Upgrading 2013/2014 Macbook Pro SSD to M.2 NVMe

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by maxthackray, Mar 1, 2017.

Thread Status:
The first post in this thread is a WikiPost, and can be edited by anyone with the appropriate permissions.
  1. lasszo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2019
    #4251
    Hi,

    i've installed ADATA SX8200 480GB NVMe with Sintech short black adatper in a Macbook Air 13 2017.
    I've measured 730MByte read and 730MByte write speeds with Blackmagic.
    I've measured 600MByte read and 1200MByte write speeds also with Blackmagic with the original Apple 128GB SSD.
    I thought ADATA should preform faster.
    Anybody has experience with the same setup maybe?

    Would appreaciate your opinion.

    Thanks
     
  2. jackqueenking macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2018
    #4252
    I ran a diagnostics test and I am getting VDH002 which seems to be a problem with the storage device even though i have no problems. Maybe this is because I have a 3rd party ssd?
     
  3. wawon macrumors member

    wawon

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2017
    Location:
    Japan
    #4253
    I wrote this problem in Dec 13, 2018, with no response.

    https://forums.macrumors.com/thread...sd-to-m-2-nvme.2034976/page-108#post-26905290

    I think that all MacBook Pro 13 retina would show this result, and I did not found this error with MacBook Air 13.
    Even now, it has not resolved yet.

    There is 2 way to do Apple Diagnostics, 1 is "D" at start-up, 2 is "opt+D" at start-up ( usually using network).
    The version of Diagnostics is not same, for example "D" :1.0.35r2, "opt+D": 1.1.35r2.
    I never found error PPN001 in "opt+D" diagnostics. It may feel Apple bugs.
     
  4. Audit13, May 12, 2019
    Last edited: May 12, 2019

    Audit13 macrumors 601

    Audit13

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2017
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    #4254
    I ran the diagnostic routine by holding down the D key on a 2017 Air with a 256 GB HP ex900 and the short, black Sintech adapter and it came back with ADP000 which means no issues found.

    Edit 1: ran diagnostics for the 2017 Air by holding down the option+ D key and also received ADP000 which indicates no issues found.

    Edit 2: ran both versions of the diagnostics on an early 2015 13" Air with a 256 GB Intel 660p and short, green Sintech adapter and received ADP000 too.
     
  5. jackqueenking, May 12, 2019
    Last edited: May 12, 2019

    jackqueenking macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2018
    #4255
    You seem to have the best luck out of all of us :p

    Edit: It is probably because the 2015+ models have full support for NVME
     
  6. lucaros macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 12, 2019
    #4256
    Don't think so, I don't get that error
     
  7. lucaros macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 12, 2019
    #4257
    Apple recommends using diagnostic tool "D" for 2013+ models, that's why I am afraid that error would not be a bug.
    https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT202731
    I wonder if @gilles_polysoft have faced this error during his tests
     
  8. jackqueenking macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2018
    #4258
    Are you running a 2014 model or earlier?
     
  9. liberace macrumors member

    liberace

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2019
    #4259
    Probably you have a 2014 15' mbp?
    Cant find a chip on board to connect clip on 13'
     
  10. lucaros macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 12, 2019
    #4260
    Mbp 13 early 2015
     
  11. jackqueenking macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2018
    #4261
    That's probably why. I wouldn't be surprised if this is an issue with pre 2015 models and the support for NVME drives in the EFI
     
  12. lucaros macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 12, 2019
    #4262
    I would ask to macbook pro owners an help cecking if they get or not the PPN001 error launching apple diagnostic (power on +d).
    It takes 1 minute or so.
    Thanks
     
  13. liberace macrumors member

    liberace

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2019
    #4263
    mbp13' mid 2014 with stock ssd I get a ADP000 error
     
  14. SpeedyTheSnail macrumors regular

    SpeedyTheSnail

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2018
    Location:
    Caprica
    #4264
    Yep, I wish I bought the JTAG connector but I think if I can't get the chip to read this week I'm going to just buy the Matt Card, since it's only slightly more expensive than the adapter and it requires no modification of the firmware.
     
  15. Audit13, May 13, 2019
    Last edited: May 13, 2019

    Audit13 macrumors 601

    Audit13

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2017
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    #4265
  16. liberace macrumors member

    liberace

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2019
    #4266
    as i have read matt card have to be prepared by somebody (seller?!) from before and sended with proper data, by default its blank, right?
     
  17. SpeedyTheSnail macrumors regular

    SpeedyTheSnail

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2018
    Location:
    Caprica
    #4267
    Yep, on the website you specify the version you need.

