PPC and Leopard as Daily Driver

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by MacSoftware3, Jun 26, 2017.

  1. MacSoftware3 macrumors newbie

    MacSoftware3

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2017
    #1
    Hello everybody,

    I am new to this forum, and I was suprised to see an active PPC community. But I am wondering, do people here still use PowerMac G3s, G4s and G5s as a daily driver for tasks like webbrowsing/YouTube? How does that still work on a machine like a PowerMac G3 and an older OS like Mac OS X Tiger or Leopard? I myself have an eMac G4 700MHz, it isn't the fastest machine, but I wonder if I could still use it for some tasks.

    I know my English is not the best, so please excuse me for that.
     
  2. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #2
    @eyoungren still uses a Power Mac G5 Quad as his main Mac. But despite not being Intel, it is quite a bit faster than a 700 MHz eMac.

    On a 700 MHz, web browsing is doable, but slow, and you're pretty much limited to 480p on YouTube. It works much better for word processing, older apps like CS2, and playing games released in the early 2000's. The one advantage it has over the later PPCs is being able to natively boot Mac OS 9, and there's a lot of old software / games for that as well.
    --- Post Merged, Jun 26, 2017 ---
    Oh, and welcome to the forum. :)
     
  3. amagichnich macrumors regular

    amagichnich

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2017
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany
    #3
    Welcome to the forum :)
    eMacs have good speakers, combined with an equalizer environment eMac serves as a good jukebox.
    With the display colour set to Adobe rgb or srgb you could even use Photoshop. But as a daily driver I think it's too slow with it's 700mhz
     
  4. Dronecatcher, Jun 26, 2017
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2017

    Dronecatcher macrumors 68000

    Dronecatcher

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Location:
    Lincolnshire, UK
    #4
    The CPU threshold for running Leopard is 867Mhz and it requires a core image compatible GPU - so at 700Mhz you're below the Apple recommendation plus Leopard will be asking the CPU to do graphics chores as your video card isn't compliant.
    The might find Tiger a better fit.
    Regarding browsing, your main enemy is bloated, java script ridden web pages - you can get around this by blocking java script or using a mobile device user agent so the browser sees a compact, simple version of the website.
    For Youtube in browser, you'll definitely need to use a mobile user agent and get a lower quality video.
    There's various other methods to watch Youtube too:

    https://forums.macrumors.com/threads/youtube-on-a-g3.2022464/

    https://forums.macrumors.com/threads/youtube-options-in-2016.1986056/

    https://forums.macrumors.com/threads/mactubes-in-2017-or-alternatives.2029860/

    https://forums.macrumors.com/threads/new-youtube-player-downloader-even-for-g3.2031523/

    https://forums.macrumors.com/threads/ninjakit-safari-extension.2030842/

    Apart from browsing, use your eMac with period correct software and you can't go wrong.
     
  5. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #5
    Oh boy.

    Talk about asking the Pope if he believes in God! :D

    Yes.

    I have been PowerPC since 2001, Leopard since about 2010.

    We have a G5 at work that has done production tasks for a weekly newspaper since it was bought in 2005. Still working. A G4 we have served for that task for a few years as well.

    I own exactly ONE Intel Mac and it is not my daily Mac. Snow Leopard max on it too.

    @Dronecatcher can set you up for Youtube.

    As far as web browsing TenFourFox, which is a fork of Firefox for PowerPC Macs.

    See my tweak thread for that app either stickied at the top of this forum or in the link in my signature.

    PS. Dropbox continues to work for us as well. We have Czo who keeps updating it.

    Welcome to the forum. If you stick around long enough you'll catch the bug and it's you that will be typing welcome messages next year. :D
     
  6. MysticCow macrumors 6502a

    MysticCow

    Joined:
    May 27, 2013
    #6
    It's doable. I can go with my 733 MHz Digital Audio G4 (with Ye Olde GeForce2 in there) as my daily...even under OS 9.

    Do I do it? At work, yes, because I can run Word on that particular Mac (I use Word tons and tons of times). Not as much at home due to issues with Flash sucking tremendously.
     
