI. Did you get acceleration? & if so, Which kexts did you replace?
     
  16. jackluke macrumors 6502a

    jackluke

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2018
    #1791
    The oldest technique in the world, try them one by one.

    There are 46 plugins on Mojave while 48 on High Sierra apparently the spare 2 are not needed.


    Thank you again for your amazing discovery.
     
  17. ASentientBot macrumors 6502

    ASentientBot

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2018
    Location:
    the System suitcase
    #1792
    That must have been super time consuming, thank you for doing that because I sure didn't want to :)

    I just got kinda lucky to be honest. Thank you as well for yours!
     
  18. MatusDK12 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2017
    Location:
    Denmark
    #1793
    Trying to install it I on a Mac Pro 3,1
     
  19. Julian Marius Fairfax macrumors 6502a

    Julian Marius Fairfax

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2018
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #1794
    Good luck.
     
  20. NisseA macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2018
    #1795
    Getting "Attempting system restart....MACH Reboot" trying to reach the installer from the usb?
    on a MacBook Pro early 2011 running with intel hd 3000 and an i5
     
  21. Starplayr macrumors 6502

    Starplayr

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2018
    Location:
    Charlotte
    #1796
    Wow. Great work guys on the Core2Duo and Mac Pro 2008 3,1 kernel panic.
     
  22. jackluke macrumors 6502a

    jackluke

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2018
    #1797
    No video acceleration yet, of course I'm using it as you with many artifacts and glitches, tried many Geforce Tesla kext but till now can't get translucent menu bar or any signs of FB or OpenGL. I mean in system profiler GPU is correctly detected but can't get the monitor too it's still appear as a 21 inches monitor instead of 13 inches laptop, that's due to missing the right Nvidia Tesla kexts enabler.
     
  23. ASentientBot macrumors 6502

    ASentientBot

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2018
    Location:
    the System suitcase
    #1798
    Interestingly, replacing
    GeForceTesla.kext
    GeForceTeslaGLDriver.bundle
    GeForceTeslaVADriver.bundle
    IOGraphicsFamily.kext
    IONDRVSupport.kext
    NVDANV50HalTesla.kext
    NVDAResmanTesla.kext

    last night seemed to give me QE/CI on the login screen (and I could change brightness too) but it panicked a second or two after reaching the desktop. I haven't tried this today with only the one plugin replaced though, perhaps replacing the whole folder indirectly caused this crash. I'll give that a try shortly.
     
  24. Julian Marius Fairfax macrumors 6502a

    Julian Marius Fairfax

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2018
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #1799
    What is QE/CI?
     
  25. Maltaire macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2017
    #1800
    [QUOTE = "Starplayr, Beitrag: 26223021, Mitglied: 1133698"] Wow. Große Arbeit Jungs auf dem Core2Duo und Mac Pro 2008 3,1 Kernel-Panik. [/ QUOTE]
    ... es besser Herr machen ...
     
Thread Status:
The first post in this thread is a WikiPost, and can be edited by anyone with the appropriate permissions.

Share This Page