    Even with the ordering of the Matt Card, a mod is [probably] needed, but it is less risky to flash the Matt Card than it is to flash the real BIOS chip.
     
  18. lucaros macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 12, 2019
    #4268
    Don't know if it is related with the PPN001 error but i've noticed that using the intel 760p launching pmset -g in sleep 1 appear "sleep prevented by addressbooksourcesync".
    Troubleshotting is to remove google accounts and using icloud sync for contacts.
    Well using stock ssd it works, using nvme ssd in my case intel 760p it appear again and again.
    So I belive that if sleep doesn't work properly could result a SMC issue than an error releted to power management.
    @wawon launching pmset -g tru terminal do you get sleep prevented by addressbooksourcesync?
     
  19. jackqueenking, May 13, 2019
    Last edited: May 13, 2019

    jackqueenking macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2018
    #4269
    I also have a 760p I will check tonight. I remember seeing something that is preventing sleep.

    Edit: I checked the pmset -g output and i do not have this prevention. I've also got iCloud contacts in sync and a google account only syncing mail.
     
  20. x34 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2014
    #4270
    10.14.5. update: MBP 2014 updated, no boot rom update.
    had some minor problems installing, had to manually start the mac again during installation.
     
  21. cielak221, May 13, 2019
    Last edited: May 13, 2019

    cielak221 macrumors newbie

    cielak221

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2018
    #4271
    I've got a feeling that my MacBook Pro early 2015 is overheating.

    I was trying to use the Adata XPG SX8200 with long sintech adapter on my Macbook Pro early 2014 without success. The computer was getting extremely hot mostly because running iCloud sync in the background. Also when I put it in my laptop bag and took it out an hour later it would be extremely hot as the fans were running. I think because of that one time the battery got swollen and now last only half of the time. I was also annoyed that I have to reset the computer every time I closed the lid and opened it again.
    So I got the 2015 and switched the drive with long sintech adapter and the issue still persists. I installed the fresh Mojave. Restored my time machine. Brought it to work today, bettery drained to 84% and computer was hot. When running iCloud sync the temperatures were around 97C. When I forced quit "bird" and "cloudd" the temps went down 60C... which is still hot. I attached the screenshot with temp and processes running currently. Do you guys happen to have any advice beside buying original apple ssd or switching to windows?
    Current Bootoot ROM Version: 182.0.0.0.0
    I've also attached the wake up log.

    I've also ordered short sintech adapter. It should arrive tomorrow and I will do further temperature testing however I'm loosing patience and might switch to ... Matebook pro. :confused:
     

    Attached Files:

  22. liberace, May 13, 2019
    Last edited: May 13, 2019

    liberace macrumors member

    liberace

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2019
    #4272
    i get exactly the same with sx8200pro, just i am different weight category user
    my CPU starts to be a lot hotter, SSD no more 45 C
    thats why i sell it and now target Kingston a1000 with pci-e 3.0x2
     
  23. lucaros macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 12, 2019
    #4273
    Try SMC e PRAM reset
    You could also try diagnostic (holding D +power on) to ceck errors
     
  24. SpeedyTheSnail, May 13, 2019
    Last edited: May 13, 2019

    SpeedyTheSnail macrumors regular

    SpeedyTheSnail

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2018
    Location:
    Caprica
    #4274
    OMFG, I realized that I was off by one pin on the cable from the clamp to the reader.

    The chip is 8 pin, the cable connector is 10 pin. I shifted it over one pin and now I'm golden.

    Mac boots up just fine, unfortunately I don't have a new drive yet. I wasn't going to waste my money until I was certain I could flash the BIOS without messing anything up.

    Since it boots I'm going to safely assume I did everything right, if anything fails at least I have 4 copies of the original ROM dump.
     

    Attached Files:

  25. Audit13 macrumors 601

    Audit13

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2017
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    #4275
    Late 2013 Pro 13" stock SSD bootrom updated from 151 to 153 with 10.14.5.

    Mid-2014 Air 13" stock SSD bootrom updated from 112 to 115 with 10.14.5.

    Early 2015 Air 13" Intel 660p bootrom updated from 184 to 186 with 10.14.5.

    2017 Air HP ex900 bootrom updated from 184 to 186 with 10.14.5.

    I encountered no problems when updating all four MacBooks from 10.14.4 to 10.14.5.
     
Thread Status:
The first post in this thread is a WikiPost, and can be edited by anyone with the appropriate permissions.

Share This Page