  7. MacSoftware3 thread starter macrumors newbie

    MacSoftware3

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2017
    #7
    Thanks :) I have a copy of Microsoft Office 2004 which I can use for some work, and I can watch some movies. I will try in the next few days.

    Thanks for your reply. Isn't the eMac too slow for Photoshop? It only has a 700MHz processor and 768 MB of RAM.

    Thanks for the reply. My intention was not to put Leopard on it, I just wondered how Leopard was as a daily driver these days. I checked the requirements for Leopard, and I think my eMac will be too slow indeed. I have never thought about using the mobile website by changing the user agent, so I will try that. Thanks!

    Thanks, I am looking to buy a G4 MDD, and I will put Tiger or Leopard on it. TenFourFox will be very usefull I think.

    Thanks for your reply. Do you only run Mac OS 9 on that Digital Audio G4?
     
  8. amagichnich macrumors regular

    amagichnich

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2017
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany
    #8
    Not necessarily, it depends on the speed of your hard-drive and the filesize. I have a copy of Photoshop 7 on my Powerbook 1400 with OS 8.6 and even on that thing I work a bit out of fun :D with a moderate resolution and not many layers it's possible on these old machines
     
  9. Dronecatcher macrumors 68000

    Dronecatcher

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Location:
    Lincolnshire, UK
    #9
    Definitely not - go with a version from the eMac's time period, it will run great :)
     
  10. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #10
    Office 2004 is definitely something your eMac can handle, good use for it.
    DVDs and DVD-quality movies should work fine as well. (Not HD, though.)
    As I mentioned, Adobe Photoshop CS2 (or older versions) should work fine, as long as you're not doing anything very intensive. Wouldn't go newer than that, though (and actually Photoshop / Illustrator CS2 are still quite capable despite being 12 year old software).
     
  11. MysticCow macrumors 6502a

    MysticCow

    Joined:
    May 27, 2013
    #11
    I dual boot 9 and 10.5. It's nicely workable and anything I can't do in one I tend to be able to do in the other.
     
  12. RhianB, Jun 26, 2017
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2017

    RhianB macrumors 6502

    RhianB

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2016
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM USA
    #12
    Welcome to the forum :)

    My PPC DD's are a PMG5 dual2ghz & a PMG4 dual1ghz (quicksilver). My QS with its stock 733mhz CPU & 512mhz pc133ram running Tiger was way too sluggish For my tastes to do normal daily driver tasks. Upgraded to a dual1ghz CPU & 1.5gb ram (even with its CI unsupported stock GPU) & tasks like surfing & YouTube are completely doable via tweaked TFFx - much zippier. Also leopard becomes a reality. If you can get to leopard while maintaing acceptable-to-you performance, I highly recommend it. As always IMHO & YMMV.

    As is, your eMac has tons of stylish potential as has already been discussed above. FYI I found this article inspiring in terms of maxing out & pushing your eMac to its absolute best performance.

    http://www.lbodnar.dsl.pipex.com/eMac/eMac-upgrade.html

    Have fun & watch out for these guys on here. Before you know it, you'll be collecting & upgrading PPC macs like RhianB packing it in @ the all you can eat pizza buffet. :D
     
  13. SuperKerem macrumors 6502a

    SuperKerem

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Location:
    London, England
    #13
    All of this is possible. It just requires dedication.
     
  14. Hrududu macrumors 68020

    Hrududu

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Location:
    Central US
    #14
    My powerhouse is a quad core G5 with 12GB of RAM and a Radeon X1900. I also used several other slower systems and a few PowerBooks daily. However, If you hadn't noticed, the running theme here is many of us still can get by with PowerPC Macs, but nearly all of us are going with high end dual or quad processor systems with a fair amount of RAM and a leopard install. If you were thinking of going full-time PowerPC with a 700 MHz eMac with less than a gigabyte of memory, you're going to have an unpleasant experience in 2017.
     
  15. wicknix macrumors member

    wicknix

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2017
    Location:
    Wisconsin, USA
    #15
    Up until a week ago i'd been using my ibook g4's and powermac g5 daily for the last 7-8 years. I recently picked up an imac core2duo running el capitan for a good price, but i am typing this from my ibook which is still my go-to machine. Leopard is still my favorite version of OSX, and still does most everything i need it to do quite well. :)
     
  16. MacSoftware3 thread starter macrumors newbie

    MacSoftware3

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2017
    #16
    Thanks for all the replies. I understand that it will not be easy to use the eMac as a daily driver. Yesterday, I purchased a PowerMac G4 MDD DP 867MHz with 1.5GB RAM and a GeForce 4 MX graphics card. I did it because iT wasn't expensive and iT will be faster and more upgradeble.

    I will upgrade the Mac to Leopard in the coming days. Does anyone know if I can use my GeForce FX5200 from my Dell PC?
     
  17. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #17
    See? It's already starting! Between your first post and this post you bought another PowerPC Mac.

    See how that works? :D

    It would have to be flashed with a Mac ROM. Don't know if that is possible for this card or not. @LightBulbFun could tell you.

    But generally, PC graphic cards are not interchangeable with Macs.
     
  18. Daniël Oosterhuis macrumors 6502a

    Daniël Oosterhuis

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Location:
    Black Mesa Research Facility
    #18
    Where did you get "requires a core image compatible GPU" from? No Apple documents I know of reference the need for a CI-compatible GPU.
     
  19. LightBulbFun, Jun 27, 2017
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2017

    LightBulbFun macrumors 6502a

    LightBulbFun

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Location:
    London UK
    #19
    Since its a PC Video card you will have to replace the firmware on the card with one thats compatible with Macs this process is called "Flashing"

    most NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200 Graphics cards can be flashed to work in Macs i recommend you check out this website for a good overview on it all http://themacelite.wikidot.com/start

    couple notes on the FX 5200, the FX 5200 only partially supports Core Image but its still better then no Core image, (and it is faster then your GeForce4 MX) with the FX 5200 you will get the ripples in Dashboard for example but the menu bar will still be opaque

    also getting DVI to work on the FX 5200 can be fun, VGA will work from any port (DVI ports via a VGA adapter for example) but getting DVI it self working may require some ROM editing
     
  20. Dronecatcher macrumors 68000

    Dronecatcher

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Location:
    Lincolnshire, UK
    #20
    Do I really need to explain that?
     
  21. Daniël Oosterhuis macrumors 6502a

    Daniël Oosterhuis

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Location:
    Black Mesa Research Facility
    #21
    No, I get what you're saying, I'm just asking where you get the CI requirement from. Because nowhere does Apple state you need a CI compatible GPU to run Leopard. Unless I'm missing something, which I'll gladly correct if you can give me the right documentation ;)
     
  22. LightBulbFun macrumors 6502a

    LightBulbFun

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Location:
    London UK
    #22
    Yes

    because last I checked Leopard does not even "require" a GPU at all (im looking at you Xserves) on top of that there are several officially supported macs that have non core image GPUs
     
  23. Dronecatcher macrumors 68000

    Dronecatcher

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Location:
    Lincolnshire, UK
    #23
    You both go ahead splitting hairs...you're both absolutely right and I'm wrong. OP - Leopard uses Core Image graphics which unless there's a Core Image compatible GPU, it uses the CPU to execute.
     
  24. LightBulbFun macrumors 6502a

    LightBulbFun

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Location:
    London UK
    #24
    so does Mac OS X Tiger for that matter... are you implying then that Tiger "requires" a Core image Graphics card?

    I still dont see how any of this is a "requirement" for leopard

    its especially important to get your facts straight when we are guiding/helping someone who is new to PPC...
     
  25. SuperKerem macrumors 6502a

    SuperKerem

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Location:
    London, England
    #25
    True, Leopard doesn’t ‘require’ Core Image support...

    ...but it pretty much does. Let’s be realistic here, especially ‘when we are guiding/helping someone’ who plans to use PPC as a daily driver.

    EDIT: Or maybe it would be better to say that the GPU ‘requires’ Core Image support in order to be truly effective.
     

Share This Page